I'm just giving you a rough estimate, because the costs in Melbourne and Sydney differ from Perth, where I've a bit more knowledge, though I've not been back for two years.Originally posted by will4:Is it true cost of living in Melbourne or Sydney is lower than Spore?
If you include housing, car and make use of free govt, medical and school for kids, up until uni, in totality, yes, its lower. Then again, the same job salary scales are not the same in both countries.Originally posted by will4:Is it true cost of living in Melbourne or Sydney is lower than Spore?
No wonder a price of an HDB flat can fetch a nice house in Australia.Originally posted by LazerLordz:It depends on different sectors. Taken at absolute value,similar property is slightly cheaper, same for transportation e.g vehicle ownership.
However, your income tax is higher, but this reduction in monthly disposable income is made up by a longer-term investment for any time you get old or destitute.
Fair go. It's a concept that many Singaporeans don't understand, or think they are too superior to grasp.
please also taking consideration the interest you are paying for your mortgage because that is a killer if you are not cash rich.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I'm just giving you a rough estimate, because the costs in Melbourne and Sydney differ from Perth, where I've a bit more knowledge, though I've not been back for two years.
It depends on different sectors. Taken at absolute value,similar property is slightly cheaper, same for transportation e.g vehicle ownership.
However, your income tax is higher, but this reduction in monthly disposable income is made up by a longer-term investment for any time you get old or destitute.
Fair go. It's a concept that many Singaporeans don't understand, or think they are too superior to grasp.
As a PR in Australia, they also paid the same amount in school fees as the local Australian?Originally posted by Jontst78:If you include housing, car and make use of free govt, medical and school for kids, up until uni, in totality, yes, its lower. Then again, the same job salary scales are not the same in both countries.
Mcdonalds counter staff earn AU$20 ~ if I remember correctly. The burgers don't cost 3 times as much as SG tho.
Govt Schools/hospitals are free for PRs and citizens. Think its up till high school. For Uni, you take a govt loan, only need to pay back if your yearly income exceeds a certain threshold.Originally posted by will4:As a PR in Australia, they also paid the same amount in school fees as the local Australian?
Yes, this is true.Originally posted by Gazelle:please also taking consideration the interest you are paying for your mortgage because that is a killer if you are not cash rich.
Depends on the type of flat. Housing prices are rising in Australia.Originally posted by will4:No wonder a price of an HDB flat can fetch a nice house in Australia.
Govt loan for uni is divided into 2 categories - commonwealth supported places and full fee places .Originally posted by Jontst78:Govt Schools/hospitals are free for PRs and citizens. Think its up till high school. For Uni, you take a govt loan, only need to pay back if your yearly income exceeds a certain threshold.
Yeah Heard that Perth land prices are rising due to increasing migrants and foreign students, creating a higher demand. Probably a first choice due to proximity to Asia.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Depends on the type of flat. Housing prices are rising in Australia.
A decent three bedroom house with central ventilation (heating, no AC) and a garage + semi-articulation (sprinklers for your garden) might set you back 500k in Perth, and that's in the suburbs like Canning Vale (around 20-min drive to CBD)
Not any more for 200k now - if got , I would already buy liao. The prices in suburbs are going up to 350k range and above now for house and land.Originally posted by Jontst78:Yeah Heard that Perth land prices are rising due to increasing migrants and foreign students, creating a higher demand. Probably a first choice due to proximity to Asia.
For the benefit of those who are curious, Suburbs in Melbourne, usually, you just translate the HDB to house, to give you a general guide. eg. 2 Bedroom house with garage, about 200k. Comparable to 3 room in SG.
That's quite decent. Which part of Melbourne? South?Originally posted by Jontst78:Yeah Heard that Perth land prices are rising due to increasing migrants and foreign students, creating a higher demand. Probably a first choice due to proximity to Asia.
For the benefit of those who are curious, Suburbs in Melbourne, usually, you just translate the HDB to house, to give you a general guide. eg. 2 Bedroom house with garage, about 200k. Comparable to 3 room in SG.
North actually, if I remember correctly to the NE of Epping.Originally posted by LazerLordz:That's quite decent. Which part of Melbourne? South?
Isn't Epping considered fairly urban..Originally posted by Jontst78:North actually, if I remember correctly to the NE of Epping.
The new houses around Epping already hit 350k+.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Isn't Epping considered fairly urban..
Well, prices will rise, that's for sure..
Yea, its going up, not as fast as perth tho. Plus side is, a resident can chose move further away from city for a bigger house at same cost or vice versa.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Isn't Epping considered fairly urban..
Well, prices will rise, that's for sure..
I think the most possible reason you're confused is because you probably think hawkers and vendors are lower class.Originally posted by Daddy!!:i know quite a few working class Singaporeans who have exposure to more than 2 properties.
i know of lower than middle class singaporeans own a HDB plus a condo at Joo Chiat (moved in the condo just recently).
its a Malay couple with two kids. both worked and lived in HDB for roughly ten years before they upgraded to a condo at Joo Chiat recently. very ordinary working class.Originally posted by deathbait:I think the most possible reason you're confused is because you probably think hawkers and vendors are lower class.
they are mainstream working class, CPF contributors, malay family.Originally posted by Jontst78:Lower than middle income can own a HDB and condo? Not impossible, I'm betting not mainstream either. Would u go as far to say that the examples you cited above are then norm rather than the exception?
many middle class people living in Singapore dont pay income tax.Originally posted by HyperFocal:Maybe, the next thing we know, we'd be reading about them being charged for Tax Evasion....![]()