any prc girls here pls answer
Originally posted by Vanilla cake:any prc girls here pls answer
you are funny. ask them they also dunno. what is more, they typed in chinese, u understand chinese characters meh?
Actually did u guys been to china? I have been to china such as chengdu, chongqi . It is 4 times bigger than singapore. At first my impression of china is like so so dun really think they are very modern, but when i got off from plane, i was surprise, the housing and infrusture is building up like crazy and lot of audi A4 and branded cars (although china make lah) but some are "imported"!!!!!, I was heard before in 1986 or 1984 is juz like many farmland but in 15 years to 20 years it quite modern, equal same as wat u see in singapore. I mean chengdu not BEijing or shanghai which is very moderness i believe but still rual area still have alot in off captial area lah.
I think if singapore din really progress much in no time we be overtake by them and not only china maybe india(from wat i see still abit lag as i visited it like 2005 before). Im not pro chinese or wat but juz some observation i encounter. Btw Im working in multi-national company so get to see pple from philipine, mymmar, prc, India so on
yes, China is like so awesome right now on the surface but when US and Europe crash, they'll crash too and the communists will fall............
fark the US and Europe lar knn. in 1997 they blamed Asia for the Asian Crisis, what about now?
first its the US who caused almost 3 years of misery to the world and still have not recovered, now the Europe turn knn wtf.
doesn't matter who at fault...............they still control the world's finances............
becoz of fractional banking, it's only a matter of time before all the debts will default...............after hundreds of years of printing/creating money and credit out of thin air................looks like the crash is here...........
years ago, i read an article about there's no more ''free'' money in the world anymore.............there's so much debt in the world that every single dollar out there in the world is actually ''borrowed''.
so banks create money out of thin air to lend to people/companies..............and charge them interest too !
you need to borrow money again just to pay the interest !
the FEB is printing so much of their own money that very soon, they will run out of trees. its no wonder the stock market rises so soon after last year stock market low in march. why? because the market is bombarded with so much liquidity and it doesnt help when the interest rates are so farking low. people and institutions borrowed swathes of money to speculate in everything.
Originally posted by Ranson:Why is everything talking as if China will be the next superpower when it is a thoroughly third world nation with GDP per capita same as African countries?
China is the number 2 economy, china has won many olympic medals.. Yeah China has 1/4 of the world's population that is why. If you put together Europe and America's 1.4 billion people, you will see they have won 100x China's medals and have an economy that is 100 times China's.
China's GDP is only 3.6k USD, lower than many African nations such as Libya, Equitorial Guinea, South Africa etc...
Please, even if we assume America stands still today and stop growing which is impossible, China will take at least 30 years to catch up with America's 15 trillion dollar economy. Even if we assume that Singapore stand still today and stop growing, which is impossible due to inflation etc, China will take at least 50-100 years to catch up with Singapore's 38k USD gdp per capita. By that time we all will be dead.
China still has so much problems - pollution, terribly widespread poverty, their education, legal, medical systems are all in a mess. Their government is a dictatorship. Even the internet is censored and one cannot access youtube or facebook.
China the next superpower? Please stop dreaming. China will have a big economy because it has 1/4 of the world's populace but for the rest of our mortal life, the Chinese will still have a very low standard of living just like the African nations.
They are not even 1/2 as rich as the Libyans and they are about 1/2 as rich as the Thais!
Even in the best scenario, I don't see China overtaking the USA/Singapore in terms of GDP per capita and standard of living within 50 years. And this is the best scenario! For all you know, China might do another "Great leap forward" or "Cultural revolution" or "Tian an men".
Eh..do u live in a hole? Can wake up your bloody idea? China will be a great power, how great..not known yet. Statistic is one thing..seeing it for yourself is another.
Do some China Studies first can?
ok..I'm back to give more information for Ranson..
take a look at the awards that Hong Kong airport had gotten. Is Hong Kong a country?
HAve you been to Shanghai?
Have you watched 2008 Beijing Olympics?
The Rolls-Royce outlet in Beijing is one of the brand's top-selling dealerships. And Bentley Beijing has sold a half-dozen 728 stretch limos -- at $1.2 million each, the world's most expensive car -- more than any other dealership in the world.
China's not a normal country - it's a huge empire, it's like the first world, the second world and the third world co-exist together.
In terms of trade, China is the largest trading nation in the world today
In big cities like Shanghai, first world China and third world China don't just co-exist, they collide.
