when the sirs and mums go to work, they shd oso be working and not enjoying themselves
so they shd not use hp to chat and no coffee breaks at pantry, ok?
wait till the maids and the other maids have a poolside party...
worse if bagala or abnn joins in...
fwah, jin jialat sia...
maybe they should compromised.
let the maids get into the pool only if she is looking after a kid.
Later the filipino female PR go swim dio called up.. because the pool guard thought she's a maid.
Well this policy should stay.
The condo pool is open for the residents and the resident's visitors. The maid is considered as a worker in the place. And is not a proper resident. She do not pay for the condo maintenance's fees. Why should the pool be opened for the maid?
Well they can always designate certain timings for maids to swim, so that they don't abuse their work time.
I see nothing wrong with maids using the pool.
Some employees get corporate gym membership or spa usage, why not maids? ![]()
maids can swim oni under supervision of their mums
(sirs not allowed)
if the maid can swim in the pool. Then they will be ask to bring the children to the pool by themselves. If the children get drown, it becomes the maid's problem for not looking after the children. If I am a maid, I will not want to take more responsibility.
A lot of things are more complicated than it seems.
"if we allow al lthe maids to swim in the pools at the various condos, it will be swarmped and over-utilised."
What a lame excuse!!
But this comment from Francis Zhan really takes the cake. "maids are here to work and not to enjoy themselves". Maids not human being meh? They cannot have exercise?? I pity anyone who works as his maid, if he can afford one. :)
A poll of 100 condo residents was done by The New Paper and it revealed that 63% of the residents felt that that policy was unfair. This sums it up.
The maids are there as workers....please....have a little bit of common sense.....
They are not there to enjoy themselves, this is correct.
Maybe if you can imagine....
What if...
Let's say....waiters eat the food of the customers.....is this correct ?
So should waiters serve the food of the customers and maintain a professional distance, or should they sit at the table and eat the same food as the customers ?
Maids are workers and they should maintain professionalism.
As a matter of fact, those people who want them to swim or even mention this topic, are rude, insensitive, unprofessional, and condesdending.
Please respect them as human beings.
They do not need your charity.
They do not need your graciousness to allow them to go swimming.
Most of them dont want to swim in the first place and understand how to be professional.
This pushing and fake generosity is sickening and condescending.
i think the maids also don wan to swim la...... they rather sleep or rest than go swim.....
Swimming is small issue.
I think they want more pay.
how ''gracious'' a society S'pore truly is......................
maids should be allowed to be in pool................especially if they're sexy and wear thong bikinis.................
if i'm condo management.............i let them sunbathe in the nude too..............
wait till they forbid a rich Filipina in the pool by mistake...................
depends on individual la.....if you treat your maid like family, you might allow her to swim. If you think she's just a slave, then of course not. There's no such rule like just because they're here to work, they shouldn't enjoy themselves.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:depends on individual la.....if you treat your maid like family, you might allow her to swim. If you think she's just a slave, then of course not. There's no such rule like just because they're here to work, they shouldn't enjoy themselves.
the fact is many $inkaporeans treat their maid WORSE THAN SLAVES!!!!!!
悲哀........
if i were a maid...............i'll go in the middle of the night and swim nude................
the security guards sure let me swim one...........
Originally posted by Ä«Õß:¸ïÀë:the fact is many $inkaporeans treat their maid WORSE THAN SLAVES!!!!!!
悲哀........
i agree... its sad we treat maids this way...
maids usually no breaks or holidays, paid peanuts, get abused, get look down in lucky plaza, cannot have babies, now cannot swim.. i didnt know abt this rule..
no wonder many maids like working elsewhere except SG
Wow.....amazing....
Now "cannot swim" is added to the list of the supposed "mistreatment" of maids.
Amazing....
So...what about those security guards at the condos.....should they swim there also ?
Hey...dont say condo security guards should not swim....this is mistreatment and is treating them like slaves....
Or how about golf course attendants.....
Can they play golf there ?
Dont say those attendants cannot play golf.....this is mistreatment, discrimination, and is similar to slave treatment.
Ok ?
:D
Originally posted by Veggie Bao:Wow.....amazing....
Now "cannot swim" is added to the list of the supposed "mistreatment" of maids.
Amazing....I am speechless....
So...what about those security guards at the condos.....should they swim there also ?
Hey...dont say condo security guards should not swim....this is mistreatment and is treating them like slaves....
Or how about golf course attendants.....
Can they play golf there ?
Dont say those attendants cannot play golf.....this is mistreatment, discrimination, and is similar to slave treatment.
Ok ?
:D
not the same what... the golf attendants and security guards work there
but maids? yes they work but they also stay there...
But they stay as workers.
Some workers stay overnight.
They should be respected as workers and as employees.
Anyways,
I believe the original writer wanted the maid to look after her kids.
But I believe the maid can look after the kid from the pool-side.
No need to enter.
Anyways,
Even if she enters, actually it is Ok for me. Because it is part of work.
But the angle from Straits Times and from some readers or comments have widened the issue.
It become discrimination issue.
I believe it is untrue, and is pretentious.
thats why there has been discussions on having life guards at condominiums...
for safety and security, the pool is manned....and at the same time they also help to police behaviours according to the estate regulations....
the quarrels to have or not to have maids will only end up with a great divide in opinions...and legal suits on possible deaths and injury without supervision and pools misused by maids...
some even complain that maids contaminate the pools...which is an inconsiderate and inhuman remark....
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:if i were a maid...............i'll go in the middle of the night and swim nude................
the security guards sure let me swim one...........
Wah, you want to become the next PRC hostess to drown nude in the pool,ah?
Sooner or later, we will become the maids and gardeners and they will become condo owners, and we will have to beg them even for a slice of bread.![]()
It's already happening, lots of local uncles are security guards. ![]()
All this propaganda, still trying to show foreigners are the victims, haha, actually locals are being screwed severely.![]()