Originally posted by HyperFocal:Maybe, the next thing we know, we'd be reading about them being charged for Tax Evasion....![]()
I meant, whether middle working class owning 2 properties, whether norm or mainstream. Whether is it common for middle income earners to own 2 or more residential units, or is it the exception? Did you have any idea what was the combined income of that family you mention/cited as an example? Non extravagant lifestyle doesnt mean the income is low really.Originally posted by Daddy!!:they are mainstream working class, CPF contributors, malay family.
Good for them... So... What about the pple sleeping in the parks, under the void decks and generally, on the streets?Originally posted by Daddy!!:i know of another Malays family who lived in Jurong with 4 children. Both worked as real estate agents and now live in a landed terrace (99 years) in the east.
ask their children whyOriginally posted by CX:Good for them... So... What about the pple sleeping in the parks, under the void decks and generally, on the streets?
You gonna tell them to get a room?![]()
In a way it is true that FTs are helping Singapore (citizens, I am not sure though). There are good reasons why FTs are allowed here, Singapore lacks certain expertise and we need them to contribute, to impart what they have to offer. But you may not be aware that there are jobs that Singaporeans are capable of doing but FTs or FWs are doing the jobs. Just got to know a company in Singapore hires a foreigner from India or Bangladesh to work as domestic helper/cleaner in the office. A local firm hires China Chinese to work as engineers, account assistant and clerk.Originally posted by Daddy!!:the FTs are actually helping the citizens. You dont have the wisdom to see it.
All electricity is off except the switch to the fridge. They have on their part do adjustment on the meter. How could meter reading be almost the same when the family was out for two weeks. I don't believe the meter reading stuff. I am not the only one facing this, heard many people complain about it before.Originally posted by eagle:Assuming that your two weeks fall into the same monthly bill...
Did you check your meter during that period? If there's a discrepancy, you can always bring the case to Singapore Power, which if you feel that it is unnecessary to do so, you will just have to pay the bill. Surely no matter what business it is, the consumer will too have to make sure that he/she pays the correct bill.
Furthermore, are you sure every single electrical appliance was off at home before you go out?
Lastly, although the bill may be higher, was the meter usage higher? If not, then the claim about meter calculations should be removed because it is false. The only reason which i think the bill may be higher is because of
1) SP raised the price during that period
2) There was certain subsidies during some months, and some months without. Which means your higher charges may come from the month without that subsidy
Sounds like your main motive here is to stir up trouble and find fault with people. Mind your words and attitude.Originally posted by Daddy!!:somebody does not know how to read electricity bills and try to talk big in the forum.![]()
I've already explored it for u in my previous post.Originally posted by Daddy!!:ask their children why
I read in the paper some low income families earning between $600 to $800 have to moved to JB, Malaysia to save money.Originally posted by CX:Good for them... So... What about the pple sleeping in the parks, under the void decks and generally, on the streets?
You gonna tell them to get a room?![]()
Problem is some of us don't want to ASK for help cos malu. Like alot of old people rather work ganang guni also dowan open mouth and beg. I think that the govt should realise this and just "automatic" bring the benefits to them lor .... what helpline? As if alot of the old folks keep themselves up to date with helpline numbers? Most dont even noe pizza hut numberOriginally posted by Gazelle:there is a helpline, if you think they talk c0ck, you can always give them a call.
Terok yes like the Mr. Tan who jumped the MRT. If you ever find out more Mr. Tan actually had applied for assistance but his request was rejected because of some other factors - may be his having a hand phone or income exceeding the help limit by a few dollars.Originally posted by mancha:In Singapore you must be a really terok case, then only you will receive welfare.
So if you own a HDB flat, with wife and kids, and you are penniless, no welfare for you, You got a house, what! That is the reasoning.
You have to be totally 'down and out' to receive a paltry handout form the government.