Car sales in China surged by 45pc last year to 13.6m vehicles, easily eclipsing the 10.5m sold in the US and the growth story has continued this year with first-quarter sales up 63pc on 2009.
Many car customers are still in their 30s and the youngest was just 28 years old, which is very different from what you see with the Rolls-Royce brand in other countries.
For China's very rich, customisation is king. Among the busiest stalls in Beijing were the specialist out-fitting companies such as LongboHummer, who take the world's most vulgar car, stretch it and then vulgarise it still further.
BMW, which already sells twice as many of its top-of-the-range 7-Series
in
China than anywhere else, announced this week it
was raising its 2010 sales target to 120,000 vehicles after seeing
February
sales up 96pc this year. It plans to make 200,000 cars a year in China
by
"The real profits are coming from China," said John Zeng, an auto industry analyst for IHS Global Insight. "China is now very important for global automakers both for profits and sales volume."
In a nutshell, the wealthy people in China are extremely wealthy and the poor are ...well, you know the answer.
Chinese are found in almost every country of the world and immigration invariably brings people from different levels of a society in a particular country into another particular country.
A self-percieved notion due to the number of rich and poor chinese in a particular country would tend to cloud your awareness of this global phenomenon. Put it in simple english: Research before you speak out.
Originally posted by Ranson:
Open the door? Apparently they forgot to open the door to BBC, Blogger, Youtube and every other website in the world.
while, why should they, they give you baidu, 6park, 4parks, China net...etc etc...use them if you know chinese...otherwise, why should we alway still to youtube, yahoo etc etc...this show that you hv yet to open up, and still very much stick to the west..
Originally posted by Vanilla cake:any prc girls here pls answer
sorry prc gals are busy eyeing on uncles' cpf...no time for world news...they dun bother current or history...to them...its good life that counts
Originally posted by Ranson:Why is everything talking as if China will be the next superpower when it is a thoroughly third world nation with GDP per capita same as African countries?
China is the number 2 economy, china has won many olympic medals.. Yeah China has 1/4 of the world's population that is why. If you put together Europe and America's 1.4 billion people, you will see they have won 100x China's medals and have an economy that is 100 times China's.
China's GDP is only 3.6k USD, lower than many African nations such as Libya, Equitorial Guinea, South Africa etc...
Please, even if we assume America stands still today and stop growing which is impossible, China will take at least 30 years to catch up with America's 15 trillion dollar economy. Even if we assume that Singapore stand still today and stop growing, which is impossible due to inflation etc, China will take at least 50-100 years to catch up with Singapore's 38k USD gdp per capita. By that time we all will be dead.
China still has so much problems - pollution, terribly widespread poverty, their education, legal, medical systems are all in a mess. Their government is a dictatorship. Even the internet is censored and one cannot access youtube or facebook.
China the next superpower? Please stop dreaming. China will have a big economy because it has 1/4 of the world's populace but for the rest of our mortal life, the Chinese will still have a very low standard of living just like the African nations.
They are not even 1/2 as rich as the Libyans and they are about 1/2 as rich as the Thais!
Even in the best scenario, I don't see China overtaking the USA/Singapore in terms of GDP per capita and standard of living within 50 years. And this is the best scenario! For all you know, China might do another "Great leap forward" or "Cultural revolution" or "Tian an men".
We just had a group of tourists from China spending over $300k in Sg ![]()
under table money earned in china......
Don't come here spend, you complain.
Come here spend, you also complain.
Best!
Life is full of QQs
They won't really rise. Too much shit factor to consider & will block their way climbing to the top. So many 'Hei Xin' products, so many inhuman happenings, animals torture, language barriers, diseases, bribery, human behaviors & rudeness. Even if they climb a step up, those mini factors will push them back.
Unless they fixed that, they can't rise.
Originally posted by Fallen-Angel:They won't really rise. Too much shit factor to consider & will block their way climbing to the top. So many 'Hei Xin' products, so many inhuman happenings, animals torture, language barriers, diseases, bribery, human behaviors & rudeness. Even if they climb a step up, those mini factors will push them back.
Unless they fixed that, they can't rise.
Every one of those shit factors the Western nations also did during their "rise" as well, way more bloody than anything the Chinese had done so far.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
Every one of those shit factors the Western nations also did during their "rise" as well, way more bloody than anything the Chinese had done so far.
Then you slowly wait & see loh. One factor, any for example, officials bribery cases are more than enough to stop them from rising.