Originally posted by Ranson:
Yes but the possibility of Singapore/Japan/European countries failing is a lot slimmer than China because they have stability and a political system that works, wealth, high standard of living etc.China ranks 53 on the failed state index, under "warning" category.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_Failed_States_Index
I will reply to your posts when you have something reasonable to say. I guess that probably means I won't be replying to your posts.
It's ok. You aren't really worth my time to be serious with you at all. I mean, none of your posts so far were intellectual enough to begin with.
I rather be serious with getting my first mil by 32 yrs old.
Yes but the possibility of Singapore/Japan/European countries failing is a lot slimmer than China because they have stability and a political system that works, wealth, high standard of living etc.China ranks 53 on the failed state index, under "warning" category.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_Failed_States_Index
I will reply to your posts when you have something reasonable to say. I guess that probably means I won't be replying to your posts.
Cut the crap man, why don't you go straight to the point that you could not answer!
Originally posted by Kutter:Cut the crap man, why don't you go straight to the point that you could not answer!
Don't need to bother. Reasons?
1) China is at 57. He mentioned 53.
2) That was 2009's rankings. The current problems that Europe is facing isn't taken into account yet.
3) The Index is published by USA.
Y so srs ? i tot the debate ended ytd night.
i think becoz India smells really bad, that's why the Angmohs choose China.....................LOL
the coconut oil smell can kill........................
Originally posted by As romanista2001:i think becoz India smells really bad, that's why the Angmohs choose China.....................LOL
wah lau eh.... That's damn bad leh ![]()
Originally posted by Ranson:Why is everything talking as if China will be the next superpower when it is a thoroughly third world nation with GDP per capita same as African countries?
Because the west is feeling the pressure.
That's why there is talk of China rising.
The thing that those western states will not tolerate is the rise of an asian power to challenge their dominance in world politics.
Same thing as in Singapore. The british won't tolerate a pro-China regime coming to power in Singapore, that is why they connived with Lee Kuan Yew to destroy the local chinese elite from taking power.
That's why no dialect chinese came to power in Singapore even though the majority is dialect chinese.
Understand or not?
That's why you today are brainwashed to hate mandarin, support english.
The system is designed to strengthen english and weaken mandarin and dialect.
But I don't expect you to understand the above statement.
I know that is beyond your comprehension already.
"In Portugal, the government pays unemployment for as long as 30 months, at 65 percent of original earnings.Spain, whose unemployment rate of 19 percent is the highest in the developed world, pays up to two years of checks at as much as 80 percent of original wages Officials also are taking pot shots at tax officials in Spain, Portugal, Greece and Italy for allowing their nations' tax cheats to create the biggest underground economies in the developed world, costing untold billions in lost tax revenue."
Originally posted by eagle:wah lau eh.... That's damn bad leh
true mah.......................the Angmohs also can't tahan so much curry also.............they scared after they smell like them also............plus all the cows running all over the place slow down transportation of goods...........
some more China closer to hi-end place like Japan mah..................can go Macau to gamble also............also close to S. Korea and Taiwan..............
those Angmohs got do homework.........easier to get mistress in China also mah...................but the clincher was the Peking Duck...............
hokay~
so now it's vote out PAP vs ranson...
wait... or was it ransom?
Originally posted by eagle:"In Portugal, the government pays unemployment for as long as 30 months, at 65 percent of original earnings.Spain, whose unemployment rate of 19 percent is the highest in the developed world, pays up to two years of checks at as much as 80 percent of original wages Officials also are taking pot shots at tax officials in Spain, Portugal, Greece and Italy for allowing their nations' tax cheats to create the biggest underground economies in the developed world, costing untold billions in lost tax revenue."
WAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH......................so good ah...................
Originally posted by Ranson:Why is everything talking as if China will be the next superpower when it is a thoroughly third world nation with GDP per capita same as African countries?
China is the number 2 economy, china has won many olympic medals.. Yeah China has 1/4 of the world's population that is why. If you put together Europe and America's 1.4 billion people, you will see they have won 100x China's medals and have an economy that is 100 times China's.
