Originally posted by mh2:
use English to pass exam. the rest stick to singlish
Japanese style.That is why Japanese English Education Sucks!
Sorry it came out three times.
Garmen must re-enforce Speak English campaigns. I strongly suggest employees be encourage to speak good English in their work environment and be given monetary awards according to their English proficiency level once a year.If this is a bad suggestion please direct it to the joke forum.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Sorry it came out three times.
Garmen must re-enforce Speak English campaigns. I strongly suggest employees be encourage to speak good English in their work environment and be given monetary awards according to their English proficiency level once a year.If this is a bad suggestion please direct it to the joke forum.
Speak good English movement is on every year. Think this year 93.8 fm is the official radio station for it. Anyone can go sign up for it. I have not been successful to sign up, sigh!
English is like any other languages, once it is not used often it will not be good. Sigh! Most of the people I know of prefer to use Singlish to communicate and I am so afraid my standard of English will turn from worse to worst.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Love the way the Brits speak, love their accent. In general, they are lovely people.
x2
maybe one of the reasons is that sg is being 'took care of' by the british
but the thing i liked most is the accent. It sounds so different from many other eng speaking countries. It sounds very high class![]()
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Speak good English movement is on every year. Think this year 93.8 fm is the official radio station for it. Anyone can go sign up for it. I have not been successful to sign up, sigh!English is like any other languages, once it is not used often it will not be good. Sigh! Most of the people I know of prefer to use Singlish to communicate and I am so afraid my standard of English will turn from worse to worst.
Let me share with you something really fascinating and I am not kidding.If you go to any of the Singapore Embassy in a non English speaking country, the local people working for the Singapore embassy would be speaking fluent Singlish after working there for only a few years.
Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:x2
maybe one of the reasons is that sg is being 'took care of' by the british
but the thing i liked most is the accent. It sounds so different from many other eng speaking countries. It sounds very high class
Well, there again - in England people speak with different accent. Just listen to the different England soccer players you will know what I mean.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Let me share with you something really fascinating and I am not kidding.If you go to any of the Singapore Embassy in a non English speaking country, the local people working for the Singapore embassy would be speaking fluent Singlish after working there for only a few years.
Oh my God, are you kidding? I doubt the locals in the Singapore Embassy in England speak Singlish.
Brits are very particular where the English language is concerned.
Oops, "paiseh", sorry, I missed the "non English speaking countries" part.
has anyone of you signed up with 93.8 relating to speak good English movement?
Originally posted by mh2:why we need english when we have singlish to use?
Singlish is fine if you are conversing with a fellow Singaporean. But we live in a highly globalised environment and English is probably the most widely-used language in the world, especially in business.
Therefore, you may lose out in the job market if you are unable to write and speak proper English - especially if your target company has extensive overseas business interests.
I have worked in a multinational environment and have come across Indian, Pakistanis, Filipinos and even PRC nationals who write and speak better English than the average Singaporean. We are sadly losing our competitive edge to these so-called "Foreign Talents".
Originally posted by Hbbo:
Singlish is fine if you are conversing with a fellow Singaporean. But we live in a highly globalised environment and English is probably the most widely-used language in the world, especially in business.Therefore, you may lose out in the job market if you are unable to write and speak proper English - especially if your target company has extensive overseas business interests.
I have worked in a multinational environment and have come across Indian, Pakistanis, Filipinos and even PRC nationals who write and speak better English than the average Singaporean. We are sadly losing our competitive edge to these so-called "Foreign Talents".
agree
wy worri worri --- i will switch to speak good English when it is time
Originally posted by Ki.dane:wy worri worri --- i will switch to speak good English when it is time
You can refer to this Singish Phrase 'Where got time'
How to train Singaporeans to speak good english?
Why Singaporeans must speak good english?
Why Singaporeans so special must speak good english?
in sg, speak singlish.. otherwise locals might not understand you...
go mcdonalds and ask for half dozen chicken nuggets...
some staff will tell u they dun sell half dozen but they have 6 pieces nuggets...
overseas, speak english... otherwise the locals might not understand you...
The fucking PAP messed up the spoken languages in Singapore.
Corrupted everything.
Wow, once you go and seriously study PAP policies it's amazing how rubbish they really are.
Some poor fools still brainwashed by PAP fucking propaganda.![]()
The PAP and their motherfucking propaganda.
I won't allow people to be brainwashed by PAP propaganda.
Originally posted by GHoST_18:in sg, speak singlish.. otherwise locals might not understand you...
go mcdonalds and ask for half dozen chicken nuggets...
some staff will tell u they dun sell half dozen but they have 6 pieces nuggets...
overseas, speak english... otherwise the locals might not understand you...
Ghost you very corright!! ![]()
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Ghost you very corright!!
You mean half a doz English?![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:You mean half a doz English?
hahaha you could either use that but the old aunties prefered it as half past six.LOL
half and half, suku.![]()
Originally posted by angel3070:The fucking PAP messed up the spoken languages in Singapore.
Corrupted everything.
Wow, once you go and seriously study PAP policies it's amazing how rubbish they really are.
Some poor fools still brainwashed by PAP fucking propaganda.
The PAP and their motherfucking propaganda.
I won't allow people to be brainwashed by PAP propaganda.
Are you disagreeing with English being the official first language in Singapore? So in your opinion, what should be our official language(s)?
Originally posted by Hbbo:So in your opinion, what should be our official language(s)?
Either malay or mandarin.
Originally posted by angel3070:Either malay or mandarin.
If the official language is Malay, won't the Chinese ethnic group here feel discriminated? Likewise if the official language is Mandarin, I am pretty sure the ethnic Malays here will be unhappy. And any reason why you would not consider Tamil as an official language?
How about foreign companies operating in Singapore? Are these companies expected to use Malay/Mandarin as their working language since their Singaporean employees can only understand these languages?
Where got we all speak English. (Mana* hu wah lang kong ang moh wei).
When want to come? (Bila nak datang?)
We use dilects and Malay sentence structures. That is the problem.
* a Malay word