I tried to ask the authorities whether is it necessary for my Filipino helper to vote in this coming Philippines election but none can give me a concrete answer. Her empolyment agency said its not necessary.
However my maid wanted to go to her Embassy to vote but I told her, she doesn't have to vote. I can see that she is quite upset.
I saw this article: There are over 30,000 Filipino registered voters here in Singapore, but after 12 days of voting, only 10% had cast their votes. This low rate is Consul Imperial’s main cause of concern. Polling opened for overseas voters started on April 10, but there are only about 200 voters per day. “We were hoping it would be 800 a day,” he says.
The voting will continue all the way to May 10. Imperial is making every effort for voters to come and vote now, and not wait till the last days. The Embassy has sent to over 400,000 text messages to the over 100,000 mobile numbers owned by Filipinos. “All of them are aware we have elections. We urge them to vote as soon as they can, and not wait till the last few days, when we expect very long lines. Right now, voting only takes five minutes, and you’re done with the process.”
If it is not necessary... I won't let her go!
why not ask her to vote for PAP
you dun let her go, later she gone mad...and burnt your house down, blame who??.
Singaporeans are too strict on maid..i give my two pinoy maids 2 days off every week, and during weekdays, they work from 8am to 5pm only, and they are very happy and more productive, even go back philipines also buy me lots of mangos and perfume, Gucci somemore..as an employers, we must give workers their rights, in return, you will see the good. Maid are also human hor
it's their right to vote
if she wants to vote, let her vote
why don't let her vote?
why the hell are you restricting someone to exercise their basic right as a citizen???
my maid is indo, not filip
Wait your maid take a chopper, and chop your baby's head off.
Originally posted by vivien:I tried to ask the authorities whether is it necessary for my Filipino helper to vote in this coming Philippines election but none can give me a concrete answer. Her empolyment agency said its not necessary.
However my maid wanted to go to her Embassy to vote but I told her, she doesn't have to vote. I can see that she is quite upset.
I saw this article: There are over 30,000 Filipino registered voters here in Singapore, but after 12 days of voting, only 10% had cast their votes. This low rate is Consul Imperial’s main cause of concern. Polling opened for overseas voters started on April 10, but there are only about 200 voters per day. “We were hoping it would be 800 a day,” he says.
The voting will continue all the way to May 10. Imperial is making every effort for voters to come and vote now, and not wait till the last days. The Embassy has sent to over 400,000 text messages to the over 100,000 mobile numbers owned by Filipinos. “All of them are aware we have elections. We urge them to vote as soon as they can, and not wait till the last few days, when we expect very long lines. Right now, voting only takes five minutes, and you’re done with the process.”
you treat your maid like some sort of serf ..... ![]()
Let her have a dignity to vote for her country.
Originally posted by vivien:
It is not necessary but its still their right as a citizen and you are not in a position to restrict them from voting
If there is no ill will between you and your maid, let her go.
If you both are already antagonistic, then it would be better to let her go.
The odds are in favour of letting her go.
Let her go, its good for you.
Hanor, at least you can go to sleep at ease every night knowing there isn't a chopper around your baby's neck.
Originally posted by vivien:If it is not necessary... I won't let her go!
whether U let her go or not is ur problem....she may work for U but she is still entitled to her basic rights and obligations as a filipino...if anything bad happens...just dun come here and whine.
Originally posted by vivien:I tried to ask the authorities whether is it necessary for my Filipino helper to vote in this coming Philippines election but none can give me a concrete answer. Her empolyment agency said its not necessary.
or have dettol in your coffee.
and chicken soup.
Just let her vote. A few hours off only.
Can you imagine your boss locking you up in the office on your voting day?
Dont blame vivien also...
Because I can understand.......some people used to not voting, and to be apolitical....
So, such thing is considered not important....
vivien lives in a walkover GRC area?![]()
How long viven never voted liao?![]()
How will you vote(vote which party) if your GRC is being contested?![]()
Originally posted by kengkia:vivien lives in a walkover GRC area?
How long viven never voted liao?
How will you vote(vote which party) if your GRC is being contested?
May be viven never vote before.
must be living in lau lee's GRC woh...![]()
too young.
what is it with sg maid employers...let her vote. what goes around comes around...some maids have done horrible things for even smaller slight....
TS kena up,down,left,right,centre....too scared to reply liao...