Your mobile phone better not ring, when you are pouring out your sob story to the minister.![]()
no.1 super poor people is a very small % of the population.Originally posted by CX:I've already explored it for u in my previous post.
It could be cos they don't have children. It could be cos they made bad decisions that led to them not having anyone to take care of them and them not having the resources to take care of themselves.
I can't say and I certainly can't judge.
My point is, shouldn't they be given some help for no better reason then that its a terrible way to spend one's twilight years sleeping on the streets.
They are singaporeans too and if they need some help, they should at least get some help.
I may not agree with the decisions they made that caused them to be in that position, but I still would not say "orh-bi-good, u deserve it".
I agree largely with your point that there are many who have pulled themselves up by their own boot-strap. But it is cruel and just plain not funny to tell that to someone who has no shoes on.
And why would the majority not agree? Cause it does not benefit them maybe?Originally posted by Daddy!!:if your politics is to take care of this very small % of the population and hammer the PAP for it, i am sorry the majority does not agree.
1) You mean you need help?Originally posted by genie99:Problem is some of us don't want to ASK for help cos malu. Like alot of old people rather work ganang guni also dowan open mouth and beg. I think that the govt should realise this and just "automatic" bring the benefits to them lor .... what helpline? As if alot of the old folks keep themselves up to date with helpline numbers? Most dont even noe pizza hut numberSome dont even noe how to go about their CPF lol
Originally posted by genie99:yes, learn not to repeat the same mistake.
And why would the majority not agree? Cause it does not benefit them maybe?
I would like to believe that we would perhaps give the poor [b]Priority? Or is it true that we have no dignity...... or self respect? Meybe its time to rob our parents of $ hmm?
We have lots to learn from foreign societies[/b]
1) Don't need help. So no right to talk?Originally posted by Gazelle:1) You mean you need help?
2) You are not one of them, so please dont talk like you are one.
3) If you claim to know so much about them, then why arent you helping them in the first place. Is it because you are only good to be a computer hero?
The biggest beneficiary to (1) will not be Singaporeans but the foreign workers in SingaporeOriginally posted by Jontst78:The problem is preventing more people from becoming down and out.
1) Perhaps a minimum wage law. Maybe a monthly rate for full time, an hourly rate for Part-timers. Need not be very high, like in Aussie for example, where its 500 plus a week. A calculated amount so that whoever works a secured a lively-hood.
Enough to pay for roof (rental or otherwise) and enuff to settle 3 meals a day, basic clothing, bus fare, clean water and other basic amenities. Maybe around 1.2k? just a very rough estimate. I don't see it raising business cost very much. Employers and business owners are not even paying their employees enough to afford the above amenities will feel the most impact tho, and employers in this category deserve that impact.
2) Welfare only for those who cannot work, unfit for work (medicaly etc..)
If you are not a social workers who have personal experience in dealing with the needy, please refrain from representing their views and needs.Originally posted by genie99:1) Don't need help. So no right to talk?
2) Doesn't mean i'm not one of them i should not voice concerns over it. If i am Singaporean i should have a right to voice my opinion about their general welfare.
3) Wouldn't changing the system so they automatically get the benefits help them? I don't have the power to do that. Not a computer hero.... and there's no pt in that anyway if nobody knows who i really am.
Well, if an employee is taking minimum wage... then its safe to assume, low skilled worker right? Perhaps then, a heavier levy can be induced for hiring of low skilled foreign workers. Maybe concessions for Construction sector, depending on the sector performance at the time.Originally posted by Gazelle:The biggest beneficiary to (1) will not be Singaporeans but the foreign workers in Singapore
Originally posted by Gazelle:If you are not a social workers who have personal experience in dealing with the needy, please refrain from representing their views and needs.
What rubbish! So by that logic, if u're not a minister or an MP then u cannot comment on new laws and govt policies lah?Originally posted by Gazelle:If you are not a social workers who have personal experience in dealing with the needy, please refrain from representing their views and needs.