Hello everybody, Im Shien from Temasek Polytechnic and I am doing a topic on roles of nuclear energy as one of my extra subjects. I hope to have some feedback on what is on your mind about the possibility of nuclear energy in Singapore
As the current news about PM Lee considering the nuclear power option, I have read many forum posts who are not in favor of it. I have done some research and found that there are advantages to it, most notably, no pollution and so not contributing to global warming, as well as very cheap running costs meaning electricity bills would decrease if used. An example would be France which the 76% of the energy comes from nuclear in which they ship it to neighbouring countries. Their electricity is also one of the cheapest in the world.
Also, another factor is that fossil fuels are running out and the price for it is steadily increasing, furthermore, a possible future carbon tax would make fossil fuels even more expensive to use. While some sources state fuel for nuclear energy would only last for 1-200 years, there are other nuclear technologies such as breeder reactors that can use uranium for billions of years though they do have their economic and political drawbacks, notibly that it uses the same uranium processing as nuclear weapon material.
It also does have serious risks, such as chernobyl incident where the plant became a radiation spewing volcano and had to be entombed to stop from radiating the surrounding areas.
Do you think it would be advisable for Singapore to build a nuclear plant? If no, with further technologies enhancing the safety, and the advantages at hand, would you reconsider that possibillity?
Thank you for sharing your views on this topic.
would you have the power plant in your estate?
no?
that's all you need to know
1 missile n all gone
our government's concern for the economy will deter them from this foolish thought.
Originally posted by Shien_11:Hello everybody, Im Shien from Temasek Polytechnic and I am doing a topic on roles of nuclear energy as one of my extra subjects. I hope to have some feedback on what is on your mind about the possibility of nuclear energy in Singapore
As the current news about PM Lee considering the nuclear power option, I have read many forum posts who are not in favor of it. I have done some research and found that there are advantages to it, most notably, no pollution and so not contributing to global warming, as well as very cheap running costs meaning electricity bills would decrease if used. An example would be France which the 76% of the energy comes from nuclear in which they ship it to neighbouring countries. Their electricity is also one of the cheapest in the world.
Also, another factor is that fossil fuels are running out and the price for it is steadily increasing, furthermore, a possible future carbon tax would make fossil fuels even more expensive to use. While some sources state fuel for nuclear energy would only last for 1-200 years, there are other nuclear technologies such as breeder reactors that can use uranium for billions of years though they do have their economic and political drawbacks, notibly that it uses the same uranium processing as nuclear weapon material.
It also does have serious risks, such as chernobyl incident where the plant became a radiation spewing volcano and had to be entombed to stop from radiating the surrounding areas.
Do you think it would be advisable for Singapore to build a nuclear plant? If no, with further technologies enhancing the safety, and the advantages at hand, would you reconsider that possibillity?
hi, my two cents. (correct me if I am not wrong)
Yes, a lot of other countries are considering this, even our neighbouring countries. Top of their concern is the rising oil prices, and the availability of it. As we all may know oil is not going to last forever, same as valuable resources.
So the focus is on alternate energy sources. Alot of talk/research is on clean energy like wind, sun, and etc, but to date, what they are providing are not sufficient/significiant. (again, pls correct me if I am wrong here.) Hence, option is Nuclear.
foremost, singapore is geographically challenged to 'house' this. I do believe we will target some islands to house a small-scale nuclear reactor and channel the electricity back. And I don't think a logicial choice will be on main island itself.
secondly, I think when this is implemented, it will create economic benefits, in that, we may create more jobs (which will eventually go to FTs), lower price of electricity (which will increase gradually when govt decides to privatise it like our current model). so lots of +/- here.
One option is to "buy" these from neighbours when they build their reactors. but given the complexitiy of our foreign policies (water, untreated water and etc), it may not be the best way forward.
As per our former PM has shared, we are the three "K". Kiasu, Kiasi and kia-bo.
the 2nd K, Kiasi or scare-die,
now, I think technically/scientifically, we have progressed from chernobyl and such incidents/accidents should not happen.
one qn, is nuclear waste now recycleable? (maybe TS can answer given his research). I don't think 100% will be recycle, so what happens to the un-recycleable waste? and the cost of this?
given the neighbours are already planning to build reactors, so first "K", i believe our govt will build and be the first/best in SEA la. (one thing, i notice, once mentioned, it will go ahead irregardlessly.).
once leak sg=gone.and it require huge place to build, and easily targeted if war happen.like that serve ns for wat?they aim nuclear can already wat
with a nuclear plant, it will change the way we study, educate, work and do our daily business, and that will be a paradigm shift altogether, so do you think govt want to go away with petrol or other fuel surcharge, Jurong Island petrol chemical industries, senoko power plant, and all other fuel related business.
If you look at USA trying to stop countries from having nuclear reactor, it is because if the whole world goes in nuclear operation rather than fuel operation, USA lost control with oil price and oil price will come to Zero, that will send the arab back to the 15th Century alibaba period. So, building a nuclear plant is not a difficult task, it can be done easily, just that after building it, the taxation for govt will be much less and siberia, where there are lots of nuclear material will become the new Arab of today
impossible.
nuclear plant need to be build in remote isolated area away from dense population. There is no such space in singapore.
nuclear plant sounds good. But the cost of handling the wastes, buying the fuel is not considered. Overall, the cost saving of nuclear plant is not there.
