@charlize Yeah, I would love to buy that for him.. He even mention he had to pawn away his beloved Tag Heur because his ex-wife had spent alot and he was strapped for cash. But my savings is <$1000..
Originally posted by Tmarcus:@charlize Yeah, I would love to buy that for him.. He even mention he had to pawn away his beloved Tag Heur because his ex-wife had spent alot and he was strapped for cash. But my savings is <$1000..
There's your answer right?
Get back a similar tag hauer watch.![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Just like a tie.
There is simply no functionaility in wearing a long piece of cloth around your neck.
Worse, it could get caught in the paper shredder and kill you.
Or your angry gf/wife can strangle you with it ![]()
I love watches.
Unfortunately the budget you mention doesn't come up to the ones I want to recommend:
1) IWC
2) Brietling
3) Tag Heure
For the budget you mention, perhaps you can go for a good Seiko Kinetic Premier. Look for those with unscratchable sapphire glass. The neat thing about Kinetic is that you don't need batteries, it is powered by the swing of your hand. There is a mini dynamo inside. You can leave your Kinetic watch in the drawer for 3 weeks and take it out, it will auto adjust itself to the right time.
Tagheur retailing for minimum $1500 each..
Originally posted by Tmarcus:Tagheur retailing for minimum $1500 each..
Eat more bread and $2 cai png for the next few months lor. ![]()
Or get a Russian watch like my suggestion. Good conversation starter. Or a WWII replica watch.
Your dad can probably use it to smash the head of a robber in too ![]()
Originally posted by Tmarcus:Tagheur retailing for minimum $1500 each..
Bugis 4 for $10, Taghour
u want andy lau or takeshi kaneshiro?
I expect Tissot and Longines would be within your price range, and possibly some Oris models.
Originally posted by charlize:Just like a tie.
There is simply no functionaility in wearing a long piece of cloth around your neck.
Worse, it could get caught in the paper shredder and kill you.
I have people to do my paper shredding:

Originally posted by FireIce:u want andy lau or takeshi kaneshiro?
I catch no ball..?
Originally posted by Gedanken:I have people to do my paper shredding:
I googled Longines, quite like their design. So it's
1. Seiko Kinetic
2. Longines
3. Tissot
4. Tagheur (If I manage to save more)
Rolex is very uncle. ![]()
Originally posted by Tmarcus:I googled Longines, quite like their design. So it's
1. Seiko Kinetic
2. Longines
3. Tissot
4. Tagheur (If I manage to save more)
Yes their half moon designs are fantastic.
Check price for Longines. They are in the same league as Rolex. Could be expensive.
Yes Rolex is very Uncle. But its for your dad. Rolex is good for wearing for sales people. But Rolex is also expensive.
Originally posted by Gedanken:I have people to do my paper shredding:
Atas...
There's a brand called Wenger looks like those Swiss Army Watches.... looks really cool I'm very tempted to get that for myself.... and it probably costs half your budget.
Never ever buy automatic watches, especially chronograph, they cost a bomb to service. ![]()
Originally posted by βÎτά:
Never ever buy automatic watches, especially chronograph, they cost a bomb to service.
izzit? I got one auto watch 5 yrs liao neber service wor.... save me batteries too ![]()
but must always shake hand lar ![]()
Originally posted by βÎτά:Never ever buy automatic watches, especially chronograph, they cost a bomb to service.
Aiyoh, ah dee eh, if uncle can buy the watch, do you think a few hundred bucks every 5-7 years is going to be a concern? ![]()
Originally posted by MagnificientDiagrams:Check price for Longines. They are in the same league as Rolex.
Not by a long shot - we're talking about an 800-1000% difference.
Originally posted by MagnificientDiagrams:I love watches.
Unfortunately the budget you mention doesn't come up to the ones I want to recommend:
1) IWC
2) Brietling
3) Tag Heure
For the budget you mention, perhaps you can go for a good Seiko Kinetic Premier. Look for those with unscratchable sapphire glass. The neat thing about Kinetic is that you don't need batteries, it is powered by the swing of your hand. There is a mini dynamo inside. You can leave your Kinetic watch in the drawer for 3 weeks and take it out, it will auto adjust itself to the right time.
Good taste!
I like the seiko's design~ criteria, kinetic and spring drive.
The spring drive one is really awesome, cost $3500 per piece, really out of my budget. But it's still in my wish list.
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:Atas...
Where got atas? Not say Lange leh. ![]()
Originally posted by Gedanken:Not by a long shot - we're talking about an 800-1000% difference.
Depends on the range. Some Longines are cheaper. But the better ones are worth as much as a Rolex.
Master Chrono Moonphase Rose Gold Watch - $USD9,425.
Men's Rolex 18kt Gold PRESIDENT Pearl - USD9,480
And then there are way out of reach Rolex watches
MASTERPIECE Rolex Platinum PAVE Diamond PEARLMASTER - $USD34,980
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:
Good taste!![]()
I like the seiko's design~ criteria, kinetic and spring drive.
The spring drive one is really awesome, cost $3500 per piece, really out of my budget. But it's still in my wish list.
Nice !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Definition of Spring drive:-
The idea behind the Spring Drive movement is simple. Meld the benefits of an automatic watch with the benefits of a quartz watch. The result is an intricate mechanical movement that is as accurate as a quartz. A perfect blend indeed. The precursor to the Spring Drive movement was the Seiko Kinetic movement. This movement used a rotor to charge a battery, and provided a charge reserve indicator that the wearer could activate. While the Kinetic movement was popular, it still suffered from that worst aspect of a quartz movement - the ticking hand.
The Spring Drive solves the "ticking hand dilemma" by allowing for a sweeping seconds hand that is far more desirable.