Originally posted by XKCobraDraconis:
Haha, thats why i specifcally say self-defence. Martial arts is a discipline, used to protect and defend....but nowadays *sighs* perhaps its all the Hollywood hype making it seem like its cool to use it to show off or get your way. Nevertheless, people who abuse martial arts will eventually get whacked real good by someone better or either ruin their lives and end up in jail.For me, and I have martial arts background, I'll probably refrain from fighting even though physically punched once or twice, as long as it is on the body area. At very most, I'll just block the hits or give one good kick to the shin, making standing difficult for the opponent. But once a hit is aimed for the head...I'll definately go one level up in breaking a few finger bones of my opponent. After all...its just fingers...they'll heal-up eventually and he'll probably never be able to punch anything hard again. Good lesson learnt.
you know qin na shou or tuishou? you can block or unarm the person without hurting him. tuishou is good, you should learn that. its a good unarm combat technique to dislodge the opponent without hurting him. its akin to neutralising his moves or movements.
Originally posted by Pallova2:Hi... I guess there are a lot of people who think that learning martial art is just a waste of time... just go out and start hitting because they must have some experience where they were able to hit those people who has so-called learn some form of martial art or they themselves have learnt from an ineffective instructor/trainer and were beaten up by someone...
But that does not mean all trainers are ineffective... that is why I am in the process of developing a platform for all martial art enthusiast to have cross-sparring sessions in a controlled environment with its own set of rules and regulations with the objective of minimum risk, maximum impact and a whole lot of fun... Anyone is welcome even those who just want to come in to fight but they must abide by the rules which more or less allow lots of various fight technique to be employed...
Want to see how it looks like ? View it here
Hey Pallova2, haha can't see the video from the office laptop since the admin didn't update the flash player.
Just checking, is yours MMA? MMA=Mixed Martial Arts. I know there's some schools in Singapore teaching that, they're incorporating different moves but all the effective ones from the various martial arts, eg. Taekwondo kicks, Aikido and Brazilian Jujutsu extreme close combat moves and joint-locking/twisting and not to mention Krav Maga, which is taught to many commandos in America but originates from the Israeli armed forces.
Originally posted by Rooney9:you know qin na shou or tuishou? you can block or unarm the person without hurting him. tuishou is good, you should learn that. its a good unarm combat technique to dislodge the opponent without hurting him. its akin to neutralising his moves or movements.
No, unfortunately my background is in Taekwondo but I never trained for years liao XD.
Frankly speaking, I can only say that this martial art is great for training various types of kicks. Haha your leg muscles become very adaptable for fast strikes. The problem is....kicks are a medium-range attack, most kicks loose power at too close a range. And kicking too high in real combat is a really stupid thing to do after I've seen how other martial arts can counter the attack. It usually results in the combatant falling hard on his back and hitting his head...which can be considered a knock out move since you'll be too dazed and in pain to fight anymore after that. But that counter attack is really viscous...can cause brain trauma if the other person hits his head hard on the ground. So its better never to use it.
At the moment, I'm not too keen in unarmed combat martial arts. As much as it keeps one really fit, I just don't have the interest anymore.
Originally posted by XKCobraDraconis:Hey Pallova2, haha can't see the video from the office laptop since the admin didn't update the flash player.
Just checking, is yours MMA? MMA=Mixed Martial Arts. I know there's some schools in Singapore teaching that, they're incorporating different moves but all the effective ones from the various martial arts, eg. Taekwondo kicks, Aikido and Brazilian Jujutsu extreme close combat moves and joint-locking/twisting and not to mention Krav Maga, which is taught to many commandos in America but originates from the Israeli armed forces.
Actually I am into silat, a Malay Martial Art but I am diverging out of it and concentrate more on the freestyle sparring making it into a sport. I am able to incorporate most of my traditional style into the sparring and I am developing a cross-sparring platform with like minded people from various style (Fudoshinryu Ashihara Karate is one of the group)
So far All-Style tournaments or sparring is leaning towards the west (Muay Thai included) where contenders fight with gloves... Our Eastern style will be greatly handicapped if we are forced to wear gloves because we incorporate every parts of the body even our wrist in order to find the right balance and flow in our execution, wearing gloves will definitely put us in a disadvantage...
Hence I have decided to customize silat tanding which is the sports section of the Malay Martial Art into a concept that allows even non-practitioner of martial art have a go at it and decide later whether or not they need to learn martial art....
