Originally posted by we sacrifice:
. . . did you check . . . the dictionary for the right words and spelling . . .. prior to posting your reply?HyperionDCZ . . . has given . . .. . the correct answers.
pronOunciation is incorrect!!!!
its pronunciation.
why do you speow pronounce as pronociate?!?!
When you are talking about dollars and cents in your sentence irregardless of bad pronunciation, it is understood to mean three. If you so happen to elaborate on stem, root, leaves, trunk, then it would be tree that you are talking about.
Originally posted by dragg:pronOunciation is incorrect!!!!
its pronunciation.
yep thats right i copied from pronounce which was an error
Only the TS pronounce like that. Majority has no problem pronouncing three as three and tree as tree. Even ten and four so much difference how can anyone missed it?
Tenfour?
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:Only the TS pronounce like that. Majority has no problem pronouncing three as three and tree as tree. Even ten and four so much difference how can anyone missed it?
Tenfour?
Are you sure the majority pronounce "three" as "three" and "tree" as "tree" > you make it sound like "three" and "tree" sound different to the majority leh
The TS never say there is a problem with "t" and "f", the TS says that there is a problem with "th" and "f"
Don't think u really understood
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Are you sure the majority pronounce "three" as "three" and "tree" as "tree" > you make it sound like "three" and "tree" sound different to the majority leh
The TS never say there is a problem with "t" and "f", the TS says that there is a problem with "th" and "f"
Don't think u really understood
baka don't make the whole story sound like another story. This is a silly thread. A problem that is non existence to most singapore because since kindergarden three and tree were taught and understood by students. Even communicating with people a close pronunciation of three and tree don't matter. Chained in a sentence we can all comprehend the message wee are putting through. Baka so what if in your opinion i don't understand? I got no problem communicating at all in English, so do most singaporeans. ![]()
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:
baka don't make the whole story sound like another story. This is a silly thread. A problem that is non existence to most singapore because since kindergarden three and tree were taught and understood by students. Even communicating with people a close pronunciation of three and tree don't matter. Chained in a sentence we can all comprehend the message wee are putting through. Baka so what if in your opinion i don't understand? I got no problem communicating at all in English, so do most singaporeans.
Of course we can comprehend, cause when we communicate we understand each other through discourse (an aspect of linguistics)
The TS is discussing on phonology (another aspect of linguistics)
Your putting down of other people due to your lack of knowledge doesn't make you look any better man
wah lao
this kind oso can see people quarrel
can pronounce correctly, good
if cannot oso not a problem
then again
need pronounce so clear for wad
报新闻啊?
by the way
ts
curl smlj?
the th sound need to curl meh
She sells sea shells by the sea shore.
The shells she sells are surely seashells.
So if she sells shells on the seashore,
I'm sure she sells seashore shells.
do we tok about rolling the 'r' next?
How do you pronociate ah-ler?
I thought the answer is very straightforward.
Singapore never use any phonetic system while China use them.
Please correct me if I'm wrong =.=""'"
Originally posted by Moka:I thought the answer is very straightforward.
Singapore never use any phonetic system while China use them.
Please correct me if I'm wrong =.=""'"
both Singapore and China uses Hanyu Pinyin which is a phonetic system for it's official Mandarin transcription system (emphasis on written than spoken)
for spoken Mandarin, the undifferentiation between retroflex affricates and fricatives (commonly called �舌 - zh, ch, sh) & alveolar affricates and fricatives (z, c, s) is more commonly observed when spoken by Southern Chinese people, due to the influence of the dialects of most Southern Chinese people which does not differentiate between the 2 sets of consonants
paiseh ... my bad, was referring to english phonetic system >.< ,
For chinese phonetic system,I think the focus on learning how to �舌 is not there or not as intense as China. It's more to trying to pronounce it close than using the correct technique.
Originally posted by Moka:paiseh paiseh.. english phonetic system >.< I don't remember learning that
hahaha cos the TS talked about 2 unrelated topics (one on Mandarin, one on English) so i anyhow hantam
English phonetic system? English uses only those phonetic system in dictionaries (those kind of symbols like θ, ʤ, ʧ... etc)
The English orthography itself is not phonetic
I think China uses them.. When we have nothing to do at work, my friend from China will teach me the phonetic system, while I will correct her spelling and sentence structure.
Originally posted by Moka:I think China uses them.. When we have nothing to do at work, my friend from China will teach me the phonetic system, while I will correct her spelling and sentence structure.
oh ya, so you are referring to the "International Phonetic System" rite? cos it is not to be called "English Phonetic System" even though there are similar letters in it
I'm speechless... lol.. Yup, International phonetic system. Is it taught in schools now?
Originally posted by Moka:I'm speechless... lol.. Yup, International phonetic system. Is it taught in schools now?
i posted a reference on IPA (International Phonetic Alphabet) in response to another thread here before, you can take a look whether we are talking about the same thing:
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/369470#post_9268844
too bad it is never taught in schools in Singapore except at the University level
hmm.. university level... I wonder why they don't teach in primary school...
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:its spelt pronOunce or pronOunciation.
Are you for real?
Originally posted by Moka:hmm.. university level... I wonder why they don't teach in primary school...
if you are referring to why they are not teaching IPA to aid Mandarin learning, it's because Hanyu Pinyin is already taught and our curriculum does not see a need to learn one more
if you are referring to why they are not teaching IPA to aid English learning, it's because Singapore treats English as one of our "native" language and supports natural learning from childhood as opposed to countries that treats English as a "foreign" language or "3rd" language and utilizes IPA only as a "tool" to aid in the teaching of the English language
tong tong shuddup lah
Si buay cheem..![]()