There are 2000 armed Gurkhas in Singapore and their number grows annually by 140.
This is a dangerous sign. Gurks i believe more heavily armed, from what the photos reveal, with at least Heckler & Koch MP5 submachine guns and M-16 assault rifles as opposed to most of their Singaporean counterparts with their Smith & Wesson 0.38 revolvers. God knows whether or not they have the same heavy weapons as a SAF Infantry Battalion e.g. GPMGs.
Gurkhas are not Singaporeans. They are mercenaries. AND Mercenaries work for money.
I pray for all Singaporean police officers, especially those in the Special Operations Command, to keep a keen and watchful eye on the Gurkha Contingent for reasons which i need not say more.
No one need to look too far into history to know the dangers of having a foreign armed mercenary unit in Singapore.
So what do you propose?
Send them back?
huh? i dun comprehend you, gurkhas are renowned for loyality
i can share TS concerns, but why is this in AA?
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:huh? i dun comprehend you, gurkhas are renowned for loyality
They are mercenaries, and mercenaries as usual cannot be trusted.
Originally posted by ☃®:They are mercenaries, and mercenaries as usual cannot be trusted.
why you confuse urself with venice case. ANd we dun nid to be afraid of revolt, our apaches will level their camp with hellfire
Gurkhas are mercenaries like you have stated, but I feel that they are a little special in Singapore's case.
Gurkhas have been a part of Singapore since our colonial masters took our land under their charge. If I am not wrong, the Gurkhas who serve in Singapore bring their family along as well, and the family is taken care of in return by the Singaporean Government.
While it is true that they are paid as mercenaries, they pledge their allegiance to Singapore because their families are well taken care of.
And how loyal are Singaporean soldiers anyway? Judging by the complaints in the army forums..one cannot help but doubt the loyalty of Singaporeans.
The Gurkhas has been here for a very very long time. I once heard that the Gurkhas are so loyal to whoever's paying them, they will use their body to block bullets for the person they're protecting.
It's not yet been proven, but then again, how many of our own soldiers are willing to do that.
where were they when japanese invaded.
now whole world except for middle east is peaceful need them for what in Singapore
only reason i can think of is act as bodyguards for ministers and prevent coup
Originally posted by ☃®:They are mercenaries, and mercenaries as usual cannot be trusted.
Mercenaries cannot be trusted but then again why are Britain and other commonwealth counties using gurkhas in their armies and sercurity forces? Gurkhas are known for their ferocity in combat and their loyalty to the nations employing them, hence are considered part of the said countries' armed forces. This is the same of the French and Spanish foreign legions. However, I do distrust ☃®'s loyalty as a Singaporean.
The amount of ignorance displayed here is appalling. I'll just reiterate what others have stated above.
First off, it would be completely illogical for them to start an uprising; their immediate families live here with them, not to mention their extended families at home in Nepal awaiting their return.
Secondly, being a mercenary is in many ways better than being a conscript. The difference is in the choice, or lack thereof. If you chose to do something you'd obviously put more effort into it.
As much as I like to believe and live by ideals, let's be realistic here - money is a damned good way of ensuring people behave.
Wrong section shouldn't be in AA
wrong place. take away the law and give sg men a license to kill. many may shun, cowardice, family commitments, never buy insurance. but not me.
give us weapons, a license to kill. we will fight. gurhkas or not.
simple.......they are well paid and family treated nicely..... singapore army are paid like shit and family are squeezed dry by government, so....u tell mi lor...how ar? which one u trust more?
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):simple.......they are well paid and family treated nicely..... singapore army are paid like shit and family are squeezed dry by government, so....u tell mi lor...how ar? which one u trust more?
Haha.. I agree with you. LOL... =)
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):simple.......they are well paid and family treated nicely..... singapore army are paid like shit and family are squeezed dry by government, so....u tell mi lor...how ar? which one u trust more?
psst...why u so frightrened of gurkhas for??they have been here since 1985 and earlier.they have some beautiful girls and handsome guys with smooth skin come to think of it......but most are fat and look malayish.
they are humans like u and me...nothing more.if u go see the selection in nepal for these men....they are just like any kid in bmt...running n puffing...some too fat.....5 mth mbt kinda story.
they are armed with m16 from last i saw them in training....hand to hand combat......make sure u have a few years of martial arts experience....like in any battlefield.if u think of fighting without knowing martial arts for a few years before ns...then please stay at hiome and improve yer shooting skills on pc games then.
foreign talents???is someone here trying to imply they want the gurkhas jobs as well???is it that bad in spore industries now?????!!!!
OLD SENILE MAN:THATS THEIR PROBLEM!
Allegiance is to the family, definitely not to Singaporeans. ![]()
they are not the soldier of fortune type of paramilitary....they have local head and are paid for by the govt....if they rebel, no money...they see this as a great chance to leave nepal....no way they are gonna screw it..
Gurkhas are not the only foreigners bearing arms here. Auxiliary Police companies like Cisco and Aetos hires about 70% Malaysians. They carries weapons just like the regular Police and are armed even with HK MP5s submachine guns.
i trust gurkhas more than our own army.
I propose moving this to the Jokes forum! Lol.
TS like that also want to complain.. why? u scared they snatch your job? wth your a security guard or something? anyway i guess the only reason they would not be loyal would be the fact that we have people like TS not trusting them.. i concur with ODST.. singapore army and gurkhas? definitely gurkhas
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:why you confuse urself with venice case. ANd we dun nid to be afraid of revolt, our apaches will level their camp with hellfire
Rofl.
Venice case -_-
really i very scared leh. if they got mp5 i will only ask for an old lee enfield rifle.
i play cowboy shoot with them at 500m apart. i will even let them stand at the side along the wind and give them 1000 rounds each. i just need one round per number of gurkocks and stand against the wind. i will even let them fire first.
i gaurantee they cannot hit me and i can hit them
They should be returned.......no need for foreign army what.......
It is an old practice by Britain......
Nowadays Singapore is an independent sovereign country already.......why still use old Britain colonial practice.....
In the old days, Britain like to transport different troops from different ethnic groups to fight its war in many theaters of wars.....
For example, they recruit Indian troops or whatever, and use them and transport them to fight the war elsewhere.
So this is part and parcel of the British practice.....leftover from its empire days....
Nowdays Singapore is independent, not part of Britain anymore.....why still use this practice and continue with it....
These Gurkhas basically are foreigners.....they are foreign army...........are Gurkhas part of Singapore? Are Nepal and Singapore part of same country, British Empire...?
It is true that it is questionable to keep using Gurkhas. It brings some questions and doubts about the motivations of keeping them.