Most Singaporeans, although better than Ris low, are still bad in English compared to many other countries who do not even speak english as their first language or mother tongue. (ie: Sweden, Denmark, Germany, etc)
If they can do it, why can't we?
Before conducting any training, you may have to find out their attitudes towards speaking good English. Some are keen to improve whereas some just cannot be bothered. Some or rather majority still prefer Singlish.
because our accent prevents us
Hello, not all Europeans speak good English.
Want to train people to speak good English, first of all you must find out if they are willing to improve.
good english is definitely possible. its a matter of choice rather than an internal force in our accents. there are people out there, be it chinese, indian or malay, can speak fluent and clear english.
for example, im sure u know of some folks who go over to the UK, USA and Australia for a short 2-3 year study spell. some will come back to SGP with the accents of the country they studied in. if that is possible, im sure we singaporeans can do it too.
Originally posted by Hal Georgie:good english is definitely possible. its a matter of choice rather than an internal force in our accents. there are people out there, be it chinese, indian or malay, can speak fluent and clear english.
for example, im sure u know of some folks who go over to the UK, USA and Australia for a short 2-3 year study spell. some will come back to SGP with the accents of the country they studied in. if that is possible, im sure we singaporeans can do it too.
Ho Kwong Peng is a good example of Singaporeans who speak good English. Another one is Prof Tommy Koh.
Hot british girls
Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:Hot british girls
Love the way the Brits speak, love their accent. In general, they are lovely people.
haven't we all gone thru pri and sec sch??
can make it means can make it
cannot make it means cannot make it loh~
why we need english when we have singlish to use?
if u have good english, then u can speak good singlish!
Originally posted by mh2:why we need english when we have singlish to use?
Ya, Singlish is great. Did you use Singlish in your "O" and "A" levels English and GP exams?
haahahah!
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Ya, Singlish is great. Did you use Singlish in your "O" and "A" levels English and GP exams?haahahah!
i wish i could dude...lol
can not compare one lah...why dun compare with hongkong and taiwan?
Ban PCK!!! ![]()
Look at the environment we are living in... Grow up listening to all kinds of "english" in terms of accent... Then mix a bit to get the kind of uniquely english lor...
Compare to ang moh... They small to big also ang mohish, so of course good english la...
ya you know...
She sells seashells by the seashore.
we will never learn and improve our english when the environment is not conducive. case in point, our standard of english in singapore is not that far off from one another.
Barry Johnson is a good trainer in english, attended his seminar.
he criticises singaporean use of the language like reverse backwards, red colour, blue colour lol.
isnt reverse already moving backwards, moving backwards backwards lol. isnt red a colour? why cant we say red instead of red colour. first runner up for instance. isnt runner up second? second runner up meaning second second lol.
Originally posted by FireIce:if u have good english, then u can speak good singlish!
it is too profound in meaning.
have u not realise that singlish is a class of it own.
which country can speak like we do lol.
Ya, Singlish is great. Did you use Singlish in your "O" and "A" levels English and GP exams?haahahah!
of course u can, fail only ma,
Originally posted by Franceso Totti:like reverse backwards, red colour, blue colour lol.
these example can be improved/corrected over time.
singlish is more of the interjection that we protray
Originally posted by mh2:of course u can, fail only ma,
I was not directing the question to myself, I was asking you the question.
So do you want to pass or fail English?
hahahaha
Originally posted by mh2:it is too profound in meaning.
have u not realise that singlish is a class of it own.
which country can speak like we do lol.
No problem to speak Singlish especially during English Oral Exams. If you use Singlish in English Oral Exams, sure you will score excellent results.
I was not directing the question to myself, I was asking you the question.So do you want to pass or fail English?
hahahaha
use English to pass exam. the rest stick to singlish