Support through fear instead of respect is a very risky type of support. The fundamentals are weak.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Another good friend of mine since army days voted for PAP because he fears backlash when he applies for HDB.
Stupid, right? It made me laugh when he told me that.
2 of my friends, SIA cadets, have become really cheesed off with the govt for not heeding public sentiments about their pay hike. However, they tell me that they will still vote PAP the next elections. Can't blame them at all.
This is the dot com era, no longer the time where we get info from only newspapers, TV and radio. The pre-65ers have staunch support for the PAP but certainly not mine (post 65ers). We are of the savvy generation who thirst for the truth, rather than be force fed.
66.6%? Oh my. Remember how Lim Boon Heng said that an 80% mandate from AMK GRC would not be an issue? Look what happened as a result of disconnection from the masses. There was the Progress Package back then. If no progress package, lower "mandate" even? LOL.
Yes yes, please please ignore me if you are like soul rage cos he can't reason.Originally posted by soul_rage:just ignore him lah duotiga
this is one person that behaves like the Iraqi communications minister
Remember that joker whom insisted the iraqi military forces are dealing huge losses to the US army during the Iraq war?
He was still adamant on insisting Iraq is winning, when the US forces had punched into Baghdad.
He became sort of a minor celebrity for his comic antics overnight. Maybe the kiddie here might become one as well
& i applaud Jack Neo's Latest Movie " Just Follow Law" as in the movie it protrays Govt Sectors handling of stuff very well.......Originally posted by soul_rage:Support through fear instead of respect is a very risky type of support. The fundamentals are weak.
All tyrants get overthrown sooner or later. Perhaps not the 1st generation, but the next generation or later, the leaders get overrun.
I esp find it so funny that what is reported in the news, is almost not reflective of the grounds.
When I was young, I thought the truth is the truth, how can you bend the truth?
Now, I find it most interesting of how reports can be so disconnected from reality. I also realized that there are many blind people out there whom are not physically blind.
The Matrix and V for Vendetta reflects much of this, and much of the ideals in these films looks so applicable for the current Singapore society.
My teacher friend tells me that social studies is pure PAP propaganda, even in today's textbooks. He would always purport to tell them the "truth". In his own words, "I tell my students to go against the PAP!"Originally posted by maurizio13:Social studies or propaganda programming doesn't work, unless they are stupid in the first place. Then the dumber ones will stay in Singapore, while the smarter ones will find greener pastures. As can be seen from the current net migration loss Singapore is suffering.
Moreover, social studies will not have much effect, when comparing past performance with future performance.
many? how many? where are the stats? Do you have the stats to back up your claim? We want to see the stats.Originally posted by soul_rage:The latest report from our education minister said that locals get priority for local universities, and that rest assured the govt will ensure locals get a place in our universities
Just one day after that report, one of my friends went back to our faculty. He told me that he saw so many indians, PRCs, indonesians, filipinos, westerners, etc, but very few Singaporeans.
So funny right?
The point is, all true statistics and figures are kept in the ministry. Whenever someone points an observation from the grounds, some pro-govt supporter will come and demand us to show the stats and figures.
Its like ignoring the tsunami pre-warning signs even when they are right before you.
I do recall our govt once arrogantly said they want to control the internet. (I think it was the comical George Yeo then as the communications minister)Originally posted by Rock^Star:My teacher friend tells me that social studies is pure PAP propaganda, even in today's textbooks. He would always purport to tell them the "truth". In his own words, "I tell my students to go against the PAP!"
Haha, I had a good laugh over that.
The younger ones (post 90ers) will find out soon enough through the internet. Kids are getting smarter and smarter and no teen likes to be brainwashed. Thank heavens for the internet.
Yes yes, please ignore me cos you can discuss and debate anyway.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Ignore.
No point throwing out gold only to be returned with shi.t (bullsh.it in particular).
this kiddie now sounds like GazelleOriginally posted by Rock^Star:Ignore.