You can regard this platform as entry level but the rules and regulations which has been greatly changed with the input from various martial art can also accommodate seasoned martial artist to enjoy competing as well. We are developing it as much as possible so that this can truly be appreciated by people from all walks of life who wants to rekindle their interest in Martial Art whilst keeping it real in its application...
In order for it to be enjoyed by the masses, head hits (area above the body protector, below the neck up to the head) are illegal. This is a standing kind of sparring. One wins through full-contact hits on legal areas (torso back and front covered by the body protector)... Takedowns and sweeps to the legs that resulted to a fall receive higher value...
Do check the video at my channel pallov92 in Youtube... if you have the chance...
We are organizing another seminar which actually exposes participants to the sparring; those without martial art background will be put through a short course on how to break fall safely; in order for them to give feedback on how it can be further refined and hopefully a full-fledged tournament will be organized eventually...
This session will be on Sunday, 15th November at Cheng San CC 11am to 6pm...
Hope to see all of you there...
Minimum Risk, Maximum Impact and A Whole Lots Of Fun....
No, unfortunately my background is in Taekwondo but I never trained for years liao XD.Frankly speaking, I can only say that this martial art is great for training various types of kicks. Haha your leg muscles become very adaptable for fast strikes. The problem is....kicks are a medium-range attack, most kicks loose power at too close a range. And kicking too high in real combat is a really stupid thing to do after I've seen how other martial arts can counter the attack. It usually results in the combatant falling hard on his back and hitting his head...which can be considered a knock out move since you'll be too dazed and in pain to fight anymore after that. But that counter attack is really viscous...can cause brain trauma if the other person hits his head hard on the ground. So its better never to use it.
At the moment, I'm not too keen in unarmed combat martial arts. As much as it keeps one really fit, I just don't have the interest anymore.
ic. I learnt TKD in sec school before. I realised TKD only know how to kick, not much of unarm combat techniques, know how to attack with legs, but dunno how to defend with hands. quite a limited martial arts.
I am learning tuishou or push hands now. push hands can look like wrestling to some.
No, unfortunately my background is in Taekwondo but I never trained for years liao XD.Frankly speaking, I can only say that this martial art is great for training various types of kicks. Haha your leg muscles become very adaptable for fast strikes. The problem is....kicks are a medium-range attack, most kicks loose power at too close a range. And kicking too high in real combat is a really stupid thing to do after I've seen how other martial arts can counter the attack. It usually results in the combatant falling hard on his back and hitting his head...which can be considered a knock out move since you'll be too dazed and in pain to fight anymore after that. But that counter attack is really viscous...can cause brain trauma if the other person hits his head hard on the ground. So its better never to use it.
I am glad that you feel high kicks are actually dangerous... We do not employ such technique opting for a more close fist fight, block and waist side-kick, backthrust kicks... hence I feel that you can appreciate the fact that we are removing head hits from the cross-sparring this being one of the reason.
By removing head hits will also increasing the respect and empathy among contenders. Through my experience running a similar tournament, almost always contenders will be good friends (some even great friends) after an all out full-contact sparring session...
That is why I am excited that after experimenting the concept for a couple of times, the exact effect that I want to achieve has been realized from both outings...
All martial artist need to spar with other martial art in order to realize their own respective strength and improve on their weaknesses by digging deep and analyzing the mechanics of their art. Then they walk with confidence and have a sense of empathy towards their fellow human beings... They will no longer be afraid to do the right things in public and will have the confidence not to succumb by external negative influences...
In order to be at peace you must be able to control violence....
Originally posted by Pallova2:
In order to be at peace you must be able to control violence....
Indeed, I agree with this entirely. In the end, the strongest enemy is within ourselves.
so anyone.. recommend any reputable, or good and effective school or trainers for training? (for those who are totally ignorant about martial arts, and wanna learn)
Originally posted by ItchyArmpit:so anyone.. recommend any reputable, or good and effective school or trainers for training? (for those who are totally ignorant about martial arts, and wanna learn)
I suggest all of you that want to know more about some effective fight technique to come on the 15th Nov at Cheng San CC 11am to 6pm...
You do not have to spar but no one is going to stop you from doing so if you want... bring any of martial art technique formally train or otherwise... All the participants there are willing to let you try have a go at it... At least there are two groups of trained martial artist namely from Fudoshinryu Ashihara Karate and Silat Macan Pasrah entertaining you with their own brand of real flowy movements of a good attacking and defensive maneuvers...
