Post from another thread (the one on PigRdogC calling Singaporeans dog and gangester) in News Discussion Lounge:
Originally posted by Dalforce 1941:Singapore boasts a highly competitive and well-regarded primary and secondary education system, but the number of Singaporeans completing a tertiary education is relatively low.
Only 23 percent of Singaporean students entering primary school complete a degree at a local four-year university.
In other knowledge-economies such as Japan's, around 50 percent of students complete a university degree.
However, according to Cheryl Chan, Assistant Director of the Planning Division at the Ministry of Education (MOE), the government does not plan to encourage more students to get a higher education.
The university enrollment rate will continue to be maintained at 20-25 percent because the Singaporean labor market does not need everyone to get a four-year degree, she asserted.¶10.
http://wikileaks.org/cable/2007/02/07SINGAPORE394.html
me: " so wad makes u decide to come here"
PRC: " i didnt"
me: " wa, ur parents force u here or ur bf is here"
PRC: "neither, ur SG gahment invited us here"
me: " huh, wad do u mean"they offer us, ALL Expenses paid for our fees in NTU, including lodging and we even get pocket money
on top of that, they have send me the INVITATION letter to apply for PR after we grad"
- PRC on PAP MOE.
http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2663008
20-25 percent because the Singaporean labor market does not need everyone to get a four-year degree
Is our govt really sponsoring foreigners to come here and study at our university?
If this and the above quote are true, it means that our govt is paying for the foreigner's school fee, lodging and pocket money, and on top of that, a PR.
What's your (as a Singapore citizen and voter) take on this?
Do you think this should be extended to Singaporean and Singaporean first?
yes, unfortunately.
y u think they flock here if no such incentives?
but those tt i know (err, knew.....), now they have moved on to the States and some, Dubai.....
SG is just a springboard
ohhhh okkkk..
then let's talk about opening this up to Singaporeans first. hehehe hopeful this will lead to yet more things for ppl to quarrel... I mean, discuss at the Parliament. keep them busy, very good.
If govt no money, nothing to say. But if they have the bountiful resources to do this for the foreigners, we ought to keep these resources to our own ppl first. We need to fight for our children and next generation mah. (this generation too late liao cuz most of us can't possible get scholarship to go NUS, NTU anymore).
Can you imagine, govt pays for our children's pocket money next time... wahhhhh ![]()
ehh? how come in Chit Chat not Speaker Corner ah? I post in the wrong forum? ![]()
same lah
just like other countries uni oso offer scholarships for foreigners to study there
SGreans oso studying ini HV, Yale all these on scholarships....
but of cos ours is cream of the crop then can go
wat we attract here are the ones who cannot make it in their own countries top uni or the ivy league....
there's quota for locals in our institutions
and quota for foreign scholars
but recent years they got increase the locals' quota
yes this is true.
In my course i happen to know some foreign student.
I was shocked to find out what he told me about his post-diploma plans since we singaporean need to serve NS.
knn, chee bye, he told me he is waiting for the goverment to send a pr invitation. If he received the letter, the requirement is to work in sg for a few years to get the pr. Then go apply university. Im quite sure he will received the letter coz our beloved goverment always take care of these foreign talent.
All these foreign student sure accept the offer la. Knn if apply as foreign student for uni, the fees fucking expensive. So they sure accept it then get PR, then pay PR school fees.
I happen to know another student like that. Work in SG after diploma 1 year. Then get PR. I ask her why? she told me pay PR school fees is cheaper.
Nabei now then i know why all get PR so easily. Our beloved goverment really know how to take care of them.
Yea, so much for "Singaporean first"
First to die la knn.
Then always give the same bullshit excuse Singaporean not hardworking enough thats why cannot get into local Uni.
Fuck la.
If you take my engineering course for example, we all know those china students learn alot of maths and science since young. They place strong emphasis on maths and sciences.
So naturally when they came into SG diploma, their standard is higher than locals.
We are playing catch up.
Different level playing field how to compete?
Unfair level playing field.
By the time we catch up, they are already applying for uni place.
And i can tell you how china students can still do well when they approach the final year of course.
They cheat. I saw with my own eyes.Their cheating technique is 1st class i tell you.Their reports and assignments? Knn la, they take from previous batch of their countrymen.
Like that call talent?
Fuck off la.
Our country is very good in open legs la.
One of the foreign student i talk to say, actually alot of Foreign students wants to go US/UK all these countries.
But they cant afford.
Thats why they come to SG.
And yes, these are the ones who cannot make it in their own country.
y u so 激动 sia................
Why everyday so many problems?
Why? ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Why everyday so many problems?
Why?
NS for locals.
Jobs and scholarships for foreigners.
Haiz. ![]()
Eh, I read some blogger made police report for this thing. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Eh, I read some blogger made police report for this thing.
our police force does not have a good record of looking out for locals' interests vs foreigners. ![]()
got blogger made police report tt govt bribing us ![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:got blogger made police report tt govt bribing us
is it?
Where? ![]()
had been happening for so long liao....
Anyway,we suck our own thumbs knowing that we can't do a darn thing about it.Foreigners mocking us cos we are so cum gong.
Don't forget the amount of scholarship given by US and EU to foreigners many of which is taken by th locals. It goes both ways.
And a south korean dude paid back the scholarship by shooting his class mates. They still have scholarship for foreigners AFAIK.
So don't b1tch.
Why can't we all get along? ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Why everyday so many problems?
Why?
Hard truths. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Why can't we all get along?
Originally posted by ShadowKnight:
I did not know they sang this song. ![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:yes, unfortunately.
but those tt i know (err, knew.....), now they have moved on to the States and some, Dubai.....
SG is just a springboard
I wish I was a FT. ![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:yes, unfortunately.
SG is just a springboard
Why you think they call it SPRING Singapore? ![]()
i heard my house there the char qway teow uncle got a very juu and chio dotter. i don;t know its real or not ![]()