Originally posted by tranquilice:Time has changed, now the younger Singaporean Chinese parents talk to their children in English.
I think some years later, the PRC-turned-Singaporean parents will be the only one talking to their children in Mandarin.
And these parents failed in their english.... its more of singlish.... LOL...
My Dad speaks Singapore Hokkien
My grandma, a taiwanese, speak Mingnan
My brother speaks computer language
and me, I speaks rubbish
I heard old ppl said, teochew pple very howlian, true or not?
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
well quite true...Remind me of an incident where I saw a fren of mine quarreling with some young punks... my fren was speaking to them in hokkien and they dun even understand...
imagine some ah beng paikia wannabes who dun even speak hokkien...
language barrier.
seriously why must equate ah bengs = hokkien speaking?
should we then include ah lians as sluts who can't speak proper hokkien (not to say even potato english)
Teochew is one of the few Chinese dialects closest to the ancient form of Chinese used dynasties ago. My grandparents from China spoke the purest forms of Teochew before we speak the Singlish form peppered with Malay, English and other languages. If you truly knew your teochew you'd be refering to things how they were called many years ago in China. Our Chinese dialects are the reason why we speak Mandarin the way we do, which in turn affects the way we speak English too, so to our English speaking parents...you may be imparting to your kids more Chinese dialect language structure than you think. So does that mean the whole of Taiwan, Fujian and Shantou are all ah bengs and ah lians?
For those want to brush up their dialects, there is this radio channel that broadcast khek, teochew, etc..fm95.8?? Right?
Originally posted by Clivebenss:language barrier.
seriously why must equate ah bengs = hokkien speaking?
Well, ehh ... ... ... ![]()
Well, ehh ... ... ...
hokkiens sounds loud and rough, so it's the preferred lang if u want to act macho and scare ppl
otherwise, u can use german
Originally posted by FireIce:hokkiens sounds loud and rough, so it's the preferred lang if u want to act macho and scare ppl
otherwise, u can use german
ehhh...
teochew sounds more "rough" from their pronounciation...
teochew eats porridge, hokkien eats rice
teochew howlian, hokkien tua bian
teochew is more sing-song manner
i object.....tamil would hit the billboard chart...lol
speak english is high class
upper middle family speak engrish one
no lah, for typical singapore
speak got money language is high class
speak no money language...no class
Care so much about what to speak for what, if you got money, even indian can speak chinese to you and PRC gals also can speak american english to you, you got no money hor, speak perfect british english also nobody understand
then top middle speak wat?
swahili?
top top speak macedonian
top bottom speak weyto
Originally posted by FireIce:then top middle speak wat?
swahili?
top top speak macedonian
top bottom speak weyto
Habari?
Dialect still very popular in Singapore and Malysia. We should uphold those dialects.
Originally posted by badminton lover:Dialect still very popular in Singapore and Malysia. We should uphold those dialects.
Agree. We should uphold all dialects. As many forumers also pointed above, they have longer history and preserve more original features of the Chinese Language than Mandarin itself.
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Agree. We should uphold all dialects. As many forumers also pointed above, they have longer history and preserve more original features of the Chinese Language than Mandarin itself.
we shld preserve all dialects... It's our heritage and roots...
It wont help ur career much but ppl must learn to "Drink water, thinking abt the source" aka "Yin Sui Shi Yuan"...
Hokkien...
we shld preserve all dialects... It's our heritage and roots...
It wont help ur career much but ppl must learn to "Drink water, thinking abt the source" aka "Yin Sui Shi Yuan"...
very true.
yin shui si yuan