Originally posted by Kenta yoshiyuki:Omega...
showme a Omega for 200-300...............clown.........
anyway, at Omega's price range, people who know about watches won't buy Omega............
Originally posted by FireIce:ged will come in soon.
So it's true - someone mentioned that the Queen invoved my name. Aiyoh, your highness, where I got interested in this price range one? ![]()
Seriously for that price range, Seiko's the best value for money - picked up a brand new SKX779 for my brother-in-law for $200 and it's a rather niece piece of work:

Buy Invicta la. Made in Switzerland.Product Features
- Quality 21-Jewels Miyota Japanese Automatic movement; Functions without a battery; Powers automatically with the movement of your arm
- Durable mineral crystal
- Case diameter: 40mm
- Stainless-steel case; Black dial; Date function; Luminous hands and markers
- Water-resistant to 660 feet (200 M)
Even with the postage it's still cheaper than SGD 200 and it looks like the Rolex Submariner :P
Not a big fan of Invicta - for the money Seiko still makes a much better watch.
Originally posted by As romanista2001:showme a Omega for 200-300...............clown.........
Easily done - a classic 60's-vintage Seamaster in reasonable condition can be found for that price if you know where to look, and frankly they're a whole lot prettier than the try-hard pieces Omega puts out these days.
Originally posted by As romanista2001:not quartz though, not worth the money...........
Quartz? If you're going to get a quartz watch, why not just use your handphone?
Tissot? I am using one.. I admit its out of ur price range, I got mine for $450.. I am sure you can get a second hand in ur price range though. Its really good. The design matches everything I wear =) Its with a leather strap and a metallic dial with a light cream colored face..
watch for $200-$300 too ex for me le... max i go for watch is $200
me $5 can liao..can change everyweek...watch had lost if fashion already, only Uncles and Aunties like those funny watches costing so much....for what??
Originally posted by angel7030:me $5 can liao..can change everyweek...watch had lost if fashion already, only Uncles and Aunties like those funny watches costing so much....for what??
Yeah, but you're cheap in oh so many different ways.
ged......u shouldnt be saying this to a lady...tis not polite irregardless.
never bought a $200 watch.......only had a watch that had a wind meter that pops outs along with altimeter and other temp sensor stuff......
Originally posted by Hitman~:ged......u shouldnt be saying this to a lady...tis not polite irregardless.
First, you're in no position to tell me what I should or shouldn't be doing.
Second, that cheap skank is no lady by any measure.
Third, "irregardless" is a double-negative, you idiot.
Now fuck off.
Originally posted by angel7030:me $5 can liao..can change everyweek...watch had lost if fashion already, only Uncles and Aunties like those funny watches costing so much....for what??
i thought you say you're a shrink......................should buy expensive watch mah...........can bullshit that your patients many many................
Originally posted by Gedanken:So it's true - someone mentioned that the Queen invoved my name. Aiyoh, your highness, where I got interested in this price range one?
Seriously for that price range, Seiko's the best value for money - picked up a brand new SKX779 for my brother-in-law for $200 and it's a rather niece piece of work:
wah, the watch looks a lot more than 200 bucks leh................automatic somemore leh................but looks very thick and heavy lah..............too macho for me liao..........but it's an excellent buy...............seems bombproof too............LOL
Originally posted by As romanista2001:i thought you say you're a shrink......................should buy expensive watch mah...........can bullshit that your patients many many................
No, no, no - she's shrunken, intellectually at least (her physical form is not something to be thought of once one has had a meal).
Originally posted by As romanista2001:wah, the watch looks a lot more than 200 bucks leh................automatic somemore leh................but looks very thick and heavy lah..............too macho for me liao..........but it's an excellent buy...............seems bombproof too............LOL
Prices have gone up a bit, but you can still find the SKX779 for around the $200 mark: see here.
For something less bulky, try the Seiko SNZF17K1.
buy from ebay is cheaper but warranty how ah ? no warranty, right ?
Originally posted by Gedanken:Not a big fan of Invicta - for the money Seiko still makes a much better watch.
But the thing is that for USD 79.99 (excluding shipping) you can get a Rolex Submariner look-a-like for daily abuse without feeling the pinch.
It's using the Citizen 21-Jewels Miyota Japanese Automatic movement and I don't think it is that bad and this model comes with hard crystal for the face and back of the watch. IMO it's a steal

quite true it's a steal but if break down, how to repair in S'pore ?
of course, can simply throw away..............overall, the Seiko seems the best buy.................but diver watch all too macho and big and heavy lah.........like wearing a clock on the wrist.............
Real unclish style, Yak!!! please lah, u wear a bangles more fashionable lah, u can hardly see a fashion model wear watches nowaday,...it is not appealing and also not a status anymore...
But the thing is that for USD 79.99 (excluding shipping) you can get a Rolex Submariner look-a-like for daily abuse without feeling the pinch.It's using the Citizen 21-Jewels Miyota Japanese Automatic movement and I don't think it is that bad and this model comes with hard crystal for the face and back of the watch. IMO it's a steal
I know quite a few fellow watch collectors who have picked up Invictas, and from the reviews it seems quality control's a bit of a hit-and-miss thing with them. In particular, crown and seal failures are not uncommon, so I wouldn't count on that 100-metre water resistance.
I tend to measure value according to the longer term. For example, this old 6309 is the forerunner to the SKX779. I picked it up for $150 in 1987 and it's still ticking along merrily today:

This watch has been constantly on my wrist through airborne drops, scuba dives and conditions that typically killed G-Shocks in four months or less. At less than ten bucks a year and dropping, I'd call that value.
Originally posted by angel7030:Real unclish style, Yak!!! please lah, u wear a bangles more fashionable lah, u can hardly see a fashion model wear watches nowaday,...it is not appealing and also not a status anymore...
No, you're just cheap.
Originally posted by Gedanken:No, you're just cheap.
cheap cheap lor...
Originally posted by Gedanken:I know quite a few fellow watch collectors who have picked up Invictas, and from the reviews it seems quality control's a bit of a hit-and-miss thing with them. In particular, crown and seal failures are not uncommon, so I wouldn't count on that 100-metre water resistance.
I tend to measure value according to the longer term. For example, this old 6309 is the forerunner to the SKX779. I picked it up for $150 in 1987 and it's still ticking along merrily today:
This watch has been constantly on my wrist through airborne drops, scuba dives and conditions that typically killed G-Shocks in four months or less. At less than ten bucks a year and dropping, I'd call that value.
waaaaahhhhhhhhh................amazing leh.................too bad lah, all the nice Seiko designs don't come with auto or kinetic..................as for quartz, water resistance seems to suffer whenever it's time to change the battery...............
by the way, how often need to adjust the time for the Seiko automatic? once every few days ?
uncle, those are out of date liao,..trust me...dun waste yr money on it, middle class like to spend unwisely