Originally posted by the Bear:and the "tae gu lai liao!!" and all running for it?
That time where got tae gu??? But must confirm with Mr Chew first on that..........I think you have to give a bit of kopi money to the neighborhood thugs and they would ensure the smooth running of your pasar malam.
i saw something like that before.. quite exciting for a young cub like me then ![]()
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
That time where got tae gu??? But must confirm with Mr Chew first on that..........I think you have to give a bit of kopi money to the neighborhood thugs and they would ensure the smooth running of your pasar malam.
The te gus are different in early years. They only took charges of rubbish bins and the cleaniness of business five foot way.
After WWII only Kreta Ayer and Pearl Hill/ Peoples Park were the allowed for itnenary hawkers. If they are caught peddling outside the allocate areas by police (not te gu) they were subject to a $5 fine with a night in the jail.
More like "mata lai leow!" then.![]()
I remember those lamps.
Used to have them in the Kampung days.
Great for black outs.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:I remember those lamps.
Used to have them in the Kampung days.
Great for black outs.
And the pressure lamp gauze can only used twice the most.![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:And the pressure lamp gauze can only used twice the most.
And those big fat white candles.....
It always was fun whenever there is a blackouts, we kids can always take out our mid autumn festivals lanterns to play with. Or just walking around the neighbouhood was fun enough for us.
Kids nowadays.....blackout in the flats....and they get depressed.
Mummy never allowed us kids to try to start the pressure lamp. Cos kids arent supposed to play with fire. The irony.....
>>>a eighties kid. mummy believes that we children must just study hard, no need to be too educated cos we girls will marry well and be tai tais with maids.
So technically, I still have really nice white smooth hands with lovely looking nails. Unfortunately, I have been ruining my hands by getting myself cut, burned and rubbed against the tarmacs. Not forgetting the sun exposure and those pregnancy liver black spots.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
And those big fat white candles.....It always was fun whenever there is a blackouts, we kids can always take out our mid autumn festivals lanterns to play with. Or just walking around the neighbouhood was fun enough for us.
Mummy never allowed us kids to try to start the pressure lamp. Cos kids arent supposed to play with fire. The irony.....
Kids nowadays are addicted to electronics. Life is without fun if there is a blackout.![]()
Electricity is only available to most rural part of the islands in the late 60s. Most rural households then still use these pressure lamps at night then.
I have a aunt that used to own pig farms, then they turned to rearing guppies.
And now, they run hardware stores in Yishun.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Kids nowadays are addicted to electronics. Life is without fun if there is a blackout.
Be fair lah. We are also old kids nowadays. A black out at our place this time and age, and you and me also wont have fun.
There are lots of guppies farmers in the 70s. Back in the early 50s-60s there were mostly swordtails fish farms.
Be fair lah. We are also old kids nowadays. A black out at our place this time and age, and you and me also wont have fun.
My main worry for a long black out is that my ice cream will melt.![]()
I remember 80s got quite a few blackouts in my estate...
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:The te gus are different in early years. They only took charges of rubbish bins and the cleaniness of business five foot way.
After WWII only Kreta Ayer and Pearl Hill/ Peoples Park were the allowed for itnenary hawkers. If they are caught peddling outside the allocate areas by police (not te gu) they were subject to a $5 fine with a night in the jail.
More like "mata lai leow!" then.
Hahaha that is interesting. Later years the 'tae gu' also helped catch people who infringed trademark & Patents including the Ghurkhas who sold belts, leather wallets at the expos.
Mmx.![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:My main worry for a long black out is that my ice cream will melt.
if they are redbean or home made durian ice creams.
Hollar for me. i will go over your house and help create the black out.
if they are redbean or home made durian ice creams.Hollar for me. i will go over your house and help create the black out.
Favourite is still the good ole vanilla.
I top it with passionfruit syrup or sliced peaches.![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:There are lots of guppies farmers in the 70s. Back in the early 50s-60s there were mostly swordtails fish farms.
At an affordable price and dont have to worry if the fish was starving or about to die.....just buy some more can oreddy.A lot of kids also kena conned into buying sea-monkeys after reading the ads posted on the comics
BTW, the malaysia Nusa Indah's Jusco A&W outlet, their rootbeer float uses ice cream that is totally not up to standard.
At an affordable price and dont have to worry if the fish was starving or about to die.....just buy some more can oreddy.A lot of kids also kena conned into buying sea-monkeys after reading the ads posted on the comics
The most shocking thing about fish is Nemo. I went to the fish farms and all the kids were buying nemo to put with their goldfish or guppies. How many clownfishes were sold by these clowns?![]()
Here is the 1971 recipe for the float at the Royal Hotel coffee house (all seats were fitted in a fake trishaw)
A tall glass of F&N ice-cream soda and two scoops of meadow gold vanilla ice-cream.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Here is the 1971 recipe for the float at the Royal Hotel coffee house (all seats were fitted in a fake trishaw)
A tall glass of F&N ice-cream soda and two scoops of meadow gold vanilla ice-cream.
Hmm......time to recreate at least those drinks. Maybe with another brand of Vanilla Ice Cream.
And those big fat white candles.....It always was fun whenever there is a blackouts, we kids can always take out our mid autumn festivals lanterns to play with. Or just walking around the neighbouhood was fun enough for us.
Kids were not afraid of the dark and there were lesser evil out there until people like Adrian Lim changed that.
And I never could have believed that all those cartoons showing men doing with animals is possible in Singapore....until I actually saw such a man doing it with a cat.
Oh yah......the world went wrong somehow.
Hmm......time to recreate at least those drinks. Maybe with another brand of Vanilla Ice Cream.
Can you remember 'Walls' ice-cream eskimo-pie and the drum stick or was it meadow gold?Hahaha