China's GDP is only 3.6k USD, lower than many African nations such as Libya, Equitorial Guinea, South Africa etc...
Please, even if we assume America stands still today and stop growing which is impossible, China will take at least 30 years to catch up with America's 15 trillion dollar economy. Even if we assume that Singapore stand still today and stop growing, which is impossible due to inflation etc, China will take at least 50-100 years to catch up with Singapore's 38k USD gdp per capita. By that time we all will be dead.
China still has so much problems - pollution, terribly widespread poverty, their education, legal, medical systems are all in a mess. Their government is a dictatorship. Even the internet is censored and one cannot access youtube or facebook.
China the next superpower? Please stop dreaming. China will have a big economy because it has 1/4 of the world's populace but for the rest of our mortal life, the Chinese will still have a very low standard of living just like the African nations.
They are not even 1/2 as rich as the Libyans and they are about 1/2 as rich as the Thais!
Even in the best scenario, I don't see China overtaking the USA/Singapore in terms of GDP per capita and standard of living within 50 years. And this is the best scenario! For all you know, China might do another "Great leap forward" or "Cultural revolution" or "Tian an men".
Why is everything talking as if China will be the next
superpower when it is a thoroughly third world nation with GDP per
capita same as African countries?
Yes. It is becoming. Probably in 10-20 years time. They have a large population, and have higher buying power as they become richer.
China is the number 2 economy, china has won many olympic medals.. Yeah China has 1/4 of the world's population that is why. If you put together Europe and America's 1.4 billion people, you will see they have won 100x China's medals and have an economy that is 100 times China's.
China's GDP is only 3.6k USD, lower than many African nations such as Libya, Equitorial Guinea, South Africa etc...
Please, even if we assume America stands still today and
stop growing which is impossible, China will take at least 30
years to catch up with America's 15 trillion dollar economy. Even
if we assume that Singapore stand still today and stop growing,
which is impossible due to inflation etc, China will take at least
50-100 years to catch up with Singapore's 38k USD gdp per capita.
By that time we all will be dead.
Please. In 1965, Singapore was nothing also. But today we are a modern city, maybe on the decline though.
China still has so much problems - pollution, terribly
widespread poverty, their education, legal, medical systems are all
in a mess. Their government is a dictatorship. Even the internet is
censored and one cannot access youtube or facebook.
Are you sure only China has it? Even superpowers have these problems too, beggars begging on the streets of New York, for example, is nothing strange, and US is a superpower.
Dictatorship does not mean its bad. And since when is China a dictatorship? Who is the ultimate leader dictating it? How come I dunno.
Internet censorship OK what. You try accessing some sites in Singapore, you also cant go in. Blocked by MDA.
China the next superpower? Please stop dreaming. China will have a big economy because it has 1/4 of the world's populace but for the rest of our mortal life, the Chinese will still have a very low standard of living just like the African nations.
They are not even 1/2 as rich as the Libyans and they are about 1/2 as rich as the Thais!
Even in the best scenario, I don't see China overtaking the USA/Singapore in terms of GDP per capita and standard of living within 50 years. And this is the best scenario! For all you know, China might do another "Great leap forward" or "Cultural revolution" or "Tian an men".
Originally posted by Junyang700:Why is everything talking as if China will be the next superpower when it is a thoroughly third world nation with GDP per capita same as African countries?
Yes. It is becoming. Probably in 10-20 years time. They have a large population, and have higher buying power as they become richer.China is the number 2 economy, china has won many olympic medals.. Yeah China has 1/4 of the world's population that is why. If you put together Europe and America's 1.4 billion people, you will see they have won 100x China's medals and have an economy that is 100 times China's.
Please, even if we assume America stands still today and stop growing which is impossible, China will take at least 30 years to catch up with America's 15 trillion dollar economy. Even if we assume that Singapore stand still today and stop growing, which is impossible due to inflation etc, China will take at least 50-100 years to catch up with Singapore's 38k USD gdp per capita. By that time we all will be dead.
