Originally posted by FireIce:Marine Cove tenants want to cut losses and bail out
Leases end in March but they want to cut losses as buildings deteriorate and business falls
Published on Dec 1, 2011
The leases on the businesses surrounding the McDonald's outlet at East Coast Park will lapse in March, but some tenants of the recreation and food and beverage outlets want out earlier.
At least five tenants of Marine Cove, as the area is called, say they have written to their landlord, the National Parks Board (NParks), to ask for an early termination of their leases. Three others say they will do so soon. Some have already called it quits.
This is an about-turn from a year ago, when many of the area's 32 tenants were fighting to stay and had by then wrangled three lease extensions, the last of which was to take them up to March next year.
BACKGROUND STORY
LOSING MONEY
'I'm losing a lot of money. I want to close down as early as I can. The communal areas here are just filthy. Who wants to come here?'
Mr Amas Tan, 54, owner of Marine Bowl, who says business has dipped by half in the last six months.
Tenants who spoke to The Straits Times said they changed their minds about staying because maintenance of the place has lapsed and the buildings are falling into disrepair.
Every weekend so crowded, how to lose money?
Every time I go there, I have to fight for space to cycle or roller blade. ![]()
they oni go there cycle or blade, no go eat mcd ![]()
then mcd ones, only buy 1 drink and some fries, slack whole night...
daytime is 1 meal + use free wifi until hours later...
relli bye bye liao..........
who was/were there yday?
I ish forgot to goooooo~~~~~~~~ ![]()
They were giving away blueberry melts with every meal purchased on the last day.
saw a notice that they are opening a new one at seafood centre.
Originally posted by Honeybunz:saw a notice that they are opening a new one at seafood centre.
new one no drive thru
SIANS
i used to pick up some brekkie and latte on the way to work
or detour to that place and enter the ERP gantry after 9am, $1
Can detour to NS Macs. ![]()
wat's NS
carls junior tt side bery quiet?
carls junior in pp
ECP have?
the no. 1 latte to me is mac's latte
not olio, not starbucks, not anywhere else's
last time de big splash there loh
or no more oredi??
i went there once
to use the toilet
dunno, long time no go that side
used to go old town if i go that side
we can go there when u date me to 1.26
now all the place like into gang number ah?
from 313, 333, 126, 12katong, still got alot of pattern ![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:we can go there when u date me to 1.26
treat u eat pasta??!
okay!
drive-thru always got demand one. they should reopen a drive thru at ECP.
the ones at stadium and boon lay so popular.
Boon Lay got McD meh?
Jurong West that park is it?
Originally posted by sbst275:Boon Lay got McD meh?
Jurong West that park is it?
Jurong point there lor. Tradehub 21 also got drive thru, lunch time very packed one.