Friend, I AM in the civil service.Originally posted by 156:Ahem.
The 5 day week thing applies only to the civil sector.
Private sector may or may not follow.![]()
Go celebrate.Originally posted by [ Neo ]:Friend, I AM in the civil service.![]()
agree, building casino seen set...but evalustion might take very long time (5yr?)Originally posted by [ Neo ]:But too bad the casino concept is still in evaluation. From the tone of the speech, the probability of it materializing looks very high.
You mentioned the uniformed service. That got me thinking. Currently office hours staff will get to enjoy the 5 days benefit.Originally posted by LazerLordz:He's trying to do the injection principle in trying to boost the ailing economy.Civil Service productivity is usually quite minimal on Saturdays.Most developed nations follow this trend , so that we actually balance out by increasing the portion that internal spending contributes to the economy.Economics students, sounds familiar?Wel, it does have its pros and cons, but I would not worry about the "efficient 24/7 society".We are not mere robots, but flesh and blood.Idealism and so-called reputations are not worth a hoot if the fellows who contribute to that reputations are not given the incentive to perform.We can perform better on a 5-day work week.Thing is, in the civil service and esp in the SAF, there will be losers in higher management who believe that working more hours mean more productivity.If I can get a job done in 2 hours instead of 4 hours, I would call it productivity.So, it should be a wakeup call to the vested interests up there in their plush boardrooms and isolated offices.Look out for your guys, they run the show and they make it tick.
Originally posted by 156:isit? did he say that?
But take note,working hours [b]per week remain the same.[/b]
shift work will have to remain, so as not to affect operations.Originally posted by [ Neo ]:You mentioned the uniformed service. That got me thinking. Currently office hours staff will get to enjoy the 5 days benefit.
But what are they going to do about shift personnel, e.g. ICA who are currently being rotated on a 6 day shift?
Yes. he did.Originally posted by wuming78:isit? did he say that?
in that case, i would rather go for the current alt sat.
Originally posted by 156:Frankly, that's not really a concern.
Go celebrate.
But take note,working hours [b]per week remain the same.[/b]
anyway u doing OT..last time is OT+alt weekend, now is OT+longweekend..Originally posted by [ Neo ]:Frankly, that's not really a concern.
Cos I'm doing OT almost everyday.![]()
Loopholes? Can elaborate?Originally posted by LazerLordz:That means there will be a loophole unethical commanders might exploit because they want to be seen in increasing "productivity" to their own superiors.Hope there will be a firm implementation over this.I've seen and heard too much of ideas not fully implemented on the ground because some local warlord decides to play CO.
If so,then why r you so upbeat abt the 5 day thing?Originally posted by [ Neo ]:Frankly, that's not really a concern.
Cos I'm doing OT almost everyday.![]()
Well, it's basically like what paperduck has mentioned.Originally posted by 156:If so,then why r you so upbeat abt the 5 day thing?
Excuses my friend.![]()
YA LOR... What I was about to say... Then I cannot see my 'Zhong Yi Da Ge Da' because it's too late liao...Originally posted by thhong22:all the channels oso showing rally......... so long somemore
time to slp![]()
Don't be stupid... There'll be much of coverage of duties and such depending on where you're spending your days in the NS and your boss...Originally posted by rongshao85:lol.. i quite happy tat now ns cut down to 2 years liao.. somemore with this 5 days week.. i believe alot ppl will have the intention of signing on.. wat do u guys think?
5 days week could also mean that they'll have an 'official' reason for you to do your OT... And IF you CAN'T finish things? Come back over WEEKENDS for CLEARING of SHIT...??Originally posted by 156:Ahem.
The 5 day week thing applies only to the civil sector.
Private sector may or may not follow.![]()
Oh, ok. thanks for voicing out.Originally posted by Devil1976:Don't be stupid... There'll be much of coverage of duties and such depending on where you're spending your days in the NS and your boss...
Besides... Even if such requirements are not fulfilled, what ya gonna do? Complain and risk losing your job?