TS, watch this vidoe
Schools are basically a 2nd-home to most people. I agree on illogical rules such as hairstyles. In most countries, they don't touch students hairstyles. Singapore schools develop people into low-maintenance robots. Trust me on this. That's how Singapore becomes one of the top-tier country.
The skills, classes and knowledge are just secondary. Our schools shape people to be money-makers. Do notice that our schools doesn't emphasize in dreams, hopes & stuffs like majority of the globe. This is because they know 90% won't get their dream future. Normally if people don't get their dream future, they'll feel more crushed and became less functionable in life. Depressed and dream-crushed people makes high-maintanance robots instead. In order to avoid that, our schools does another approach. That is to develop people into low-maintenance robots who just do work and only goal to make money.
hard truths.![]()
you need a lot of $$$ to survive in singapore.
Just a few days ago:
After school, my friends and I were walking toward the school gate. There is this particular teacher - has a notorious reputation - standing right there, both arms folded, with a comtemptuous attitude/look, gazing at the students leaving school. As I walked past him, I STARED - yes, I(as majority, didn't like him) - at him a little. Next, he halted me:
He: ''BOY, STOP RIGHT THERE! Why u look so arrogant?''
Me: ''Do you look humble? u look way more arrogant that me.''
He : ''Come to my office, I want talk to u.''
Me: ''I dun want talk to you, if u want talk to me, come my house.''
Next, he grabbed my arm, trying to drag me to his office.
I told him: ''Stop your violence, if I am hurt anywhere, I am heading straight down to the hospital and gather evidences, follow by a legal proceedings, expect media intervention too.''
He released his grip and we left the school for our after-school activities.
I know many is going to criticize my actions; respect your teachers and elders. In fact, I do respect most - not limited teacher, I respect everyone include those sweeping the road - of them; some just don't deserve it. To me, he act like a typical street gangster, stare a bit want to fight. In school, he act like some sort of dictator from undeveloped countries. Unless u respect dictator, probably u won't respect him either.
Some might comment: ''Next time u go out work, dun like your bosses also lydat.'' Hmm, I worked in various part time/temporary jobs before, so far have no issue with any of my bosses. Unless you work in disciplinary force such as army, police, etc., you probably won't encounter bosses like this.
You go to school because the government told the society told your parents told you that if you don't study hard in school, you will not get a job, get money, get a good life. Then the government, the society, your parents will be sad at the lack of economic, lack of societal, lack of personal success which you invariably caused.
you go to school to learn to read write and communicate.
but now the teecher there also gian hav sex with the students onyl -- films so many violence, even our own short films also co full of violence and ah long- encouraging sgreans to be hooligans only - i fear its a conspiracy - to transofrm sgreans to be losers and import more foreign trrash - like tht can?
Originally posted by Nigho17:Just a few days ago:
After school, my friends and I were walking toward the school gate. There is this particular teacher - has a notorious reputation - standing right there, both arms folded, with a comtemptuous attitude/look, gazing at the students leaving school. As I walked past him, I STARED - yes, I(as majority, didn't like him) - at him a little. Next, he halted me:
I told him: ''Stop your violence, if I am hurt anywhere, I am heading straight down to the hospital and gather evidences, follow by a legal proceedings, expect media intervention too.''
I know many is going to criticize my actions; respect your teachers and elders. In fact, I do respect most - not limited teacher, I respect everyone include those sweeping the road - of them; some just don't deserve it. To me, he act like a typical street gangster, stare a bit want to fight. In school, he act like some sort of dictator from undeveloped countries. Unless u respect dictator, probably u won't respect him either.
Some might comment: ''Next time u go out work, dun like your bosses also lydat.'' Hmm, I worked in various part time/temporary jobs before, so far have no issue with any of my bosses. Unless you work in disciplinary force such as army, police, etc., you probably won't encounter bosses like this.
nice story, it reminds me of someone
you need to at least be literate enough to fill up the McDonald's crew application form.. that also need to go to school you know? ![]()
Originally posted by Nigho17:
Unless you work in disciplinary force such as army, police, etc., you probably won't encounter bosses like this.
