Both Serbs and Croats belong to the Slavonic branch of the Indo-European tribe. They are linguistically similar. The main difference is that Serbian uses the Cyrillic alphabet while Croatian is written in the Roman script. Most Serbs belong to the Orthodox church while majority of Croats follow the Catholic tradition.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Croats and Serbs are clearly two different ethnic races. While Serbs originated from central europe, the origin of the Croates was unclear and there is a theory that says they are of Iranian origin. We should not forget the war in Kosovos and Bosnia where both races went all out to eliminate the other. What happened in Australia shows that hatred remains between the two races.
There is no question that that was racism.![]()
Cannot dispute with you on that. What is worth noting is that they were killing each other during the war of kosovos. I hope when they migrate to a new home, they leave behind the hatred and learn to accept each other. If not, they bring racism into their new land.Originally posted by iveco:Both Serbs and Croats belong to the Slavonic branch of the Indo-European tribe. They are linguistically similar. The main difference is that Serbian uses the Cyrillic alphabet while Croatian is written in the Roman script. Most Serbs belong to the Orthodox church while majority of Croats follow the Catholic tradition.
Well racist overtones again as usual .Originally posted by Gazelle:Again we are not interested to talk about your "success" and "achievement" in australia because you have said this in the forum too many times already.
And furthermore just because Australia is willing to pay more for a specific type of health care "foreign talent" that doesnt mean that australia is a loaf of bread while singapore is crumbs. Is that another white surpremacy theory you try to preach here?
I would definitely prefer to use my skill and talent for a country i call home rather than being a white co.ck sucker in a country that call you WOGS
Originally posted by fymk:I presume that you are saying that you are willing to live with all the racist BS just because of money /
Well [b] racist overtones again as usual .
Let me explain what the loaf and crumb means clearly:
Crumbs
Singapore - some employer was interested in giving me a 2 year contract but 2k per month below what I can demand in Australia. No perks - nothing. Just CPF and have to pay for my own insurance terms.
Loaf
Australia - current employer is willing to :
1. Get me on full time ongoing - means I cannot get sacked unless I make a fatal mistake . Any retrenchment means pay out of 1 month salary per 1 year of service.
2. Willing to finance further education costs if I am willing to branch out into another specialty like biostatistics which they need
3. Give me free life insurance worth 250K if I die suddenly and income protection ( guaranteed at 2k per fortnight if something happens to me and I cannot continue working)
4. Willing to let me do higher duties at higher pay. Will pay overtime if necessary and costs of getting home in the middle of the night.
5. Willing to let me have a total of 5 weeks rec leave, 4 weeks of medical/personal carer leave( usually used in parenting or looking after elderly relatives)
6. Pay for all relocation costs - they actually put me up in a hotel for 3 weeks with food paid for.
7. I can salary package to avoid high taxation rates in Australia.
Atm if I change to another employer within the same arena or even ask for a transfer out back into what they term as my home state - the terms are still the same - I don't lose out either way.
Why should I downgrade to crumbs when I can have the loaf? Stupid right? It is not the matter of your so called white supremacy but rather of practicality .
This is not a comparison of success or achievement . This is a comparison of how the country ,which you called racist, is willing to treat me compared to Singapore. If it was truly a racist country, I won't be getting the terms I am getting now. [/b]
Originally posted by Gazelle:I presume that you are saying that you are willing to live with all the racist BS just because of money /
Originally posted by fymk:I cant comment if you are doing well or not, because that to me is relative. If you want my honest opinion I would say nothing fantastic and you can definitely get a similar or better deal here in Singapore.![]()
I have not met with any strong racist BS yet. Do you have a problem with that or do you want me to tell a lie so that it fits in your myopic view?
What you read is different from what I experience. Do you also have a problem with that? [b] Or just not happy someone could do well in Australia?
