Originally posted by Arapahoe:there aren't any direct english translation so you would have to write in ping ying
oh i see
Originally posted by Catknight:It's just a wild thought but if we clone a Li shimin using latest state of the art biotechnonlogy in PRC now, do you think he can bring china to great heights again?
Great men are just a matter of being at the right place at the right time with the neccessary attitude/knowledge to take advantage of the stituation.
Without Germany's defeat in WW1, Hitler might have just ended up as a disgruntled painter and Stalin might have just ended up as a vodka addicted hooligan.
If the Manchu had not lost the Sino Japanese War, Mao Zedong might have just ended up as a æ•—å®¶å�, a wayward son.
It would be a mistake to think that great men and men who do horrible things are somehow a genetic abberation that pops up in our genepool every few decade.
Originally posted by tan reborn:
oh i see
It isn't that much of where your grandparent or parent came from rather what custom was passed down....Its one thing to practice blindly but also understand the source and why....or else it is just ritual.
True chinese century is not about being wealthier than the western world but a full spectrum of literature, technology, philosophy, fashion,economics so much so the rest of the world will take on chinese culture in dealing with life both physically and spritually but you guys know it's just a fantasy of the chinese educated that it will happen unless great talents suddenly spring up in PRC to bring about this .We need modern Li Bai, Sun Tze and others great men from PRC to blaze the trail so far none :(
If possible, a constitutional monarchy like Japan will be better for China , more stable but how to find a good emperor like Li shimin nowadays?
Originally posted by Catknight:Sometimes I see the PRC youngsters in my training center and wondered if they have tang bloodline bu why no tang open friendly culture leh?
Tang China and modern-day China are two diff worlds.
The so called modern-day 'Han' Chinese is actually mishmashed of Mongols, Manchu, Zhang (Tibetan) and smaller groups like Huier (origins of the Khitan), Korean and Eskimos with the indigenous Chinese.
The Zhang is a large, diversed communities, some have already assimilated as far the three kigndoms, some only recently.
With the govt regulation of the localised 'Han' Chinese birthrate to a replacement of 1 while letting others' birthrate unregulated, I think 40% of the Chinese people today are no more indigenous 'Tang' or 'Han'.
You never find the history of southern Song with Yue Fei defending Imperial China from the marauding invaders in today China's history book. Especially Yue Fei's poem about "eat the flesh of the Hunu, drinking the blood of the Xiongnu".
If the govt dares to call its people 'Han' or 'Tang', there will be anarchy on the streets tomorrow. That is why they called themselves 'Hua' (flower) people. Like flower in diff shades and colours.
Funny that oversea Chinese always - I say, always, see China today as indigenous 'Tang' and 'Han'.
Wonder if there're any Tang ren descendents left from tang dynasty maybe now just living in a remote towns and villages in the middle of nowhere in china,,such is life....once powerful and prosperous but now faded memory...sigh
Btw Tang people back then speak dialects like hokkien, cantonese and and hakka not mandarin...people can be so mislead sometimes
If one study Tang era, you realise that the way they dressed and think are more open and not restricted to confucianism which is more dry and authoritarian.
When you use bronze as a mirror, you can straighten your clothes and hat. When you use antiquity as a mirror, you can see the waxing and waning. When you use a person as a mirror, you can know if you grasp things or not. Wei Zheng is gone; I have lost my mirror.
Like it or not, our facial phenotype is predominantly mongoloid in appearance, compared to Turks or even the Uighurs.
Physical features changed with times after more than a 1000 years of assimilation, of course the turkish mixed look more oriental

Some of them may have looked like the above girls from Tang dynasty
爱江山更爱美人 cheers to Tang ancestors with the most beautiful chinese women
Originally posted by Catknight:Physical features changed with times after more than a 1000 years of assimilation, of course the turkish mixed look more oriental
East-Asian genes have always dominant compared to other ethnic groups. Turks, are semi-caucasoid in a anthropological sense, which means they already have a certain percentage of mongoloid genes. Hence, that's why they assimilate so easily.
Originally posted by Catknight:
Kazakhs or Uzbeks?
Originally posted by Yomigaeru tsubasa:Kazakhs or Uzbeks?
or afghan?
nah.... most prob we are children of adam and eve...... ![]()
eh...nothing to do with the serpent hor..
Originally posted by angel7030:eh...nothing to do with the serpent hor..
wasnt the serpant fault...
it ish all the apple fault.... ![]()
Originally posted by EarlNeo:wasnt the serpant fault...
it ish all the apple fault....
now, who planted thee apple tree?
Originally posted by 4sg:Tang China and modern-day China are two diff worlds.
The so called modern-day 'Han' Chinese is actually mishmashed of Mongols, Manchu, Zhang (Tibetan) and smaller groups like Huier (origins of the Khitan), Korean and Eskimos with the indigenous Chinese.
The Zhang is a large, diversed communities, some have already assimilated as far the three kigndoms, some only recently.
With the govt regulation of the localised 'Han' Chinese birthrate to a replacement of 1 while letting others' birthrate unregulated, I think 40% of the Chinese people today are no more indigenous 'Tang' or 'Han'.
You never find the history of southern Song with Yue Fei defending Imperial China from the marauding invaders in today China's history book. Especially Yue Fei's poem about "eat the flesh of the Hunu, drinking the blood of the Xiongnu".
If the govt dares to call its people 'Han' or 'Tang', there will be anarchy on the streets tomorrow. That is why they called themselves 'Hua' (flower) people. Like flower in diff shades and colours.
Funny that oversea Chinese always - I say, always, see China today as indigenous 'Tang' and 'Han'.
It's Hua as in Mount Hua.å�Žå±±çš„“å�Ž”ã€‚Not 花。Baka!
Originally posted by 4sg:Tang China and modern-day China are two diff worlds.
That is why the communist uses Han because Ah Mao is not Tang....
really?wheres the turkey?