Compare to biofuel, solar and wind, nuclear energy is inferior.
Originally posted by Shien_11:Hello everybody, Im Shien from Temasek Polytechnic and I am doing a topic on roles of nuclear energy as one of my extra subjects. I hope to have some feedback on what is on your mind about the possibility of nuclear energy in Singapore
Where r we going to store the nuclear waste? Malaysia? Indonesia? They can't even sell us sand, leave alone take our nuclear waste. Nuclear waste will oso pollute our underground water.
We oledi have one mutant nutt in littlemissbonkers, we don't want anymore mutant pollution from nuclear waste.
Can store at IMH, maybe can cure some of the patient there including Uncle troublesome
Writing thesis, izit?
Just cover the following points, sure get A+
1. Economy Impact
2. Social Impact
3. Political Impact
4. Environment Impact
5. National Security Impact
6. Psychology Impact
Recommendation
Yes, build because there are so many benefits than cons from pt 1 to pt 6
Smoke out sure can get A+ but actually if u ask me in actual pax, no i dont want it to be build because imagine staying near to a 'bomb'.
Originally posted by Shazamnick:
Writing thesis, izit?
Just cover the following points, sure get A+
1. Economy Impact
2. Social Impact
3. Political Impact
4. Environment Impact
5. National Security Impact
6. Psychology Impact
Recommendation
Yes, build because there are so many benefits than cons from pt 1 to pt 6
Smoke out sure can get A+ but actually if u ask me in actual pax, no i dont want it to be build because imagine staying near to a 'bomb'.
nice
firstly, I am not a nuclear scientist, but surely, for singapore, we don't need a nuclear reactor as per what is used by the US/France/Russia. Surely, there must b a scale to building/maintaining one.
secondly, i think it is like an old record when people are harping on war/saf and nuclear energy. before we even going along the lines of war, do U know how many nuclear reactors are there in the world? how many war-like cases have you seen? ( b4 answering, pls detach from whatever u see on tv/movies).
thirdly, i am not sure about biofuel as per my earlier post, but if someone can prove/show data to support that biofuel can handle/support the growing population and one day, if oil runs out. that will be helpful. (PS, I am also a green person, but feels biofuel is still @ its infancy, and may not support our needs, hence the call for data).
nuclear energy is without cost, the raw materials needed are all not cheap. The biggest concern is nuclear waste. I believe currently, there are ways to recycle nuclear waste, but it is not 100% yet. the danger is what if these falls into the wrong hands.
Don't have to have a reactor that can meet the needs of a whole country.
A number of small reactors will do. One mini-reactor for each town.
The nuclear reactor on an American aircraft carrier or submarine should be able to power a town like Tampines.
When it comes to these facilities, one must take the advantage with the risks and hazards involved. Sure, there is no 100% safety record but the dangers can be minimized, via offshore plant or even perhaps set underground. Plus, the new generation of plants are built with the most stringent of quality control, that even the casing for the waste are damage resistant and requires absolutely minimal power to maintain.
Especially with the development of refuelling of Nuclear waste, these energy sources can be stretched further. Surely, as forumers have mentioned, in Singapore, one can dream on about electricity being cheaper but think about it, what if Indonesia/Malaysia stopped supplyinf Natural Gas for the running of our power plants?
The true dangers comes only at human fault whether it's mistakes in handling the facility or the desire to refine uranium. The reason why nuclear is strongly opposed is because many jump to conclusion is because they fear that with such facilities, Singapore risks itself every day, but do you know that 40 bar High Pressure NG capable of 600m flash fires are running through your roads everyday?
From what i have read. There is a not so dangerous Nuclear alternative. Fusion power i think? Reduced nuclear waste, and reusable rods as well. Pls correct me if im wrong
Ts, ever thought of "WHAT IF" there is an accident on the plant?
you can refer to this for more info http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ITER
If Singapore is going to have nuclear plant, Malaysia or Indonesia would be the first "concern" countries to bang tables and putting pressure on us, declared that either we become an dangerous zone for them and demand this and that and as a result relationship with neighbour countries are stained. If Singapore think this is alright, they can go ahead to build one nuke plant at home.
If govt gives green light to build one. Where is the best location?
Originally posted by likeyou:If govt gives green light to build one. Where is the best location?
Let me see..... Jurong Island is full of petroleum, Marina Bay is always alight with fireworks, the industrial park opposite the beach of Punggol is always torching brightly, Tanjong Gul is near SAF live-firing areas.
I think Woodland better, if tio bomb, JB will be infected too. All die together.
We really dont have the land to built one.
I am sure residents will not one to stay near the plant. House property drop like crazy.
Singapore government is very economical....everything will be calculated......nuclear power plant will only be built if it is really indeed more economic / save more money by a lot.....If not, it wont be a priority.....build IRs better.......you see by building 2 IRs, theres so much incoming money......what does nuclear power plant do ?