That's why they cannot survive without us lor. Without us, where they going to get the money from?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:We are so many and they are so few and yet they can keep on taking our money to buy "shin corps" and pay themselves million dollars salaries and we cannot do anything about it!![]()
Your comments in this thread have not much contribution to this thread, honestly. What you did previously are one-line or 2-liners, or to make direct attacks at me.Originally posted by saffron60:This is the nature of the forum, if you don't like it, so be it, but you can't get people to shut up. You yourself can shut up, that would be much easier. I also got flamed a couple of times previously, because my views were unpopular and people were biased against me because of that, i talked about the die hard anti-pap before, how they 'attack' those who go against their views...but it's how the forum works, if people themselves change their attitude then you will also see a change in the forum, but if people remain the way they are, things around here will still be the same.
sounds goodOriginally posted by Slipshade:That's why they cannot survive without us lor. Without us, where they going to get the money from?
why should we fear those MIW where they be the ones to fear us....people united power is the strength and the numbers of MIW and their cronies pales in comparison....like one of the guys said the MIW do NEED us k to pay for their salaries etc....Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:sounds good![]()
BS. You try to organise a strike or something. See who's gonna join you. No one would. We are already tamed.Originally posted by kengkia:why should we fear those MIW where they be the ones to fear us....people united power is the strength and the numbers of MIW and their cronies pales in comparison....like one of the guys said the MIW do NEED us k to pay for their salaries etc....
Well, the technical privileges of being in power. The greatest fear is that should another party take over, they might just use these very same institutions to stay in power.Originally posted by chiabaliao:I wish to add to your points that in justifying the 6 member GRC, they adopted additional reasonings to suit their convenience. It's not even fair election anymore.
i knew that all along i was just venting out abt our polictical situation in sg....when will there be a day where we can enjoy true democracy true freedom not only for us but for whole of asia....Originally posted by Slipshade:BS. You try to organise a strike or something. See who's gonna join you. No one would. We are already tamed.
jbj said that lky had not said a truer word than this when he mentioned 'engineered'!Originally posted by (human):Abstract from The Straits Time wednesday March 7 2007
Singapore's brand of democracy works because the Government gives the country's citizens every reason to vote for it at elections, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said yesterday.
The country has maintained the principal of British democracy, that the electorate can vote a government out peacefully.
"But we have engineered it so carefully that they must be very stupid to vote this government out" he added.
Originally posted by lotus999:jbj said that lky had not said a truer word than this when he mentioned 'engineered'!
Chinese Democracy & a Republic of Taiwan.Originally posted by kengkia:i knew that all along i was just venting out abt our polictical situation in sg....when will there be a day where we can enjoy true democracy true freedom not only for us but for whole of asia....
The power of the nation ought to be returned to the people. The rule of obtaining a permit for demonstration must first be abolished. How many people here feel that getting permit to go demonstration is absurd and which is against human rights? It is like you are angry and you are asking “We are angry we want a license to show we are angry."Originally posted by kengkia:sad case so we are no different from past of imperialist china,stalinist russia and current communist china being squeeze every bit out of us till we become dry corpse broken bones at least for females for the males i think will become the shadow with their ns......OUR DEAR EMPEROR LKY.....WAN SUI WAN SUI WAN WAN SUI!!!!!1![]()
well said, the media is such a powerful tool to use against the government but again, its under their control and the only way we can demonstrate LEGALY is get a permit but can the message be spreaded to many ppl, furthermore say wrong thing=kena caught le.Originally posted by (human):The power of the nation ought to be returned to the people. The rule of obtaining a permit for demonstration must first be abolished. How many people here feel that getting permit to go demonstration is absurd and which is against human rights? It is like you are angry and you are asking “We are angry we want a license to show we are angry."
The Medias are all controlled by the government, the voice of the people is so small that it can hardly be heard across the nation without demonstration. Do you think they will give you a permit even if the demonstration is justified?
Imagine if we can demonstrate like people in Hong Kong do you think there will be 2% hike of GST? If we can, will the government show respect and make decision base on the people's positions and their opinions?
