that is quiet common mistake
is that because the people in south china can't curl their tongue?
thus most singaporean pronociate "th" [θ] as "ph" [f]
and for mandrain , looks like no different about : shi �and si 四
so, would u mind telling why u spelt pronunciate as pronociate??
Originally posted by Yao.peijun:that is quiet common mistake
It's not quiet but quite!
Originally posted by littlemissbonkers:It's not quiet but quite!
>.< i dint spot that
edit: mandrain?...lol man de long kang?...
ts naughty naughty
Pronociate??
bcos some might kamlan and bite their tongue too hard
th is "f" usually at ending
the most common one is with
sh is 翘舌
which is not related to "th"
and i have no idea wat u trying to say
just randomly linking these things so u can pick on ppl's pronunciation
i haben even mention the spelling mistakes.........and the wonderful grammar
dont have to be so harsh.
TS is just asking why locals commit common mistakes he happens to notice.
PCK says anything is okay, who gives a damm.

Originally posted by _Da_Dood_:so, would u mind telling why u spelt pronunciate as pronociate??
its spelt pronOunce or pronOunciation. And theres no such word as pronunciate
TS fail instead of correcting ppl
Y not u correct urself first...
locals?
south china?
huh??!?!??!?!??!
Originally posted by FireIce:locals?
south china?
huh??!?!??!?!??!
He's stating that most of the local chinese in Singapore are descendents of those who came from the southern part of china, is he?
gotta do a check on this ![]()
ç…§é‚£æ ·æŽ¨æµ‹.... three shd be free!!
�,大家跟我念.....
wan choo free!
I'm unsure of the mandarin part but tree and three sound prominently different in pronounciation. People articulate rather than 'pronounce' nowadays
Originally posted by dangerboi:He's stating that most of the local chinese in Singapore are descendents of those who came from the southern part of china, is he?
gotta do a check on this
å¼ å† æ�Žæˆ´
牛头�对马嘴
the chinese syllabus here is following beijing dialect
we are now the 3rd, going into 4th gen liao
watever accents oredi eroded completely
everybardie, it's PRONUNCIATION, not pronounciation
pronounce Why do you pronounce three as tree?
pronunciation Why is your pronunciation of three, like a tree?
Because english is an alien language to han chinese?
by the way how well can those ang moh speak hokkien?
Singapore is probably the only state in the entire world where majority group(75%-80%) in that country forced to learn alien language just because the leader is an english speaking motherfucking bastard.
serve the interests of the english speaking elite which he belongs, that anglo fucking bastard.
Yao.peijun is a northern Chinese . . . .. learning English in Singapore
ah tiong . . . . .. master your English . . .
. . . then surf here . .. to correct English of . . . netizens
Northern Chinese . . . .. . superb .. . to pick on . . . southern Chinese
ä½ å‡ºä¸‘äº†! 羞羞!
The standard Mandarin is used by . . . the broadcast journalists in . . . . China, Singapore Tv. They don't . .. . . emphasize on curling tongue pronunication.
this name dun sound china-ish.
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:its spelt pronOunce or pronOunciation. And theres no such word as pronunciate
seek some research before u start correcting ![]()
Originally posted by _Da_Dood_:
seek some research before u start correcting
. . . did you check . . . the dictionary for the right words and spelling . . .. prior to posting your reply?
HyperionDCZ . . . has given . . .. . the correct answers.
quite true
Singaporeans pronounce written "th" [θ] initially as "t" and finally as "f"
therefore "three" becomes "tree" and "teeth" become "teef"
the reason behind that is [θ] doesn't exist in the most people's mother tongues of Singaporeans (all Southern Chinese dialects, all Malay dialects, all Indian languages , only Arabic has [θ] sound) that's why, therefore the substitution of similar phonemes in place of it
similarly another phenomenon is the pronunciation of final and sub-final "l" or "ll" as "u"/"w"
eg.
kill --> kiu
pill --> piu
milk --> miuk
heal --> hiu
until --> untiu
file --> fau
pail --> pehw
pale --> pehw
mail --> mehw
fail --> fehw
cold --> cou
hold --> hou
fold --> fou
hole --> hou
shield --> shiu
pull --> puu
full --> fuu
tool --> tuu
but usually I hear Indians can pronounce the actual final "l" due to their mother tongue having final "l" too. but Chinese usually pronounce as above.
Originally posted by we sacrifice:
. . . did you check . . . the dictionary for the right words and spelling . . .. prior to posting your reply?HyperionDCZ . . . has given . . .. . the correct answers.
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Is_pronunciate_a_word
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/pronunciate
In your face! Get your facts right, don't just fire blanks.
So now, please justify your "correct answer" with supported source. ![]()
ã�“れã�¯ã�¾ã� æ�ºå¸¯é›»è©±ã‚„PCã�¯ã�Šã‚�ã�‹ã€�テレビã�•ã�ˆã‚‚一般ã�«æ™®å�Šã�—ã�¦ã�„ã�ªã�‹ã�£ã�Ÿæ˜å’Œã�®æ™‚代ã�®OLã�®ç‰©èªžã�§ã�‚る。ã�¨ã�‚る会社ã�§OLã�¨ã�—ã�¦åƒ�ã��奈々。ã�¾ã� ã�¾ã� 会社内ã�§ã�®å¥³