I am going camping with my friends in Pulau Ubin next week. We are going fishing and catching crabs. I just don't know if we would get caught for starting a fire to cook our food. We are thinking of starting a fire with some dried leaves and branches, you know, like survival cooking.
Well actually i did that many years back liao lor . I went with my friend to go camp at ubin with our newly bought tentage for 6 person . I don't know whether you will be caught anot but i did that when i was camping at a very ulu place near the sea ( without even thinking if we will be caught ) .We start our fire using wax fuel tablet then use the surrounding leaves , twigs and branches whatever can catch fire we use it , including coconut husk and even dried coconut leaves .
Well if you want to play with fire , of cos you must be responsible enough to take precautions my dear . Precautions like not to start your fire near any trees or grass etc . and to camp near a sea so that if a fire goes out of control , at least theres the sea for you to get infinite water to splash on . Well actually if you camp near the sea , you can hear the waves splashing on the shore in the early hrs of the morning ard 5 to 6am .
In case you are a girl or lady ... i do encounter fisherman fishing in the middle of the night and they even came to our camping place saying that this is a very good place for fishing . So do take " more " precaution .
And lastly your cooking utensil will be very black and sticky from the soot generated by the fire due to the stuff you use for fire .
Happy Holidays my friend .

BBQ should be ok... (Small fire right ?)... but make sure you don't.....

burnt the whole island down.... ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:
burnt the whole island down....
LOL....![]()
Thanks, and btw, i'm not starting a fire to play, but to cook our freshly caught fishes and crabs. I think starting a fire on the beach might be a good idea, just don't know if there are a lot of people there, if not will be quite malu, everyone looking at us.
So poor thing, Sinkaporeans living with fear.
YOu better not, I think PAP has sent guards all around Ubin to arrest anyone not behaving according to their standards. hahahahah!
So many people have tried to burn Tekong down during field camp, but failed to do so.![]()
At the Jelutong campsite, there are campfire pits. You can build your fire there.
Originally posted by TWE:
And lastly your cooking utensil will be very black and sticky from the soot generated by the fire due to the stuff you use for fire .
Happy Holidays my friend .
You can use the ash from the cooled fire to scrub your utensils or the sand from the sea.
But please don't use soap when you scrub your pans using the sand and sea water.
Nothing is illegal unless you get caught.
I bring my utensil home to clean , don't worry .
I bring my utensil home to clean , don't worry . And to TS , just a gentle reminder , you have to descale the fish before bbqing hor .
Originally posted by S8f83:I am going camping with my friends in Pulau Ubin next week. We are going fishing and catching crabs. I just don't know if we would get caught for starting a fire to cook our food. We are thinking of starting a fire with some dried leaves and branches, you know, like survival cooking.
Bring a banket - you can do the old indian's smoke signal with it !!!
Give you some tips :
1)don't think you find yourself dry enough wood and leave to start any fire. bring some solid fuel to start it off.
2) dig a swallow hole in the ground , it will protect against wind easier for start fire and safer. After finish just cover back the hole.
join a course and get certified to start camp fires professionally and safely so even if you get caught, then you got cert to prove that you are a professional fire starter and all safety considerations are in place
ie,
1 - camp fire surrounded by ring of rocks so fire cannot accidentally spread
2 - have fire extinguisher as part of your camping supplies
to name a few
if you are female, PM me and i will "teach" you
if you are male, buzz off
Wah PedoBear, I'll buzz off alright. LOL!!!
I really wonder who will carry a fire extinguisher for camping.
No problem one lah
I go there every year to clean my ancestor's tomb, then there will be a lot of dried leaves
Just burn lor, dun burn down any house can already. The huge amount of smoke from the leaves will keep the mosquitoes away too
Take a few more 'dried' twigs to help start the fire, or dried coconuts or bring a few newspapers, they come in handy![]()
Just be careful with the fire and excerise with care and responsibility. Put out the fire when done, and clean up the area, if pple complain and govt issue no fire allow, everybody will not have any chance to make a fire anymore.
Originally posted by likeyou:Just be careful with the fire and excerise with care and responsibility. Put out the fire when done, and clean up the area, if pple complain and govt issue no fire allow, everybody will not have any chance to make a fire anymore.
Yes - I agree with likeyou.
Please be mindful of camping etiquette if you are a new camper.
Once I saw a big group of students come to the campsite area about 3-4 am. Not only did they flash their torchlights into our tents, and spoke in loud voices despite the timing and the presence of other campers around - they left heaps of rubbish in the area (and we knew it was them cos before they came, we did area cleaning to clear up the rubbish first.)
Originally posted by ShrodingersCat:Yes - I agree with likeyou.
Please be mindful of camping etiquette if you are a new camper.
Once I saw a big group of students come to the campsite area about 3-4 am. Not only did they flash their torchlights into our tents, and spoke in loud voices despite the timing and the presence of other campers around - they left heaps of rubbish in the area (and we knew it was them cos before they came, we did area cleaning to clear up the rubbish first.)
Agreed with you also.
Govt got eye and ear, they keep quite as there are not incidents or complain. They just closed one eye and let everybody enjoy the camping and camp fire.
Be responsibility for your act.
Be careful you don't help the human traffickers from Johor.

for precaution sake... i have informed the....

and.....

(Hopefully not)....
and....

and...

Don't be too alarmed..... enjoy your campfire !!! ![]()
Originally posted by TWE:I really wonder who will carry a fire extinguisher for camping.