If you have an issue with Australia, don't come to Australia then. Why even try to change an opinion of someone who ACTUALLY lives in Australia ? Just stay in Singapore , in your little safe haven. [/b]
Well fact remains that Singapore cannot match any deal . Take for example nursing in Singapore- 6 day week - 1.5k per month now? In Australia - 5 day week plus 1 day off each month - at least 4.5 k gross net per month with shift penalties and weekend as well as public holiday penalties . Approx 3.5k per month after taxes. If Christmas season - expect 4-5k after tax . All in all I can tell you that I earnt 2 to 3 times that of Singapore's pay when I did nursing and when I did higher duties - I earnt 4 times the amount of what nursing in Singapore paid me . Go ask Rhonda if you do not believe me.Originally posted by Gazelle:I cant comment if you are doing well or not, because that to me is relative. If you want my honest opinion I would say nothing fantastic and you can definitely get a similar or better deal here in Singapore.
Because I have to take into consideration that you dont serve NS, the time and money invested in getting a double degree,
I dont have issue with the country, just talking about racist tension among the australians. You are the one that have issue with people talking about your beloved australia.
well said.Originally posted by Watch It!:... we heard all sides ...
... MAKE UP YOUR OWN MINDS NOW! ...
... case closed ...
... move on people ...
the problem here is that there is always news about new racial tension in australia. Am i suppose to just keep quite and pretend that nothing is happening?Originally posted by sgdiehard:well said.![]()
Yeah. I agree strongly with you...Originally posted by Watch It!:... we heard all sides ...
... MAKE UP YOUR OWN MINDS NOW! ...
... case closed ...
... move on people ...
This is getting old , I also agree with you. Really it is up to people to decide for themselves - not some individual digging up articles to highlight a negative in another country when he does NOT even live there to be concerned about what he thinks is BIG news .Originally posted by bangkokboy:Yeah. I agree strongly with you...
They can call John So, the mayor, in the middle of Melbourne Chinatown that and we see what happenOriginally posted by Ignatiaus:My friend in Sydney encountered some racist slurs on the streets.
Some group of aussies walking opposite him bump against him then never say sorry.
Then at my friend's back they turned around and they said
"Yeah! Keep on walking! Fried Rice! F**kin Fried Rice"
My friend totally ignored them but it peeved the hell outta him.
Yeah, if you're c hinese in Singapore, it's all too easy to call another country racist. Take a good look at yourself first..Originally posted by fymk:Well I was also told by my Singaporean Indian friend that companies in Singapore discriminate against her. So Gazelle , what's your purpose now? Attacking a country which won't take you in?
Also ...I always remember Singaporean sales girl like to serve ang moh first. Here in Australia they serve asians first ....that's in Tiffany and Co, LV etc.
It is only usually the uneducated trash who are racist and worse - easily forgiveable but ...own kind discriminating against own like the "get out of elite uncaring face"girl, that one is unforgiveable.
Do u really think singapore is free of racism?Originally posted by Gazelle:the problem here is that there is always news about new racial tension in australia. Am i suppose to just keep quite and pretend that nothing is happening?
where's your sense of humour?Originally posted by menoob:I studied in aus for 2 yrs, n i would say aussies r very racist towards their aborigines. often u will see people staring n giving the fug-off look to abos. Heard from my classmates, abo dont get job(or cant get) so they feed on gov welfare(i.e the tax payers $$). aussies view them as a burden.
me, a sg chinese experienced mild racism too
i was in a casino bar, n there is this angmoh drunkard showing me his kongfu moves n trashtalking. i was like wtf? not all chinese know kongfu ok ! stupid guy must be under influence of jackie chan
in general, i would say the aussies r mildly racist![]()
i agree that we need to read about whats happening in other c'tries. but we need to take a further step and x-reference/verify the stories for any inconsistencies or to place it within the right context.Originally posted by Gazelle:the problem here is that there is always news about new racial tension in australia. Am i suppose to just keep quite and pretend that nothing is happening?
hmm...yours talk about fried rice...at least its real chinese food!!Originally posted by Ignatiaus:My friend in Sydney encountered some racist slurs on the streets.
Some group of aussies walking opposite him bump against him then never say sorry.
Then at my friend's back they turned around and they said
"Yeah! Keep on walking! Fried Rice! F**kin Fried Rice"
My friend totally ignored them but it peeved the hell outta him.