I think most Singaporeans are not rude on purpose, but are mainly just unaware of their habits.
For example, if your'e driving and put on your signal to change lanes, usually the driver in the other lane behind you will subconsciously accelerate so that you don't have space to fit in. It's not that they're rude, it's just that we're bred to not "lose out", so even letting another car in front of you is perceived as such.
Another example is cutting in front of queues. Most of the time the person is unaware that there are other ppl in line, but instead of taking the initative to ask, they just cut in. This happened to me 3 TIMES when I was in line to receive communion in church!
This type of behaviour can be corrected, but there must be a drive for people to start behaving more gracious before the behaviour becomes the norm.
I find Singaporeans are friendly if given the chance, such as initiating a conversation in a lift or something. However, our competitive environment just makes it difficult to be naturally gracious.
well Singaporeans should cut down on their working hours and go overseas to relax more, they too petty and narrow minded
Their fast-paced hectic lifestyle and long working hours make them hot-tempered and too stressed up to mince their manners
to be truthful we are not different from other countries
i think the australians should take a look at themselves and get out of their chair and go on a trip
Even I as a Singaporean, think we are rude
During my stint in Australia, it was paradise and the people there are so amiable but when i returned to Singapore i told myself "Sigh..back to hell again"
)
Which countries has no rude people? The aussie writer should reflect on her own people. Most are racist inside them. Just that they refuse to admit it publicly. They are rude to most Asian staying in Aust. Look what happens to the Indian students who got bashed or killed by those white aussie? I, myself, had my fair share of racist treatment from those aussies. So really. the writer should examine her own before commenting on others. As for Paul Stapleton, please go back to where you come from. Since you are so unhappy here in S'pore. why stay??
every country has a rude in them la.... last time, ppl said KL in msia is the rudest ppl on earth.. rmember?? but when im at there, it seems normal. like everyday lifestyle... nth much. some are rude, some are gentle. juz like sporeans. And as for those aussies geeks, some part of them are rasicts.... but we din say ALL of them are rude. besides, these rasicts rumors i tink we juz keep it within us... we din spread to their country (i tink ah). i rly pity these aussies to b trapped in a well. wat a way to embarrass the caucasians...
when in taiwan, i am a very nice gal likened by many...when i am in Singapore, i need to act rude inorder to get likened..that tell you alots of story.
Yes. Singaporeans are rude. I am a Singaporean and am ashamed to admit that. But I believe it's because our society is like this because of the need to protect ourselves.
With so many people crowding around each of us, we need to stand up to 'fight' for our own right as no one will 'fight' for you. This is what we have been brought up to believe.
Moreover, with the population now rapidly increasing (tru unnatural means of flooding of FTs), we are more pressurized to protect our own rights for everything. Now, even space in the MRT, malls, foodcourts, hawker centers, parks, pools etc, we have to fight for our own space and right to be in a place.
Isn't it sad ?
Originally posted by celia_sg:Yes. Singaporeans are rude. I am a Singaporean and am ashamed to admit that. But I believe it's because our society is like this because of the need to protect ourselves.
With so many people crowding around each of us, we need to stand up to 'fight' for our own right as no one will 'fight' for you. This is what we have been brought up to believe.
Moreover, with the population now rapidly increasing (tru unnatural means of flooding of FTs), we are more pressurized to protect our own rights for everything. Now, even space in the MRT, malls, foodcourts, hawker centers, parks, pools etc, we have to fight for our own space and right to be in a place.
Isn't it sad ?
Yes however I feel Singaporeans are this way due to the close proximity to each other.
In general chinese are competitive and showy. LV bags are a status symbol.... u must own a lolac gold watch to show u r rich... u must drive a marsaidi benzi to be successful.
If you have no deglee u r a failure. In life u must be loctor, loyer, arcountain, banger, or what sai lol.
My bf must drive car.... i cannot take public transport....
All these... to the chinese...face is very important.
The whites dun value this that much. They don't really care what you drive.... where you stay... or what you do.
You can be a clerk they still treat you as an equal... you can drive a marsaidi benzi.... if u do something wrong they point it out to u.
They know their rights and stand up for it rich or poor.
Different culture lar.... they not so want face.... chinese in general want face alot de....
Even in China people in Beijing and Shanghai look down on each other.
And the china chinese are fiercely proud of their own country.
Same in Sg lor......all want face.
Face worth how much some of them say..... how many walk the talk lol.
Kind Regards
Genie
I did not read all the post, but imo, all countries are the same lah.
Just like my colleague, said other colleagues no good, bad attitude, no experience, etcc.....but my colleague never think that he also like that.
Originally posted by No_10_Tomas:well Singaporeans should cut down on their working hours and go overseas to relax more, they too petty and narrow minded
Their fast-paced hectic lifestyle and long working hours make them hot-tempered and too stressed up to mince their manners
you cannot blame singaporeans, the society make them that way, it all voice down the one who created such society that demand constant working and top stressing work??
what's this thread title again?
'Singaporeans - nudest people on earth'?
many of the 'rude' sporeans might be the FTS and PeeArse sitting beside you and me
We are rude. I admit. But the foreigners and FTs here make us look very polite.
The reason is because Singapore lacks a rural hinterland.