Please. In 1965, Singapore was nothing also. But today we are a modern city, maybe on the decline though.China still has so much problems - pollution, terribly widespread poverty, their education, legal, medical systems are all in a mess. Their government is a dictatorship. Even the internet is censored and one cannot access youtube or facebook.
Are you sure only China has it? Even superpowers have these problems too, beggars begging on the streets of New York, for example, is nothing strange, and US is a superpower.
Dictatorship does not mean its bad. And since when is China a dictatorship? Who is the ultimate leader dictating it? How come I dunno.
Internet censorship OK what. You try accessing some sites in Singapore, you also cant go in. Blocked by MDA.China the next superpower? Please stop dreaming. China will have a big economy because it has 1/4 of the world's populace but for the rest of our mortal life, the Chinese will still have a very low standard of living just like the African nations.
Wow you actually spent time reading his one-sided rubbish!
Aiya TS has his head firmly stuck in his ass....our attempts to pull his head out has PHAILED.
But in my opinion, he can stick his head up there all he wants, I'm sure it's just a defensive reflex on his part to avoid the all comsuming shame that will overcome him when he sees the truth.
Originally posted by Vote PAP OUT to Save SG:Because the west is feeling the pressure.
That's why there is talk of China rising.
The thing that those western states will not tolerate is the rise of an asian power to challenge their dominance in world politics.
Same thing as in Singapore. The british won't tolerate a pro-China regime coming to power in Singapore, that is why they connived with Lee Kuan Yew to destroy the local chinese elite from taking power.
That's why no dialect chinese came to power in Singapore even though the majority is dialect chinese.
Understand or not?
That's why you today are brainwashed to hate mandarin, support english.
The system is designed to strengthen english and weaken mandarin and dialect.
But I don't expect you to understand the above statement.
I know that is beyond your comprehension already.
The west are not feeling the pressure, westerners dun take pressure, they can live with it, that is why they are alway merrily living with their lifes and careless what those yellow skin is doing in china. And by the way, it is the west that woke up China, during the communist period, the west had alway wanted China to open its door and be more demorcratic in its approach, they even send spies into the young chinese mind to revolt against their govt, 1989 Tianamen is an event that prised open the door of China to the outside world, afterwards, there will be no return.
" SInce our youngs are exposed to the western influence, i see no use in closing our door anymore, I just hope that the west don't get regret over it and force us to close again" Premier Deng Xiao Peng 1990
Originally posted by eagle:"In Portugal, the government pays unemployment for as long as 30 months, at 65 percent of original earnings.Spain, whose unemployment rate of 19 percent is the highest in the developed world, pays up to two years of checks at as much as 80 percent of original wages Officials also are taking pot shots at tax officials in Spain, Portugal, Greece and Italy for allowing their nations' tax cheats to create the biggest underground economies in the developed world, costing untold billions in lost tax revenue."
Portugal, Italy, Greece and Spain are nick named as PIGS, today they are suffering, if anyone of them collapse, the rest will follow, these stupid Pigs have yet to learn their lesson. They use to live by collecting money from the countries they colonised in the 19th Century, but as time goes by, their colonies become independent one by one, eg Macau, Philipine etc etc... their reserve will run out sooner or later. Being inflexible in their social/welfare benefits, by which any reduction can lead to killing of their president, they are just digging their own graveyards.
Originally posted by angel7030:
And by the way, it is the west that woke up China, during the communist period, the west had alway wanted China to open its door and be more demorcratic in its approach, they even send spies into the young chinese mind to revolt against their govt, 1989 Tianamen is an event that prised open the door of China to the outside world, afterwards, there will be no return." SInce our youngs are exposed to the western influence, i see no use in closing our door anymore, I just hope that the west don't get regret over it and force us to close again" Premier Deng Xiao Peng 1990
Open the door? Apparently they forgot to open the door to BBC, Blogger, Youtube and every other website in the world.