VERY WRONG ![]()
i learn the words like 'man' 'pussy' 'cat' and i can make them into phrases
like 'man' with 'pussy' or just 'pussy' with 'cat' ![]()
i got school learn to rad and write. i go army learn to obey commands.
so nexttime when you see me open moisture sensitive parts don;t ask me or stop to tok to me - i have to finsih what i do fast and quickly seal them back. simple thigns also don;t know tyr do that again next time and see me scold you loud and evefything like that no need go school smart people will notice the similarirty in the stitaution and know why i do the things i do - silly stupid fagots ![]()
Welcome to the School of IMH
no lah, school teach you read and write - in the end got a cert. its the cert lah. now learn other things need to be in school meh? or you think school can teech you be good girls or boys? friends family environment upbringing, society media all have advers imapct on personal growth.
go school and let principal teech you how to choos e a tight pussy minor as a whore arh? ![]()
you are terrible
please don't go to scool
go to school, then can add subtitles to songs like that ![]()
The qns is: WHY SHOULD I GO TO SCHOOL, NOT WHY SHOULD I STUDY.
I FULLY AGREE getting good education is important, not exclusively for money. I want to study much more; I want good grades(I have good grades too); I want to graduate from good uni, not so much for $$, but to be recognised. $$ has never been a problem for me. My family is reasonably rich - annual interest form fixed deposits are already much higher than the average salary in Singapore.
If u believe going to school is the only way to study, u probably have a dogmatic view of the world.
hey idiot, if you are so smart why ask this type of question here?
go shoo.
'uncle, koip satu" ![]()
Originally posted by Nigho17:Just a few days ago:
some teachers are really idiots.
Sorry but i have to say that.
Met some during my high school. Sec 1 sec 2 I use to be meek and let them scold.
Sec 3 sec 4 I learnt to stand up and they back down. Typical case of Bully Weak Scared Strong (chinese). I think some of them just use the power to stroke their own ego.
Pathetic.
Respect is not demanded.
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:hey idiot, if you are so smart why ask this type of question here?
go shoo.
'uncle, koip satu"
Education policies has been a controversial area for many countries. Why in Singapore, it is hardly debated? I read news almost everyday, why no journalist bother to write? Singaporeans dun care? or don't know? or can't do anything about it?
My ultimate objective is to understand the public consensus about these issues.
it's good to be a tiny rebel sometimes.
like me, they say dun cross the yellow line unless the train arrive and stopped, but i rebel by putting one leg across yellow line
You go to school unless you have other talents. Apparently the human race cannot think of other methods to judge someone elses intelligence based purely on exams, memorizing and regurgitation of info. Thats how u get As. I hate the education system here. Doesnt it puzzle you that there are people who are very successful even without a mere education? I have graduated from NUS, working in a private firm now. Yet, i revere my boss who has no education and started from humble beginnings. Never look down upon those shunned by society. They might just shock you one day.
Originally posted by ISTARI:You go to school unless you have other talents. Apparently the human race cannot think of other methods to judge someone elses intelligence based purely on exams, memorizing and regurgitation of info. Thats how u get As. I hate the education system here. Doesnt it puzzle you that there are people who are very successful even without a mere education? I have graduated from NUS, working in a private firm now. Yet, i revere my boss who has no education and started from humble beginnings. Never look down upon those shunned by society. They might just shock you one day.
True, I believe we need to respect every human beings(expect terrorist, etc.). Unfortunately, the world don't behane like this; I hope it change though.
The simplest route to become rich is to be educated. Your boss is exceptional, but imagine if he is highly educated, he might has became Singapore's Larry Page or Mark Zuckerberg.
Only 0.00001% of less educated people will become sucessful, but 5%-10%(estimated) of the most educated people will become sucessful. The rest of 90% lead a relatively well-off life. Again, at least imo, there is nothing wrong with people that is less educated. We should respect them.
Sucess is not simply measured by its monetary value, I consider Mother Teresa as one of the greatest human beings ever lived.
TS, your experience in school seems to be quite bad but i dont think you should think that all school experience is similiar to what you have encountered. Perhaps you were unlucky enough to have such an experience. Let me share my views on the various things you mentioned..
