1) At a bedok branch, just after I order a sausage muffin with egg, a customer returned another sausage muffin with egg to the staff whom I just ordered to. I saw the staff go to the take-order area and pretended to take a "new" sausage muffin with egg. I saw the improperly packed wrapper and asked him if this is the one the customer just returned. He hesitantly admitted and told me "still can eat"......
2) At a Orchard branch (plus many other branches do this), when I order iced milo, they just gave me the one they left on the drinks area for several minutes. Once, when I ordered a medium size one to avoid the regular size milo they left on the shelf and guess what they did? They pour the regular size milo into a medium cup and top up some more milo.
I thought all fastfood outlet's procedure is to throw away returned/rejected food items. Is McDonalds so cash-strapped now that they "recycle" food items?
Sure, I'm not being fussy and technically I can even eat the half-eaten burger left on other customer's tables as long as it is not poisoned and free-of-charge. But clearly this is an issue of ethnics! I paid full price and therefore I deserve fresh food.
PS: And this is not an issue with high class or low class food. Even low class food should have ethnics.
I don't know what level of ethics should be recieved from 14 year old part timers, getting $3.50 by the hour.
Take down their names and make a complain to mcdonald.
Yes, I heard that any food that is out of the counter will have to be throw away.
Every where is cutting cost and so is the Big M and BK.
So, if you are not happy with the place, you just have to eat at some other place.
There is no point complaining as none of them will bother to improve it.
Originally posted by ditzy:I don't know what level of ethics should be recieved from 14 year old part timers, getting $3.50 by the hour.
I knew ditzy will reply and I already expected some sarcastic remarks from ditzy.
Personally, I believe ethnics should have no boundaries.... beyond age, beyond social class, beyond salary levels.
In the 1990s, fastfood staff will automatically throw away rejected/returned food items and re-present customers with fresh ones. I see no reason why it is not practised today.
Something is very wrong with McDonalds as these unethnical practices are prevailing in many outlets. The company needs to educate their staffs.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Every where is cutting cost and so is the Big M and BK.
So, if you are not happy with the place, you just have to eat at some other place.
There is no point complaining as none of them will bother to improve it.
Yes, I even got "recycled" fries from Burger King.
The staff just took my old fries and re-fried it when I feedbacked the fries is cold & stale.
Either the companies need to educate their staff or something is very wrong morally with our younger generation.
Before young teens being employed, their floor manager already tell them what and what not to do...etc...
So, by returning back the same food that a customers return is a no no. practise.
Originally posted by likeyou:Before young teens being employed, their floor manager already tell them what and what not to do...etc...
So, by returning back the same food that a customers return is a no no. practise.
So, this is a moral issue with our younger generation?
Before they serve food to customers, then they need to ask themselves, will they also serve the same food to their mothers?
gt one time
i order McChicken
wala0
they give mi McChicken with no veg one
wth?
Originally posted by Bus&Soccer l0v3r (VO3x 1):gt one time
i order McChicken
wala0
they give mi McChicken with no veg one
wth?
Once I got filet-o-fish without cheese 2 times even after I feedbacked to them. On the 3rd time when I feedbacked, the manager (indian guy) just opened the box with his bare hands infront of me and flipped open the buns with his bare hands to check whether there is a slice of cheese.
I was like, "hey, did you wash your hands????"
Originally posted by cyberr1981:So, this is a moral issue with our younger generation?
Before they serve food to customers, then they need to ask themselves, will they also serve the same food to their mothers?
No somehow, the teens might get the wrong instructions from their seniors staff or floor managers. Nothing to do with the younger generation moral issue.
I think the reason lies in our mindset
I believe younger generation like me tend to find shortcut, and think based on the theory of 'nothing is illegal until u get caught'
If im working in mcdonalds, I know it is wrong to do so, or not morally upright to be exact.
But as long as the end product looks like it's fresh, i dun care, i want to finish the job asap and go home
Because it's not their passion to work in a fast food restuarant, or they are like me, lack the responsibility, or dun give a shit about people
Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:I think the reason lies in our mindset
I believe younger generation like me tend to find shortcut, and think based on the theory of 'nothing is illegal until u get caught'
If im working in mcdonalds, I know it is wrong to do so, or not morally upright to be exact.
But as long as the end product looks like it's fresh, i dun care, i want to finish the job asap and go homeBecause it's not their passion to work in a fast food restuarant, or they are like me, lack the responsibility, or dun give a shit about people
Then you all need to ask yourselves, will you also serve the same food to your own mother?
Originally posted by cyberr1981:Then you all need to ask yourselves, will you also serve the same food to your own mother?
To me, as long as it's clean, i will.
Then you will ask me how do i know it's clean? I will say i dun know.
Then you will ask me how would i feel if someone serve that food to me. I will say, of cos it's not good if it happens to me, but then again, im doing it to others.
anyway, for myself, if im serving it to my mother, i will of cos make a better one, if i am in the mood, but im not now.
We know wad is expected, but just that the mind doens't really care now.
Maybe it's because we are taught to earn money, with out really think about others.
It's a weird issue.
Its Ethics, not ethnic (ethnic group??)
Anyway, you can just say I want a new burger, not the reused one. If he refuses, call the manager. Simple!
aiyah...........now all the fast food restaurants trying to save money like crazy lah.............
last time McDonald's used to throw away burgers that are left on shelevs after a few minutes.................now you'll be lucky if they don't give you a stone-cold burger.............
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:aiyah...........now all the fast food restaurants trying to save money like crazy lah.............
last time McDonald's used to throw away burgers that are left on shelevs after a few minutes.................now you'll be lucky if they don't give you a stone-cold burger.............
all fastfood restaurants save money for what? their food is already very low cost.
Dun 4get ... Tests have shown that MacDonalds burger can last for 4 weeks.... So the burger was prepared today. Sure can eat de!
Originally posted by cyberr1981:all fastfood restaurants save money for what? their food is already very low cost.
they save more money so they can give it to charity mah..................
they very good-hearted one...........they don't give the profits to the bosses..............they give to charity..........
ethic =/= ethics......
i've never eaten fast food for years liao...............they taste much much worse than many years ago............
also at that price........go foodcourt far far far better lah...............
first thing, teens these days are very diff from the past alrdy.
cyberr, if point no.1 did happen, note down the name of the staff and the manager on duty. Ask for a receipt as proof. take a pic.
You may write in to MacDonald management and relate what had happened.
Returned food are not supposed to be served (by food safety standard). They are considered as contaminated as it has been passed via another person's (customer) hands. You have the rights to question them.
Hope this helps.
Originally posted by likeyou:Take down their names and make a complain to mcdonald.
Yes, I heard that any food that is out of the counter will have to be throw away.
yes, returned food must be discarded accordingly to their SOP.