IT'S VERY VERY AND VERY ABSURD TO GAIN PERMIT FOR DEMO!!!i am feeling like living in a country describe in following.....Originally posted by (human):The power of the nation ought to be returned to the people. The rule of obtaining a permit for demonstration must first be abolished. How many people here feel that getting permit to go demonstration is absurd and which is against human rights? It is like you are angry and you are asking “We are angry we want a license to show we are angry."
The Medias are all controlled by the government, the voice of the people is so small that it can hardly be heard across the nation without demonstration. Do you think they will give you a permit even if the demonstration is justified?
Imagine if we can demonstrate like people in Hong Kong do you think there will be 2% hike of GST? If we can, will the government show respect and make decision base on the people's positions and their opinions?
We people want a government that is really care for the people, not a government which only concern for their pay hike by raising GST and claiming they are helping the people with all kinds of excuses.Originally posted by brokenluv:however, even tho can say the government canot live w/o us, we canot live w/o the government as well.
lky still got the cheek to say we NEED MIW to survive.....see what happens lah if all of us are gone(touch wood) then how they are gonna do....Originally posted by (human):We people want a government that is really care for the people, not a government which only concern for their pay hike by raising GST and claiming they are helping the people with all kinds of excuses.
PAP can be a good party only if they are spearheaded by a head of selfless and superior people.Originally posted by kengkia:lky still got the cheek to say we NEED MIW to survive.....see what happens lah if all of us are gone(touch wood) then how they are gonna do....![]()
That's why I take his words as humour these days. Those are arrogant words to say, and frankly, I don't give them any rating at all. He should watch his words sometimes..Originally posted by kengkia:lky still got the cheek to say we NEED MIW to survive.....see what happens lah if all of us are gone(touch wood) then how they are gonna do....![]()
he's not as entertaining and humorous as stookie.....but then ....let him be ba....how long more he can live right.....somehow his body parts are wearing out inc. his grey matter.....hence so much jiao wei coming out from himOriginally posted by LazerLordz:That's why I take his words as humour these days. Those are arrogant words to say, and frankly, I don't give them any rating at all. He should watch his words sometimes..
Not everybody might appreciate, but then again, he was addressing the Russian people..go figure.
Same as Chairman Mao in PRC when he is about to kick the basket!Originally posted by pearlie27:Don't be surprised if he is still around for another decade or more. He may even outlive some of us!
Though he has the habit of making irritating remarks, to openly admit that he has manipulated us show how overweeningly arrogant he has become!
Originally posted by Fatum:I sincerely hope you are right.
yes, but times are different ... you have to tickle the electorate's balls a bit now .... the problem with very smart people is that they assume everyone else is stupid .... and Singaporeans may be passive, but we are never stupid ....
I smell fear on the part of the govt. Fear of change, of losing absolute control, of accountability for their own actions.
this goverment is always talking about the need to adapt to the changing environment ... but why isn't itself adapting to a changing electorate ? ...
but then lky and lsl definitely cannot outlive me ,my generation and beyond.....unless they....copy qin shihuang.....but then copy that it'll shorten their lives even more taking wrong elixir....Originally posted by pearlie27:Don't be surprised if he is still around for another decade or more. He may even outlive some of us!
Though he has the habit of making irritating remarks, to openly admit that he has manipulated us show how overweeningly arrogant he has become!
True.. anyway the political climate in SG is always unfair..Originally posted by LazerLordz:The GRC is inherently racial in nature, because it formalises the race discourse and maintains a visible racial card by saying that we need an artificial race balance in each voting district. It was vital in the early years, to ensure that the idea of affirmative racial representation is put into the hearts and minds of the electorate. However, one should ask if we still need artificial race quotas that inadvertantly hinder any chances of a national melting pot.
This in theory is good, but it hampers free elections through politics of the incumbent and does not act in an affirmative way that allows for fair representation given that the GRCs are seen to be used in a package deal where you throw in a minister or two, and it feeds on the "branding" of the minister to get the electorate's support.
Futhermore, a walkover is likely to happen because the GRC element coupled with strict political funding regulations and the climate of local politics mean that the recruitment of candidates by other political parties is hindered, thus developing a lop-sided field where the number of representatives required per voting district is too large and too costly for the other parties to afford to contest.
It is not as simple as to ask why they do not contest, one has to take into account the entire socio-political climate, structure and numbers of potential candidates who may be deterred by this seemingly rocky playing field.