Usually, people from rural areas and small towns would be better in graciousness and friendliness, because, in those situations, they are still able to forge relatively close social relationships.
Since Singapore is 99% urban area (with the exception of small outlaying islands) , this means that the average person spends most of his / her time in a super dense, super cramped, environments, and in highly transactional relationships, and there is no strong social bond or glue.
Other countries such as Australia, I agree can have more friendliness and graciousness among its people. This is because they still have lots of small towns and rural areas.
here very competitive. its good to see one as himself or herself. even people who are gracious outfront can backstab you any moment. what they thinking behind that smile and courtesy behind the brain no one knows what's brewing or cooking.
see TS post about driving and church. oif course lah here car expensive, maintening cars even more expensive, getting an afforable pfaking space even more asspensive. worse off no faking speace later. church. even in churches...no surprise lah see their acount books even more super
Do u understand wat i'm trying to say. australians are the most racist people in the world. Hence I iriterate
- WHEN ANG MO RUN TO LIFT, PURPOSELY CLOSE IT B4 THEY CAN ENTER
- DON'T HOLD DOORS OPEN FOR ANG MO. RATHER SLAM IT SHUT IN THEIR FACES.
- WHEN ANG MO LINE UP IN FRONT OF U AT A MIX RICE STALL, BARK OUT YOUR ORDER 1ST BEFORE HE HAS CHANCE TO ORDER.
- IF ANG MO SCOLDS U, SAY "GET LOST" OR "GO TO HELL"
- AT THE BUS, PUSH ANG MOS TO ONE SIDE WHEN ENTERING. But if u see a malay or indian, patiently let them go up first.
THESE pointers will make u a true-blue Singaporean.
Originally posted by Junyang700:Some foreign workers in the city have few kind words about Singaporeans' manners. "They are the rudest f---ing people I have ever seen; they need some basic training in civic awareness," said Paul Stapleton, an IT manager from Sydney. "They don't feel that anyone else exists outside this tiny island."
"The problem is the sole concern of most Singaporeans is money and economic wellbeing," a long-time British resident says. "The only reason the churches here are packed to the rafters is because people attend in order to network."
+100000000000000
WTF! Why all are saying China ppl are the rudest? Majority of Singapore also China ppl wot! What is the difference?
Originally posted by _WTF_:WTF! Why all are saying China ppl are the rudest? Majority of Singapore also China ppl wot! What is the difference?
WTF? What grade are you in little boy?
China is a country. If you say that majority of Singaporeans are China people, the would bloody mean that this is an invasion.
The bloody difference is we are Singaporean by nationality they are Chinese by nationality. Geddit?
Originally posted by Deino:WTF? What grade are you in little boy?
China is a country. If you say that majority of Singaporeans are China people, the would bloody mean that this is an invasion.
The bloody difference is we are Singaporean by nationality they are Chinese by nationality. Geddit?
Actually i think most chinese Singaporean's roots traces back to China....
Anyway think that how "rude" a person is is depends on him/herself and we shouldn't judge one through nationality.I have seen some really kind locals/foreigners as well as the "not-so-kind" ones in Singapore.Just my 2cents =)
Ya, humans should live in jungles too because roots can be traced back to monkeys. Its a competitive society in singapore, no choice
Originally posted by ITs'ME:Actually i think most chinese Singaporean's roots traces back to China....
Anyway think that how "rude" a person is is depends on him/herself and we shouldn't judge one through nationality.I have seen some really kind locals/foreigners as well as the "not-so-kind" ones in Singapore.Just my 2cents =)
Thats like a duh..Ofcourse most Chinese here came from China. Where else would they come from? India? LOL
Its true that prejudice is a bitch. How some Singaporeans says Chinese people speak loudly, they same people fails to see that they're doing the same. But generally speaking most China FTs i encounter are quite rude really. Its like their culture or something. This is not to say that I've never met any polite Chinese people. Like I said, prejudice is a bitch.
Deino
What is the big difference between the terms China ppl and Chinese ppl? I thought your NRIC says you are "Chinese". Doesnt it mean China origin? PRC national means nationals of PRC irrespective of race. You dont become Ang Mo by being born in Singapore and speaking Chinglish. For generations to come, the NRIC will say race = Chinese. And stop criticising PRC nationals. There are some Singapore nationals behaving worse than them.
Originally posted by Bhw33:Do u understand wat i'm trying to say. australians are the most racist people in the world. Hence I iriterate
- WHEN ANG MO RUN TO LIFT, PURPOSELY CLOSE IT B4 THEY CAN ENTER
- DON'T HOLD DOORS OPEN FOR ANG MO. RATHER SLAM IT SHUT IN THEIR FACES.
- WHEN ANG MO LINE UP IN FRONT OF U AT A MIX RICE STALL, BARK OUT YOUR ORDER 1ST BEFORE HE HAS CHANCE TO ORDER.
- IF ANG MO SCOLDS U, SAY "GET LOST" OR "GO TO HELL"
- AT THE BUS, PUSH ANG MOS TO ONE SIDE WHEN ENTERING. But if u see a malay or indian, patiently let them go up first.
THESE pointers will make u a true-blue Singaporean.
another well thought out, reasonable post from forums poster bhw33