Why are you comparing the price of one of Tissot's most complicated pieces with the secondhand price of a Rolex DD, which is not known for its resale value at the best of times?
And why would you then post a photo of a fake?
The watch is a moonphase Longines watch, not Tissot. According to the website, it said the price is first hand Rolex price.
Just estimation in USD. I am not sure the price in SGD.
Ah, Longines - my typo. That doesn't change the issue. If you wanted to make a proper comparison, why not compare Longines' price range across all their models with Rolex's? You'll see that Rolexes cost a bucketload more than Longines, and conservatively I'll stand by my 800-1000% estimate.
Second, if you're getting Rolex prices off the net, you're already off to a bad start. Go to www.rolex.com and you will see that you cannot find a reliable MSRP list online - those prices are only available to Rolex ADs. According to the May 2011 MSRP list that I last looked at, a YG Day Date is going to set you back about US$23,000, notwithstanding dials and markers.
You're new to high-end watches, aren't you?
My point is that some Longines can cost as much as some Rolex. However if you are comparing the whole range, then yes, Rolex cost a lot more than Longines.
I just post for the enjoyment of discussion, I am not working on a thesis. I could be wrong of which you can point out. No harm.
Originally posted by MagnificientDiagrams:My point is that some Longines can cost as much as some Rolex.
Well, yeah, that's like saying you can outrun Usain Bolt when he's got a broken leg. ![]()
I've both written and reviewed too many theses to ask for one on a forum, but it would be nice if things at least added up and aligned with facts. In fact, that might even make discussion enjoyable.
Originally posted by elindra:Should have something in your budget range
please lah.............watches sold by redarmywatches can be bought online much cheaper lah.........
Originally posted by MagnificientDiagrams:I love watches.
Unfortunately the budget you mention doesn't come up to the ones I want to recommend:
1) IWC
2) Brietling
3) Tag Heure
For the budget you mention, perhaps you can go for a good Seiko Kinetic Premier. Look for those with unscratchable sapphire glass. The neat thing about Kinetic is that you don't need batteries, it is powered by the swing of your hand. There is a mini dynamo inside. You can leave your Kinetic watch in the drawer for 3 weeks and take it out, it will auto adjust itself to the right time.
please lah...........TAG Heur also recommend ??!! other watches cheaper and better lah.........
also, sapphire crystal still get scratched hor...............
your Seiko recommendation is very good............no one beats the Japs for value........
Originally posted by Genie99a:There's a brand called Wenger looks like those Swiss Army Watches.... looks really cool I'm very tempted to get that for myself.... and it probably costs half your budget.
Wenger ???...........it's junk................buy Seiko or Citizen anytime better lah.........
Originally posted by MagnificientDiagrams:
Nice !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Definition of Spring drive:-
The idea behind the Spring Drive movement is simple. Meld the benefits of an automatic watch with the benefits of a quartz watch. The result is an intricate mechanical movement that is as accurate as a quartz. A perfect blend indeed. The precursor to the Spring Drive movement was the Seiko Kinetic movement. This movement used a rotor to charge a battery, and provided a charge reserve indicator that the wearer could activate. While the Kinetic movement was popular, it still suffered from that worst aspect of a quartz movement - the ticking hand.
The Spring Drive solves the "ticking hand dilemma" by allowing for a sweeping seconds hand that is far more desirable.
velly velly good recommendation ah..................
Originally posted by Tmarcus:I'm looking for a watch, must be very solid and fashionable. It's for my Dad.. He buys everyone presents but himself, so I wanna buy him something nice.
My budget is around $800-$900. Please provide the place where I can find it too!
Thanks!
TELL YOU WHAT, BRO.............
spend 200 bucks on a Seiko or Citizen online...............
then spend the remaining 700 bucks on a couple of hot hookers for your dad.............
he'll love you for it.............
USD 20,000 is called high end watch? ![]()
Originally posted by βÎτά:
USD 20,000 is called high end watch?
hi-end liao lah............some people their lives not even worth USD20K leh.........
Originally posted by Susanteo2011:
hi-end liao lah............some people their lives not even worth USD20K leh.........
Then maybe a USD1,000 watch is considered high end for me liao. ![]()
then RM1,000 is hi-end for me liao lor.............
A watch.
Any watch is high end for me. ![]()
alain siberstein. =)
Originally posted by Gedanken:Well, yeah, that's like saying you can outrun Usain Bolt when he's got a broken leg.
I've both written and reviewed too many theses to ask for one on a forum, but it would be nice if things at least added up and aligned with facts. In fact, that might even make discussion enjoyable.
Not as bad as me to Usaid Bolt comparison. I am saying something like if Carl Lewis had been 20 years younger, he can outrun Bolt.
A forum is a place for discussion, we are aligning and reconciliating facts. I prefer not to express the power of exact science, because it would take hours of research before i can actually post something 100% accurate. To me this hassle takes away the enjoyable discussion. Thank you for expressing your opinion, it is respected and it has foundation.
Privately I feel Longines has more style than Rolex. Although Rolex is catering a different market of a higher class.