Originally posted by eagle:It's ok. You aren't really worth my time to be serious with you at all. I mean, none of your posts so far were intellectual enough to begin with.
I rather be serious with getting my first mil by 32 yrs old.
Try making enough to buy your own school uniforms first. This forum is filled with stupid kaka kids.
Your pathetic attempt makes me laugh.
Try again and try harder.
By replying to my post, I guess you meant I was reasonable to say your posts weren't intellectual enough to begin with. ![]()
It is true, GDP per capita is low compared to other developed countries, but you must also remember that the total Gross Domestic Product of China carries more weight. GDP per capita is mostly just indicative of the standard of living, or the average amount of goods and services each citizen in China can enjoy. And China, having about 3 times the population compared to USA, is bound to have a lower GDP per capita.
Do remember that economic prowess is not just measured by GDP, we also look at the rate of economic growth. USA's average of about 3% growth is nothing compared to China's RATE of about 8-10% thereabouts. (Rough figures, note China grew by 13.4% back in 1994.)
It is naive to speak of China as a third world nation especially if it's economy can expand at such a rate, although Chinese mainlanders may adopt that view out of humility. The big hoo hah about China? Potential market. In the past, no one wanted to give a damn because of the lack of spending power the people had. Now you're talking about a billion people, most of which have the financial ability to buy goods and services, as well as having propensities to consume similar to their western counterparts. This is especially prevalent in city areas such as Guangzhou, and even higher tier cities such as Beijing and Shanghai.
The main limitation that China faces? Its immense population size. The government's hands can only extend so long, it takes considerable time and manpower to make sure everything is functioning well in such a large country as China.
Have you seen the military prowess of both Chinese and American forces? Neither are to be trifled with. And yes, China has a knack for reverse engineering, so their military technology is state-of-the-art, though I'll concede that if they are to truly match up to the United States Armed Forces, it will take some more time and funds.
Let us not forget that our stereotypes of a mainland Chinese being typically a farmer, and an American as being a cool dude in an Abercrombie and Fitch outfit has been reinforced by the media. There ARE Americans living below the poverty line too. All you need to go is to go to Detroit City, and see for yourself. Ghettos, slums etc, are in abundance.
Mind you, as many of the contributors above have mentioned, USA has to thank China for much. Who has been in a trade deficit since the '60s? USA. Who is the world's biggest debtor? USA. Who had to borrow money from China in order to fund ObamaCare, bank bailouts etc? USA.
Meanwhile, China has trillions...no, sorry...TRILLIONS in its foreign reserves. It is an industrialized nation whose energy needs demand a new coal plant to be opened every week. How then can one compare the vibrant growth of mainland China (albeit plagued by social, pollution and healthcare problems, that no industrialized or industrializing nation is spared from), to the persistent mess of political instability, war, disease and hunger that is often experienced by mostly impoverished African nations?
Originally posted by noahnoah:
china china
one thing no country that can
every beat them is
they can talk so loudly in public
dun like that la.
Originally posted by noahnoah:
china china
one thing no country that can
every beat them is
they can talk so loudly in public
Haha... and also 0cm distance queue. They even more kiasu than us. Can experience it when you go to China. They simply push and squeeze in a queue... LOL...
Originally posted by Junyang700:Haha... and also 0cm distance queue. They even more kiasu than us. Can experience it when you go to China. They simply push and squeeze in a queue... LOL...
lol. i will faint if is it true, i think depend where you go la
Sigh. Opinions are opinions, everybody will always differing opinions. That being said, some of the opinions voiced so far have been really really stupid.
People using the united states as a benchmark for a "Successful" nation need to recheck their definition of what successful is. Would you say a nation that has a $4 trillion debt is a successful one? If national debt be a measure of a nations success, then we should all migrate to Greece right now.
China is the superpower to watch gentlemen, in terms of pure economic growth. I lucked out by investing in the Shanghai property market before the government red tape was slapped into action last year =) So lets just say I have reasons more than most to support China's rise.
Go CHINA! make me richer!! bwahahahahaha.