It is probably being a new comer to Singapore, but I noticed people do not make eye contact, nor respond to my attempts to make eye contact.
Being an Israeli, it's more "in my face" then if I was from Europe (for instance), but even so, it seems curious to me.
I guess it comes from reasons of politeness, personal space, and appropriateness reasons. I still see it as limiting - sometimes, people want to connect - even in those places.
Opinions?
today most of people go for lasik, no more wearing contact lenses.
I have hidden my wires in fear of tripping people over in trains and public transport thats why I don't connect anymore...
it's just ur imagination Agent Mulder...
The aliens captured u... and implanted a chip in ur brain and sent u back... It's all a hallucination...
U must understand... wat happened to Dana Scully wasn't your fault...
oh sorry, eye contact hor..////....it is not the people dun want to look at each other eyes, most of the time, when i met up with guys, they will look at our chest, and also, as you known, singapore is a rich country, most walk looking down, hoping to pick up some coins and flying dollars...see your eyes for what?? also no money
Originally posted by Fox_Mulder:It is probably being a new comer to Singapore, but I noticed people do not make eye contact, nor respond to my attempts to make eye contact.
too much eyes contact.... (no good)... you may end up like...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:it's just ur imagination Agent Mulder...
The aliens captured u... and implanted a chip in ur brain and sent u back... It's all a hallucination...
U must understand... wat happened to Dana Scully wasn't your fault...
mmm.. I don't dwell on things in the past.
and Life is an hallucination ;) you just need to decide how to take it, no?
Originally posted by angel7030:oh sorry, eye contact hor..////....it is not the people dun want to look at each other eyes, most of the time, when i met up with guys, they will look at our chest, and also, as you known, singapore is a rich country, most walk looking down, hoping to pick up some coins and flying dollars...see your eyes for what?? also no money
but looking down will give u unexpected rewards! like i picked up phones,$$, credit card(though useless), ezlink card..it's great u know?personal satisfaction... ![]()
Originally posted by angel7030:oh sorry, eye contact hor..////....it is not the people dun want to look at each other eyes, most of the time, when i met up with guys, they will look at our chest, and also, as you known, singapore is a rich country, most walk looking down, hoping to pick up some coins and flying dollars...see your eyes for what?? also no money
hahaha..typical seng kar por lang
Mulder,
what is the big deal.....i dun understand...
is it considered being polite in ur culture or what?
thanks
Originally posted by Mr Milo:
Mulder,
thanks
thing is, we are considered as antisocial citizens
Eye contact will result in you being beaten up.
Cos you can be mistaken as being trying to pick up a fight here.
Originally posted by Junyang700:Eye contact will result in you being beaten up.
Cos you can be mistaken as being trying to pick up a fight here.
where got like dat one.. eye contact is eye contact. stare is stare leh. lmao
me always make eye contact
tts how i know many ppl looking at me
Originally posted by Fox_Mulder:It is probably being a new comer to Singapore, but I noticed people do not make eye contact, nor respond to my attempts to make eye contact.
Being an Israeli, it's more "in my face" then if I was from Europe (for instance), but even so, it seems curious to me.
I guess it comes from reasons of politeness, personal space, and appropriateness reasons. I still see it as limiting - sometimes, people want to connect - even in those places.
Opinions?
How's your neighbour? ![]()
Eye contact with a corner look means not happy.
Eye contact with a smile means happy.
Originally posted by Mr Milo:
Mulder,
thanks
It's not impolite in my culture. It's simply normal. Not just the eye-contact, but even starting a conversation, and picking up girls on a bus or train is not unheard of, nor is it of a lesser behavior.
I know about the whole personal space thing existing in Singapore as in Japan. But I feel it keeps people apart, and not helping to bring them together. Like in New York City - where a man might collapse in the middle of the street and be ignored.
i only eye contact to one type of ppl
chio bu
eye contact, eye contact... ![]()
the eyes roll until beri tired wor... ![]()
有冤报冤,有仇报仇. 血债血还.
I normally too busy reading my lecture notes during transport journeys to make eye contact...
Most singaporean see people with red eyes, better don't look at them or each other in the eyes
use eyes and contact wad???
Originally posted by _Da_Dood_:use eyes and contact wad???
Eye Contact - as in look someone in the eye and that person would also look you in the eye (and not avoid/avert his/her look)
hmm
that seeing a chio bu ?
then u eye contact
but hor muz see her bf there or not
ltr gt trouble ur eye gone