HeheheOriginally posted by Rock^Star:Aeh hem.....got something to highlight (non-topic related).
The Blessed Virgin Mary and Mary Magdalene are two different people. FYI.
I would you like to first picture yourself working at MacDonalds at the age of 70 with a host of health problems to take care of before you actually make such a statement.Originally posted by january:singapore is not a rich country, does not have natural resources.
we have some advantages that is related to our small size like low corruption, low crime, and we have to invest in areas like finance and others.
in the end, we are not a rich country. therefore, we have to understand our situation. i believe that if you have the opportunity to migrate to other countries that are richer and provide better things to citizens and yet still beats singapore in other aspects like low natural disaster, low crime rate
than you should migrate because you can have a better life.
if you do not have the chance to migrate, you should also be careful not to keep feeling angry that you do not have large pension of retiring and have to work till old age.
One day when he retires and realises there is not much in his CPF to speak of due to high HDB prices, he shall see the light.Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:I would you like to first picture yourself working at MacDonalds at the age of 70 with a host of health problems to take care of before you actually make such a statement.
Please do not say something without letting it go through the head.
I have done my part in 2006. In 2011, I hope you will get your chance too.Originally posted by reyes:I have upmost respect for the ppl of potong pasir and hougang.
these ppl has the guts to not just to voice displeasure over the ruling party policy but to put voice into actions.
too had i live in hongkah GRC. but i will wait for my time to vote.
to show my displeasure not just in forums but into action
The problem with January is that is believe that whatever policies in place now are the policies that are providing maximal benefit to Singaporeans, given the circumstances.Originally posted by january:than you should migrate because you can have a better life.
if you do not have the chance to migrate, you should also be careful not to keep feeling angry that you do not have large pension of retiring and have to work till old age.
Well, I guess in Singapore there are a few kinds of people:Originally posted by january:singapore is not a rich country, does not have natural resources.
we have some advantages that is related to our small size like low corruption, low crime, and we have to invest in areas like finance and others.
in the end, we are not a rich country. therefore, we have to understand our situation. i believe that if you have the opportunity to migrate to other countries that are richer and provide better things to citizens and yet still beats singapore in other aspects like low natural disaster, low crime rate
than you should migrate because you can have a better life.
he is a kid like that busspeeder!!!Originally posted by Fingolfin_Noldor:I would you like to first picture yourself working at MacDonalds at the age of 70 with a host of health problems to take care of before you actually make such a statement.
Please do not say something without letting it go through the head.
Not a rich country???Originally posted by january:in the end, we are not a rich country. therefore, we have to understand our situation.
January is a frog in the well. No exposure or don't even bother to know about how gahmen in other countries run their own countries. Guess the only gahmen he knows is the present ruling party in Singapore.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:The problem with January is that is believe that whatever policies in place now are the policies that are providing maximal benefit to Singaporeans, given the circumstances.
As many have pointed out, this may not be the case at all.
To use an example, out of every dollar raised from the people’s money the NKF only 10 cents went to the patients while the rest went to who-know-where. And of course how many times have you heard the excuse come up from the ex-NKF board members that they had “helped” people with whatever they did?
If I set up a big, glitzy organization but pay you only crumbs and tell you that you better be content because this is the best we can give youÂ… you can tell something is up.
January on the other hand, seems to think that all this is “natural” and “just” and simply a fact of “big picture thinking”.
I beg to differ.
not forgetting we have lots of money put it aint in the majority's handsOriginally posted by soul_rage:Not a rich country???
We are definitely rich in terms of money.
But, we are NOT rich in terms of moral values and graciousness. That I agree with you.
if january's case is an example of how a typical student filters and processes information fed to them today, I really worry for the younger generation.. after all, they are ultimately the ones who will inherit this country incl all of its problems. Do they really want to repeat the same mistakes of the past because of overconfidence?Originally posted by soul_rage:Not a rich country???
We are definitely rich in terms of money.
But, we are NOT rich in terms of moral values and graciousness. That I agree with you.
You mean pride vs arrogance?Originally posted by spinsugar:if january's case is an example of how a typical student filters and processes information fed to them today, I really worry for the younger generation.. after all, they are ultimately the ones who will inherit this country incl all of its problems. Do they really want to repeat the same mistakes of the past because of overconfidence?
Our govt is world famous for their poor investments abroad. They are overconfident, and soft from their comfortable monopoly of funds & resources in Singapore. They do not learn from their mistakes, and squander funds faster than they can collect them from the citizens. I think they have created enough evidence to condemn themselves, and anyone who wants to be enlightened need not look very far - they just have to keep a clear open mind.
It was never about defaming Singapore. There is pride, and then there's foolish pride. Which one do we want to have?
Well yes, arrogance too.. but I used "foolish pride" to indicate the foolishness in being proud of things we believe we have, but might not even exist. Like the 'emperor's new clothes'. Our government is in constant denial, and each time their built-on-clouds plans fail, no one is held accountable! When one can turn real-life failures into successes on paper and still pat themselves on the back for it, that... is real foolish pride.Originally posted by soul_rage:You mean pride vs arrogance?
And probably the Govt portrays us as arrogant scumbags of the region. Just look at how they defend their pay rise "If you have incompetent leaders, then all our women will become maids", "Look ard you to see examples of mediocre govt".
No wonder our neighbours loathe us no matter how much money we donate to help them. It must be our attitude
Soul rage - if you don't mind: correction - it is the attitude of the gahmen not us. Just listen and read the way LHL talks, it is not difficult to "detect" arrogance in him. He is just simply an empty shell!! He really has attitude problems. The recent response from him regarding Myanmar, really tells what sort of person he is!! Gahmen just discredit us, the people of Singapore!Originally posted by soul_rage:You mean pride vs arrogance?
And probably the Govt portrays us as arrogant scumbags of the region. Just look at how they defend their pay rise "If you have incompetent leaders, then all our women will become maids", "Look ard you to see examples of mediocre govt".
No wonder our neighbours loathe us no matter how much money we donate to help them. It must be our attitude
unfortunately, I have to correct you.Originally posted by rane:Soul rage - if you don't mind: correction - it is the attitude of the gahmen not us. Just listen and read the way LHL talks, it is not difficult to "detect" arrogance in him. He is just simply an empty shell!! He really has attitude problems. The recent response from him regarding Myanmar, really tells what sort of person he is!! Gahmen just discredit us, the people of Singapore!
I agree. I also get alot of "why did you vote them in?" comments.. When I tell overseas friends why alot of people didn't get to vote, they're stunned. Don't even get me started on the pay comparisons, that's when the jaws really start hanging.Originally posted by soul_rage:unfortunately, I have to correct you.
The govt is the representative of Singapore. Thus, any hiccups in international relations ultimately hit us, the ordinary Singaporean
And to tell you even more blunt truths, when other countries' people are angry with our govt, the only people they can vent their frustrations to, is us. Becoz they cannot touch the untouchable (our ministers), so ultimately, we receive the thrashing.
Also, now that the entire world knows that our bunch of ministers earn a ridiculous pay, what does that create an impression on the ordinary Singaporean?
We are all rich scumbags, and should be fleeced as much as possible, if they know this tourist is from Singapore.
Unfortunately, even though we are all poor, we are now perceived to be rich, thanks to this largely capable (at big-mouthing) govt.
LKY is the same as our ex-chairman Mao in PRC. and chiang sing is like Ho cheng!!!Originally posted by ns_cabut: