Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Remember Hamid Bond, the joker?
Family friend,he lived in Tanglin Halt.After he died his wife became a comedian to continue his legacy
I know three Bond.Hamid,Mat and James
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
Family friend,he lived in Tanglin Halt.After he died his wife became a comedian to continue his legacy
Sad at his peak of his career.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Sad at his peak of his career.
Singapore funny guys tarn bo chiak in the old days .they do children parties in the weekends for extra cash.
Life was on the cheap then.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:
I think they really enjoyed their jobs.Now people must enjoy the salary before they could love their jobs.And if that still doesnt work can always blame it on the FTs>LOL
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:
Now it looks like life's on the cheap again.![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Now it looks like life's on the cheap again.
Hahaha lives of the peasants to be exact
Originally posted by Short Ninja:I think they really enjoyed their jobs.Now people must enjoy the salary before they could love their jobs.And if that still doesnt work can always blame it on the FTs>LOL
The pursuits of economics gains for consumerism is what this world is now on. They can talk all about green and save the world but the bottomline is still profits. Haiz...
FTs are peasants with the fringe benefits
Hahaha lives of the peasants to be exact
Spare me the pleasantry, there is no peasants but modern day slaves of big corporates.![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Spare me the pleasantry, there is no peasants but modern day slaves of big corporates.
hahaha I am just using wayang terminology to best describe the picture
TV is watched outdoor at the community centers but you have to bring your own chairs and stools.The TV is placed in a steel box on a pole.Only the guy working at the CC has the lock and key and everybody is nice to him.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:TV is watched outdoor at the community centers but you have to bring your own chairs and stools.The TV is placed in a steel box on a pole.Only the guy working at the CC has the lock and key and everybody is nice to him.
Had tv at home so dun really go down to cc.![]()
I go down to CC not to watch TV but to play carrom and bully people>LOL I am one hell of a marksman in carrom until I learned to play pool.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:I go down to CC not to watch TV but to play carrom and bully people>LOL I am one hell of a marksman in carrom until I learned to play pool.
Never play pool, carrom with my kids and I spent most time looking for good food then. Still have this habit.![]()
I consider myself an urban guy who could easily switch to country living because as a kid I spent all my school vacation time with grandma at the kampung.Had two groups of friends at that time,one group pestering me to tell them stories about my life at a HDB estate and the other group wanting to know what kampung life is about.It was normal for a child living in changi not to know where or what Jurong Town looked like and vice-versa.Unlike the kids today Geylang also know how to patronize ar>hahaha
Originally posted by Short Ninja:I consider myself an urban guy who could easily switch to country living because as a kid I spent all my school vacation time with grandma at the kampung.Had two groups of friends at that time,one group pestering me to tell them stories about my life at a HDB estate and the other group wanting to know what kampung life is about.It was normal for a child living in changi not to know where or what Jurong Town looked like and vice-versa.Unlike the kids today Geylang also know how to patronize ar>hahaha
Still basically a dowtown family although at part we lived in suburbs too.
In Tanglin halt the flats are so close that if you cough or sneeze everybody can hear you.Sometimes an Ah Pek would cough so loud you thought Ultraman was your neighbor>LOL the atmosphere of the estate during a Malaysia cup final is just as electrifying as being at Kallang itself.That was Tanglin Halt.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:In Tanglin halt the flats are so close that if you cough or sneeze everybody can hear you.Sometimes an Ah Pek would cough so loud you thought Ultraman was your neighbor>LOL the atmosphere of the estate during a Malaysia cup final is just as electrifying as being at Kallang itself.That was Tanglin Halt.
I suppose that was the "10 storeys". Nice makan back in the 70s.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:I suppose that was the "10 storeys". Nice makan back in the 70s.
the wanton mee was superb then the father died and daughter took over and then daughter fell in love got married... retired.....bye bye to the secret recipe.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:the wanton mee was superb then the father died and daughter took over and then daughter fell in love got married... retired.....bye bye to the secret recipe.
Do you remember Yick Sang at Ann Siang Hill? Their wanton noodles and soy milk?
heard that name before you need to refresh my mind a little ....somewhere in South Bridege Road? Dont laugh if I am lost with places now>hahaha
Originally posted by Short Ninja:heard that name before you need to refresh my mind a little ....somewhere in South Bridege Road? Dont laugh if I am lost with places now>hahaha
Yup the hot spot of wanton noodles of 60s and 70s at the corner of South Bridge Road and Ann Siang Hill. Still cannot find anything close to that taste.![]()
I know a friend who is also a Makando in Singapore.Just have to tell him what you feel like eating and he will tell you where What and How much to order>hahaha