For appearance: Personally i think its important for students to maintain a sharp appearance. Hair shouldnt be too long cos its untidy when its long. It is distracting for the student if he keeps molding/shaping his hair during lessons. Additionally, dont you think its annoying to have hair that keeps blocking your sight and you have to adjust it during lessons? It as annoying for the teachers as well if half the class keep touching their hair during lessons. Besides, we are going to school to try to learn something (if anything at all) and not to look good. You say that the schools are communist, let me ask you to ponder over this question: are you required to have exactly the same appearance as the one in the handbook? Probably not? I mean as long as you look neat and sharp, the school wont ka jiao you anymore. Perhaps you dont understand the rationale behind what they are doing and i dont profess that i do. But maybe it is to prepare you for work? From what i see, even though hair can be longer when you go out to work, you are still required to keep it looking neat and professional. If you dont start from school, when will you start? As for uniform, the rule is not to alter it. Most uniform pants are 'straight cut' and fit nicely with the right size worn. There is reason to alter it to some whimsical fashion trend as you go there to learn and not seek prospective mates. Moving on to teachers putting on make up. As you mentioned, they are teachers and teaching is a profession. They also have to make themselves presentable and not look like a pale ghost teaching students. But as for teachers for put on make on heavy make ups, wear sexy clothes etc, i must say they arent really good role models to students.Like students, teachers have a dress code in which they are supposed to follow but most young teachers dont. Hence they give the impression to students that if teachers can be fashionable or whatever but why cant the students?
As for teaching attitude: you mentioned that teachers dont take constructive feedbacks. Can i ask you something in return? When you feedback to the teachers, do you do so in a polite manner. Like, excuse me sir/Mr/Ms XXX, i think you might have done this problem wrongly. And offer your solution. If your solution is right, then she can correct her teaching/answers and everyone will benefit. If you are wrong, not to worry, the teacher can analyse why you think that way and correct you so that you can learn too. If she doesnt take it with a pinch of salt, then the teacher is in the wrongly. Most teachers i encounter take positively to feedbacks and are happy to recieve feedbacks, in fact, some of them even have regular feedback session with us to find out how well their lessons are conducted. But i do agree with you, our current education stifles creativity and produces money making machines.
Well, for the flag raising ceremony, i do agree that its quite dumb to sing multiple times. But i think the purpose is to incalcluate a sense of loyalty to the country through repetition while the nation still can. I dont think anyone of us will ever sing the national anthem/ say the pledge after we graduate except maybe during national day.
As for caning, i think the policies various on when to use it from school to school.? Honestly i have no idea since i haven encountered anyone that was canned throughout my education life.
Tuitions are more effective because the tutors are actually paid for that two hours they teach you(motivation by $$). But when the session ends, the teaching stops. Rarely do tuition teachers bring your work out and mark unless they are really dedicated? School teachers are different. They draw a fix salary and the work doesnt end when the lesson end. Outside of class they need to mark your work, plan and prepare lessons in advance, perform other school duties, match the pace of the lesson so everyone can gain from the lesson and even think of why some students are underperforming. There is simply too much for them to do compared to the pay they are recieving. They may seem dispassionate and irritable at times but they are really trying to help you(at least most of the teachers i come across). Their job scope and load is huge but most students dont really understand. I am sure it will be refreshing for teachers to have a student that understand the challenges they face. yea, so just cooperate with them and i think your experience will be better. (:
Cheers!
edit: Oh, i forget to add something. I guess if the general student population in school behaves well, i guess the teachers will treat the students less stringently. Its a pyschological thingy i guess. If they believe that their students will behave in a certain manner, they are likely to treat them in a certain manner. Eg, if the students are always late for class, the teacher will also likely be late. The will teacher will think: if the students are late for lessons, why should i be early? I can finish more of my work if i go later. Not pointing fingers to teachers or students as they are both humans. But just ponder over this bah.
Originally posted by randomsme:For appearance: Personally i think its important for students to maintain a sharp appearance. Hair shouldnt be too long cos its untidy when its long. It is distracting for the student if he keeps molding/shaping his hair during lessons. Additionally, dont you think its annoying to have hair that keeps blocking your sight and you have to adjust it during lessons? It as annoying for the teachers as well if half the class keep touching their hair during lessons. Besides, we are going to school to try to learn something (if anything at all) and not to look good. You say that the schools are communist, let me ask you to ponder over this question: are you required to have exactly the same appearance as the one in the handbook? Probably not? I mean as long as you look neat and sharp, the school wont ka jiao you anymore. Perhaps you dont understand the rationale behind what they are doing and i dont profess that i do. But maybe it is to prepare you for work? From what i see, even though hair can be longer when you go out to work, you are still required to keep it looking neat and professional. If you dont start from school, when will you start? As for uniform, the rule is not to alter it. Most uniform pants are 'straight cut' and fit nicely with the right size worn. There is reason to alter it to some whimsical fashion trend as you go there to learn and not seek prospective mates. Moving on to teachers putting on make up. As you mentioned, they are teachers and teaching is a profession. They also have to make themselves presentable and not look like a pale ghost teaching students. But as for teachers for put on make on heavy make ups, wear sexy clothes etc, i must say they arent really good role models to students.Like students, teachers have a dress code in which they are supposed to follow but most young teachers dont. Hence they give the impression to students that if teachers can be fashionable or whatever but why cant the students?