You do not have to spend a bomb to learn a good martial art...(like those charged by Muay Thai and Aikido) at least not from where I train to realize a good and practical form of self-defence... If you do not believe what I say, you are welcome to sample my art by coming down to Cheng San CC every thursday night 8pm to 10pm... We can set up a trial sparring just for you...
need buy groin guard for one time use only..
Originally posted by Sgforum King:need buy groin guard for one time use only..
Haha, trust me, it might just save you from a lot of pain.
I got kicked by a boom belt in the groin during my brown belt grading exam long ago. Thankfully I was wearing one...haha could feel the force of the blow. But anyways, the boom belt limped off for a few seconds from the pain in his foot after hitting the guard. XD
Originally posted by Sgforum King:need buy groin guard for one time use only..
Yes, it is compulsory if you want to spar on the 15th but not really needed for normal training...
Ashihara Karate is suppose to be full contact karate right? They have international competition world wide is it?
Yes...the new sparring concept that I am promoting is full contact minus the head hits...
Originally posted by Pallova2:Yes...the new sparring concept that I am promoting is full contact minus the head hits...
so this is considered like a free sparing session, full contact except the head, and have to wear groin guard?
i had aikido and kick boxing experience, so meaning i can use both techniques at one time?
I want to fight with chio bu nia. Any chio bu here want to fight with me?
We both strip nake and you just wear your sexy high heels and fight with me
Originally posted by sm93:so this is considered like a free sparing session, full contact except the head, and have to wear groin guard?
i had aikido and kick boxing experience, so meaning i can use both techniques at one time?
Of course you can use any of your technique to get the points... I will publish the whole rule and regulation in a short while...
Thank you for your interest...hope to see you on the 15th Nov Cheng San CC 11am to 6pm
listen to your doctor ! Take your happy pills if not you go back in to mental hospital.
Ok I have just completed the guidelines for the cross-sparring session which will be held on Sunday, 15th Nov. 11 am to 6 pm (for now)
You can view it here.
Originally posted by Pallova2:Ok I have just completed the guidelines for the cross-sparring session which will be held on Sunday, 15th Nov. 11 am to 6 pm (for now)
You can view it here.
hey, asking this on behalf on my friend, if he does not have any previous marshall arts background and the other is just a TKD white belt, can they still have a go at it?
of course can... but we need to get them to do a bit of practice on how to break fall... Can be achieve quite easily... People that present on that day will not mind showing it to you guys...
I need you guys to show me your break fall technique that's all.. Hope to see you and your friends at the free sparring session ok ? thank you...
Originally posted by Pallova2:of course can... but we need to get them to do a bit of practice on how to break fall... Can be achieve quite easily... People that present on that day will not mind showing it to you guys...
I need you guys to show me your break fall technique that's all.. Hope to see you and your friends at the free sparring session ok ? thank you...
allrites then me and my friends are down
To everyone...
It is confirm and I have booked the place which is going to be at Cheng San CC, Ang Mo Kio St 53 behind Ang Mo Kio MRT station.
Date: Sunday, 15th November 2009
Time: 11 am to 6 pm
Venue: Cheng San CC Function Hall.
Please confirm your attendance by emailing me your particulars at [email protected] in the format as follows:-
Name:
I/C no:
Weight:
Contact no:
Email Address:
Home Address:
Person to contact in case of emergency:
We will still want you to sign the indemnity form on that day.
Please bring along groin guards and wear them while sparring.
woah i also feel like going.. but dont wanna go alone... and i got NOT much martial art background...
what i learnt is the yellow belt ( i know very lousy) TKD in school cca ( i heard school teach de TKD not much de)
any martial art noob coming? but i wanna train up my fitness first b4 going! ahh.. so many things to do... i ask my friend coming anot... haha! but most likely no... cuz i dun wanna train these type of thing when my fitness is at its bottom peak..
8 months no exercise.. sit and eat and study for exam... all the fats accumulating and the muscle disappearing.. haha!
Nevermind lah if you are not sparring, can still come and support the event... We can also do short sparring for anyone who just want to have a go at it... No harm what...
It is call a TRY OUT... hence anyone can come and do just that... Don't have to play the full game, just indicate that to us before you start sparring and will not record the points or still can record it if you want... Just come lah and have fun... bring all your friends down as well...
At least you can decide which martial art you want to take up if you ever want to learn it in the future, right ? We need spectators as well...
See you there...