No point throwing out gold only to be returned with shi.t (bullsh.it in particular).
The internet shall be the downfall of PAP someday. The way they run the country, I am prepared to await that day till I die.Originally posted by soul_rage:I do recall our govt once arrogantly said they want to control the internet. (I think it was the comical George Yeo then as the communications minister)
After a few smacks on the face by ISPs overseas when they demanded for access to personnel info on certain websites, they now have to eat humble pie and keep really quiet after that
Did the education you had in school any effect on the way you think? Of course!Originally posted by maurizio13:Social studies or propaganda programming doesn't work, unless they are stupid in the first place. Then the dumber ones will stay in Singapore, while the smarter ones will find greener pastures. As can be seen from the current net migration loss Singapore is suffering.
Moreover, social studies will not have much effect, when comparing past performance with future performance.
OK, you can wait till you die. no problem.Originally posted by Rock^Star:The internet shall be the downfall of PAP someday. The way they run the country, I am prepared to await that day till I die.
They got smacked by overseas ISP? Pls tell me more.
Eh? I thot you were suppose to ignore me? Why you change your mind?Originally posted by soul_rage:this kiddie now sounds like Gazelle
the other time Gazelle was also saying that everyone likes him and that those who bash him are the minority, when in fact, everyone was treating him like a clown
PS: He is also like Gazelle, having an imaginary friend. Keep saying "We" when actually its only "I" (he only)
Basically from what I know, they were trying to find out the identity of the person behind a website that was making anti-PAP comments.Originally posted by Rock^Star:The internet shall be the downfall of PAP someday. The way they run the country, I am prepared to await that day till I die.
wow! wat a victory for the anti pap gang! Ahahahahahahaha.................Originally posted by soul_rage:Basically from what I know, they were trying to find out the identity of the person behind a website that was making anti-PAP comments.
So they investigated (I think by IP) and went to the ISP to demand for information on the person running the website
Well, they got smacked in the face of coz
you know LKY loses most of his law cases when they are fought overseas
Its the same for anything overseas. No one gives a shi.t to our leaders if our leaders try to demand something from them.
Actually I gave the present govt 30 years.Originally posted by Rock^Star:The internet shall be the downfall of PAP someday. The way they run the country, I am prepared to await that day till I die.
Yes, with their stranglehold on the civil service, we may have to wait 30 years but that suffices for me.Originally posted by soul_rage:Actually I gave the present govt 30 years.
You know why I gave the govt only 30 years before something happens?
Coz no corporation survives past 3 generations of the same family.
A generation is defined as 20 years. (So Gen X-ers are bornt in 1961 - 1981, and Gen Y-ers are 1982 to 2002)
Mat Terok...Originally posted by maurizio13:More like those who can't reply my post, ranting like a lunatic.
Mat Terok, I am still waiting for you to respond to my post.
It is their prerogative and right to find out but they have no right to demand.Originally posted by soul_rage:Basically from what I know, they were trying to find out the identity of the person behind a website that was making anti-PAP comments.
So they investigated (I think by IP) and went to the ISP to demand for information on the person running the website
Well, they got smacked in the face of coz
you know LKY loses most of his law cases when they are fought overseas
Its the same for anything overseas. No one gives a shi.t to our leaders if our leaders try to demand something from them.
hehe, you know the massive backlash they got from the pay hike fiasco?Originally posted by Rock^Star:It is their prerogative and right to find out but they have no right to demand.
Haha, slap on the face. It is a sign of things to come. The PAP are very, very very intimidated by the internet.
Can read ST lah, like who kena raped, who kena robbed, how many traffic offences etc etc can read lah.Originally posted by soul_rage:hehe, you know the massive backlash they got from the pay hike fiasco?
Most of it was from the foreign press, and Singaporeans are reading it (mostly like you said, our generation reads more overseas news nowadays)
I personally don't read ST, coz what facts can you get from a media ranked so low in the world?