I disagree on afew points on appearance above. People made rules for appearance because of "image". The image of the school is prioritised over well-being of students. "Image for order". Excuses like distractions to see whiteboard, neat and professional are merely excuses to give reasons to students. A brainwash to cover-up their real reasons. In overseas, males with long hair and women with short skirts are regarded as professionals as well. Don't believe? This means people need to see more of the world.
In majority countries, schools does not enforce rules such as hair and uniform length. This is because they see a more important point than turning students into "same model robots". That important point is the development their own personalities. Singaporeans only built their unique personality after enlisted into poly/uni. Other countries developed their people personality since young. The reason why Singapore doesn't want students to develop their own personality at young age is because they want to develop them into "one group". "One group" are tend to be easier to control and led. Like our motto, "One people, one nation". Everyone grew up to be the same for easy access and controlled over as tools.
This affects many things in our society. Fashion sense is one. Have people pounder why people dare not look different? They have a mentality that if they dressed up abit differently from others, people will stare at them. This psychologically barrier that's developed since primary school. The lacking of individual personalities.
All these rules makes Singaporeans raised up to have one flow mentality alongside with everyone else. They're trained to think the same. SG has the highest percentage of stereotypes too. Unable to think out-of-the-box and wider views makes Singaporeans less productive than foreigners. This is the reason why Singapore see that foreigners makes more money than us. They're more productive and able to produce selling ideas. (Selling ideas = unique ideas that majority can't produced. We have difficulty on this. Why? It's because people were not train to produce their own thoughts and ideas. We're trained to think the same line as others. We start generating ideas that many others have generated before in work.)
People can choose to be ignorant on this. This only shows they're limited to think further due to the limited structured system that was given to them since young.
Originally posted by OranDe:
I disagree on afew points on appearance above. People made rules for appearance because of "image". The image of the school is prioritised over well-being of students. "Image for order". Excuses like distractions to see whiteboard, neat and professional are merely excuses to give reasons to students. A brainwash to cover-up their real reasons. In overseas, males with long hair and women with short skirts are regarded as professionals as well. Don't believe? This means people need to see more of the world.In majority countries, schools does not enforce rules such as hair and uniform length. This is because they see a more important point than turning students into "same model robots". That important point is the development their own personalities. Singaporeans only built their unique personality after enlisted into poly/uni. Other countries developed their people personality since young. The reason why Singapore doesn't want students to develop their own personality at young age is because they want to develop them into "one group". "One group" are tend to be easier to control and led. Like our motto, "One people, one nation". Everyone grew up to be the same for easy access and controlled over as tools.
This affects many things in our society. Fashion sense is one. Have people pounder why people dare not look different? They have a mentality that if they dressed up abit differently from others, people will stare at them. This psychologically barrier that's developed since primary school. The lacking of individual personalities.
All these rules makes Singaporeans raised up to have one flow mentality alongside with everyone else. They're trained to think the same. SG has the highest percentage of stereotypes too. Unable to think out-of-the-box and wider views makes Singaporeans less productive than foreigners. This is the reason why Singapore see that foreigners makes more money than us. They're more productive and able to produce selling ideas. (Selling ideas = unique ideas that majority can't produced. We have difficulty on this. Why? It's because people were not train to produce their own thoughts and ideas. We're trained to think the same line as others. We start generating ideas that many others have generated before in work.)
People can choose to be ignorant on this. This only shows they're limited to think further due to the limited structured system that was given to them since young.
I agree!
Hironobu Sakaguchi(ex-president of Square Enix), young Bill Gates(co-founder of Microsoft), Chad Hurley(co-founder of Youtube) all have long hair.
Are they not professional to most Singaporean?
Seriously, I doubt they would be sucessful if they are brought up under sg's education system.