Ok guys, so far there are already 10 people going to participate in this Sunday's free sparring session...
I have updated the rules and regulations with links to the video clips to demonstrate the r & r clearer...
You can view it here
Originally posted by theme_and_guess:those must be street fighting u refering to!! no martial art background or wat...then just fight recklessly must be street fighting la!! go ahead.... pick out some random guy on the street then push them!! u gain experience...
Dont tell him to pick at random wait he kena the wrong person how? I will slap him from kallang to geylang...dont play play ar!
Hi guys,
I have uploaded all the sparrings in my channel as follows
http://www.youtube.com/user/pallov92
So that you have a rough idea of what it would look like... Come and join us this Sunday 15th November at Cheng San CC 11am to 6pm... You can come and witness the event... You can participate as well... it is totally F.O.C.
HI all,
Just a reminder about the cross sparring session at Cheng San CC this Sunday, 15th Nov.. 11am to 6pm...
You can drop by or just have a go at it... It is worth the experience, I am sure...
Just my take. I feel that the rules are disadvantaging muay thai, jujitsu and judo leh. Muay thai regularly kick the shin, thigh and arms to weaken opponent defense mah. The latter two usually mainly use locks and grappling technqiues to force submission. Just my 2 cents.
i want to learn boxing!
suggest a place.
Western boxing I presume? not too sure but I saw a boxing gym at Farrer Park last time.
Originally posted by gutripper:Just my take. I feel that the rules are disadvantaging muay thai, jujitsu and judo leh. Muay thai regularly kick the shin, thigh and arms to weaken opponent defense mah. The latter two usually mainly use locks and grappling technqiues to force submission. Just my 2 cents.
Agree totally with your views...but Muay Thai can still employ all their technique to hit the legal areas and develop other aspects of their art in a different perspective. You must remember this is just a game that people play not in the mindset of harming anyone seriously in the short or long term because almost all the participants are not fully conditioned for a prize fight.
It is of some importance for anyone to be able to spar in a less harmful fight in order to internalize the martial art technique that they have been practicing among themselves. In order to make it a practical skill they must be able to spar with other martial arts to expose themselves because if there were to be any attacks, chances are the attackers may not belong to the same martial art as them and this will definitely reduce the anxiety of the imminent danger...
Definitely jujitsu and judo clearly belong to a ground fight and submission kind of concept hence they will not be able to compete effectively in this one and they may not be able to enjoy it fully... but they are welcome to play if they can come in and do effective takedowns within the confines of the rules and regulations...
I definitely feel that Muay Thai combatants can still enjoy the concept by using their kicks not to the extend of weakening and damaging the limbs but as a distraction in order to get points (as in a follow up attacking set pieces). We want to promote a clean kind of fight and not animosity among contenders because great friendship bonds based on respect and empathy will be formed among fellow contenders even right after a high adrenalin bout is witnessed...
If the sparring allows contenders to purposely weaken the opponent, the game become one that may result in anger and revenge. You must remember a good and steady martial artist only inflict enough damage to subdue the opponent and by doing this demonstrates the amount of control they have over the art they are practicing and this is not even a fight, it is only a game. Why should anyone even think of weakening and injuring anyone else ? A game is determine by the amount of point the victor gains not the amount of injury is inflicted on the opponent. If one can demonstrate control by hitting only at designated areas and all other areas are hit with much lesser impact with the objective of gaining hits to the legal areas through distraction, then this is what a game is all about...
If a game allows one to weaken the other as a strategy to gain points why are yellow cards and red cards given to soccer player when their tackle is directly injuring the opponent ? Can you argue that it is a strategy to weaken the other team in order to score more goals to become the victor ?
Originally posted by gutripper:Western boxing I presume? not too sure but I saw a boxing gym at Farrer Park last time.
preferably near tampines please?
Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:preferably near tampines please?
Here's my two cents worth... If you want to be a good martial artist, it should not be convenient to you but you should get a good trainer no matter how inconvenience it is for you. At the end of the day, the trainer makes or breaks the athlete...
We have completed the latest session of cross sparring exchange which was held on Sunday 15th Nov. at Cheng San CC...
There were more variety of martial arts participating this time. We got practitioners of TKD, Karate, Wing Chung and Silat... Several suggestions were given that day for us to consider. Tentatively we are going to carry on this sparring concept because all participants felt that it was very fun and enjoyable... Perhaps for now, I will organize such exchange once every 2 months... Look out for it in January 2010....
Video clips of it have already been uploaded to Youtube at my channel
http://www.youtube.com/user/pallov92
Do write in your thoughts here if you don't mind
Thank you for your interest and support...
OH SHIT! I missed the date!! when is the next session coming up
Originally posted by Coach Jason:OH SHIT! I missed the date!! when is the next session coming up
Don't worry, like I said above, feedbacks from participants are positive. Some even want it to happen once a month which the others felt that it is too soon for anyone to recover and get ready for the next session.
Hence the earliest possible date will be in January 2010... Please suggest whether Saturday or Sunday and which week of the month is better to have it... So that more people can get to enjoy the session in future...
Actually IMO...Saturday is better because one can get to rest at least a day before the week starts... I do not mind any weekend of the month is fine as long as we can plan it way way in advance...
Looking at the responds and feedbacks, we are greatly enthused to organize such an event on a regular basis. At first all combatants felt that they were somewhat handicapped and restricted by the rules and regulations but after giving it a try, they realized that it is not really a bad concept after all...
Most of their technique can be employed to the fullest extend (full contact) and new perspectives were presented to them which they would never have the chance to experience if they were just sparring among their own...
Hence do come and participate or watch the following sessions which we are going to organize once every two months.
Tentatively, the next session will be on Saturday, 30th January 2010, 3:00 pm to 9:30 pm at Cheng San CC. Contact me at 97600334 (ZUL) for more details or you can sms me your email address for me to include you in the mailing list.
Thank you for your attention...
Sorry, due to unforeseen circumstances, the date of the next Combat Games will be postponed to Saturday, 27th February 2009, 3:00 pm to 9:30 pm, Cheng San CC Ang Mo Kio St. 53.