their culture of america is to invent things from bicycle owners to aircraft inventors.
the asian culture is....................not geared to inventing.though they have invented stuff in the past from china to japan....they were mostly enslaved decimating chances to invent anything.
its different culture....they can all invent but cultures of each prevents that activity.
Originally posted by Hitman 2010:but looking at things closer....u would notice that most are american designed n invented withexception of the other europeans.most are americans who invented them.
americans are also decendents from europe ya, especially those german scientist and europe Jews who went to US after the war are helping US alots. Then the african also helped america alots in sport, entertainment, sex and presidency, but most are useless
Dear TS,
Please tell this to the auditors.
Big 4 auditors ish 24 hrs 7 days per week de~!
Here's a song about auditors: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DrO_iIXNm2U
Have a gd life and a gd time in office :)
Originally posted by Shazamnick:
This is because you are in the rat race in this free market economy. The only way out from this rat race is to learn to make money and get out from the rat race. You are in the stage of "realisation." Go and read books by Robert Kirosaki to break this cycle.
It is very important to realise that the main way to get out of this cycle is not to win the rat race, but rather, not to participate or take the race too seriously in the first place.
For every 1000 people who participate in the rat race, only 1-2 might emerge as the winners who achieve passive income and able to enjoy life. The rest will end up slogging most of their life, trying to get to somewhere but never getting there.
You can achieve happiness right now at this very moment once you realise what you truely want.
Take a min to think this through.
Many people look towards money as their goal, but deep down inside, what they really wanted is not money, but in fact, they want the things that money can buy, or which money can provide for them. Going a step further, what they really wanted is not these things either, they want the feeling of happiness that comes with owning the items.
To put it plainly, what people are pursuing all along is just pure happiness, something which we used to have when we are an innocent child but somehow lost in the mist of growing up.
Originally posted by dreamlander:Nowadays working adults are like zombies, working robots, who work from morning til 7pm-8pm average on weekdays and hardly had time for other stuff when they're back home. On weekends, the activities & appointments are either so piled up that it's like another working day, or it's so relaxing that they think they're wasting their time.
Do we really have to work so hard, so long? Is it worth it? If you know you're going to die soon, will you still do that?
Personally i think we have to appreciate every single moment in our life, practicing mindfullness. We only have around 80 yrs to go before we're expired, is it really necessary to work such long hours for the rest of our lifes? If you take away the long hours you spend studying from primary 1-6, then sec 1-4, JC, Poly, University, then working. How much time or mins of your life are you truely living?
We have all we need - fresh air, water, food. They're not at a high cost. The majority of us work because of our fear of getting sicked, medical cost, insurance, burden and our endless craving of more and more and MORE of those material stuff which we don't really need. You are forever in your journey to reach your "destination" which is forever resetted and you'll be forever on your striving stage. This is sad.
Although i understand the need to contribute to the society and play a part in the economy, i think it's equally important to appreciate life. Our present cycle of work, spend, work, spend is really a waste of time!
Yes, Singapore would not remains the leading economy if we slow down, but we will not DIE. It's up to you to see if you think it's worth it. We'll gain more by having less.
A white paper might appear empty and not as colourful as those colours you see, but did you know that a paper is white because it has every colours?
We ought to stop this endless craving of ours, we're living a demonic life! Innocent child are trained to never had enough of everything. The open market had spin the desires of ppl to the point where it's out of control. People are manipulating people in the management, media. Insurance are eating and fueling the insecurities that people have. People are lost, they work and work and work, but they never seem to be happy. They know something is wrong but they can't identify it, because everyone seems to be doing the same thing! People are committing sucides more often.
A world that is currently built on desires, craving (industrialisation, capitalism, consumerism) is dangerous. They're built on the foundation that people can never truely be satisfied, they have to be always on the mode - "looking for more" in order for the economy to work. They're boosting the demonic factors found in every religions.
It's no wonder we're now at the end of times!
Look on the brighter side, at least u r not in a straight jacket, screaming like crazy person in the IMH ward like Miss Little Bonkers.
agree in general with your post. singapore is getting crazy to live in. our leaders drive this crazy obssession with success and achievement. adults are trapped with mortgage and cost of living, amongest other things.
Originally posted by ayeyo:agree in general with your post. singapore is getting crazy to live in. our leaders drive this crazy obssession with success and achievement. adults are trapped with mortgage and cost of living, amongest other things.
No leh, I am very happy here, no mortage and certainly cost of living is not that high
ya everytime see the headlines.... it's either grow this or grow that... grow grow grow... that's no end to it.
Grow milkpowder, rich in calcium, good for old people
Originally posted by No_10_Tomas:famous nobel prize winners all westerners
famous scientists who made a difference to this world all westerns
the ones who invented/discovered them were all westerners
famous nobel prize winners all westerners
famous scientists who made a difference to this world all westerns
how you know there arent many asian nobel prize winners or asian scientists?maybe the reason america had the most inventions is because they were the richest and most advanced nation throughout most of the twentieth century while china and russia's growth was stagnant cause their communist dictatorship was paranoid of western culture and capitalism.
anyway famous scientists didnt make a difference to this world,China did.China's economic growth has benefited the world more than any country,continent or united nations . Everything u use is now made in china,ur laptop,keyboard,mouse,headphones,tv,iphones,cameras,etc.
today china's infrastruture and logistical capabilities has now surpassed US by leaps and bounds while america's is sad and outdated.longest bridge in china is 164km,longest bridge in US is 38km. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_longest_bridges_in_the_world
the structure of capitalism is such.....the structure of communism can be even worse as seen from their failure in history...look at China and other fallen communist blocs over the decades....capitalism is still the better choice if not the best....
take the example when u tour communist china in the past...u will feel kinda prouder and much luckier than the poverty stricken villagers who need your used clothings....
today, with free market and open door policies, they ask you to keep your used clothings to yourself and dun send them anymore......
there is no perfect system in the world...neither could we achieve a perfect state of happiness at the social psychological level.....we only need to fine tune what is unbalanced in the system....and how we keep ourselves happy is very much our own balanced perception/ attitude...
People will always complain.
People want freedom, from themselves.
So whatever system people will complain and critise.
well, complain is part of life progression mah, if you dun complain, people said you gong kia, so how?? complain lor..