He too have moved on.
Moving on to middle rock
Originally posted by Hogzilla:Sekali caught liao. But want to wait till election times then say. To show how "effective" the Home team is. Then WKS can run for next election because the next batch lackey's training not complete, haven't ORD.
This reminds me Saddam Hussein kena caught a long time before the US election but Bush adminstration kept it secret. Lucky got good media, expose the news. Singapore got good media bor?
is it ? the elecrtion is about 2.5 years aways onlys leh. can be brought earlier or nots? theoretically, hypothetically ?
Given so much curiosity and interest in the people about the whereabouts and health status of our dear abang, i wonder and wonder why ours opposite no ask on the behalf of the peoples what is the goings on with the search ops and is there any search still being conducted and if not since when was the search ops cut? and if cut, the why.
What is oppositesion doing the last 2 months in respect of serving the people?
Could someone list their contributions to the people the last 1 months ?
List of contributions de Oppositie:
1. ?
2. ?
Hi ,
Has our opposition in parli voiced this concern ?
1. Is there evidence abang is ALIVE ?
2. Is there evidence abang is DEAD ?
3. Is there evidence abang is in the PORE?
4. If abang is in the pore and can go undetected, unfound, unsmelled, unnoticed, in the pore, does this mean it is possible that despite massive man-hunt, it is possible in the pore to escape capture for 3 months or so , at the very least? If so, Should this be any concern to the humans living in the pore in terms of security?
Has the opposition raised any of the above?
Opposition as in those in the parli, not those who do not have the chance to go in there yet.
As I could not expect people to do things for me, I am doing it myself here. Raising concerns and questions. I learnt this from a decent looking gal featured on youtube about not to rely on others to speak up for you. They may have their constraints for not speaking up. can be for personal reasons.
... this topic has gone mouldy...
... the government medias have already forgotten the matter...
Originally posted by HyperFocal:... this topic has gone mouldy...
... the government medias have already forgotten the matter...
No not mouldy.. today's papers...
Will DPM Wong update the disciplinary action he is getting? pay raise just to ensure he does a better job next time?
|
MAS SELAMAT'S ESCAPE
DPM Wong to give update on disciplinary action
|
||
| Parliament to hear today of action taken against those at fault | ||
| By Clarissa Oon | ||
|
The House heard on April 21 how a confluence of security breaches and weaknesses at the Whitley Road Detention Centre allowed the terrorist to escape. He had been held there under the Internal Security Act since March 2006. The breaches included a ventilation window that was not secured properly, and guards who let him out of their line of sight. After considering Criminal Investigation Department findings which showed no evidence of criminal wrongdoing, the Attorney-General's Chambers decided not to lay criminal charges against any individual. Instead, it was decided that disciplinary action be taken against the guards, detention centre staff, and any others found culpable. 'There is a proper process for disciplinary action under Civil Service or Police Force rules and this must take its course,' Mr Wong told Parliament last month. Contacted by The Straits Times, the Public Service Commission (PSC) said it has authority over the discipline and dismissal of civil servants, as vested under Article 103 of the Constitution and the Public Service (Disciplinary Proceedings) Regulations. However, certain categories of officers, such as junior police officers, will be disciplined by the police under the Police Force Act. According to the PSC's 2007 annual report, it handled 30 disciplinary cases last year under the Public Service Regulations. Sexual offences and cases of immoral behaviour made up over a third of these disciplinary cases. This was followed by cases of indebtedness as well as cases of dishonesty, embezzlement and criminal breach of trust. Another 23 disciplinary cases involving minor offences by junior civil servants were handled by the permanent secretaries of various ministries and the Director of Prisons. The PSC delegates authority to them to oversee such cases. PSC figures since 2000 show it investigated relatively few cases of negligence - arguably the charge facing those culpable for Mas Selamat's escape. However, half of these 26 cases handled by the PSC from 2000 to 2007 resulted in the dismissal of the offender. Dismissal is the most serious form of punishment that can be imposed under the Public Service Regulations, said Mrs Choo Lee See, director of the PSC Secretariat. The PSC declined to provide more details of any of the cases, on the grounds that these were confidential staff proceedings. Other punishments are retirement in the public interest, reprimands and penalties such as fines or stopping pay increments. Retirement in the public interest, explained Mrs Choo, occurs 'when it is undesirable to retain a public officer but too harsh to dismiss him due to extenuating circumstances. For example, if the officer has contributed many years of good service'. In all disciplinary cases, the officer will get an opportunity to be heard first. If he denies the charges, a panel comprising two civil servants and a Justice of Peace will be formed to investigate. |
||
We need to pay some people more money.
So that lapses like this will not happen again.
Yes.
More money. ![]()
Wong cant sing should not get performance bonus this year, Oct no increament for him. salary freezed for 2 years until Mas Selamat get caught.
Originally posted by t_a_s:Wong cant sing should not get performance bonus this year, Oct no increament for him. salary freezed for 2 years until Mas Selamat get caught.
Nonsense.
He should get a salary increment and a bigger bonus than other ministers.
So that it is worthwhile for him to make sure the departments under him are working properly.
No increment and bonus, then why bother to work so hard? ![]()
I think we are being too critical on the govt here. Look at how much they have done for us and now we are harping over their salary issue and now this blunder...not to belittle this mistake though. How about we try for some compassion and appreciate them for a change?
Hah! Faith Pudding, better dun say too much. The folks here are running their own propaganda here... you say too much and don't support their view of whacking the govt, you will be labelled as pro-govt lackey, no mind of your own, no guts to stand up to authority...
I wonder if discussion forums were ever meant to be fair and objective anyway. Many take the chance to vent their frustrations, but not sure what they are frustrated about. Perhaps its the hectic pace of life in S'pore. All the pent up anger. S'pore got no natural getaway, no mountain to climb, no forest to trek, no big waves to surf, no valleys to bungee. Damn sad, so with all the stress and lack of avenues for people to vent and chill, its no wonder how come there're so many angry and unhappy people. I'm sure its not because they are starving or hungry or without shelter, like the Sichuan or Myanmar victims. I'm sure our folks here often got aircon comfort, got Lays potato chips to munch on, got decent clothes to wear. Yet, they seem on a crusade to crucify those in power, because they feel powerless. They are perhaps rebels trying desperately hard to find a cause! If so, why aren't they doing volunteerism, going to Myanmar TODAY to help rebuild, instead of moaning in safe safe Singapore??? Why aren't they leading by example, walking their talk?
Having said all the above, I'm sure these angry people will attack me and say "what about you??" Well, I'm not the one slamming the world around me.. I'm not the one drawing blood at the sight of other people's mistakes. I should like to say that whoever is so bent on drawing blood, they should NEVER EVER EVER make any mistakes in their own lives. For there will always be an equal and opposite reaction. They better not screw up in their own lives, or they will be hunted down, just like they are baying for blood now.
... well, regardless...
... the truth remains at large, and perhaps was likely dead...
Blood sucker, take so much money !!
looks like they have already close this chapter. congrats...WKS. if i may borrow the line from "Just for Laugh"
"Mummy.....It's overr......"
Originally posted by Ponders:No not mouldy.. today's papers...
Will DPM Wong update the disciplinary action he is getting? pay raise just to ensure he does a better job next time?
MAS SELAMAT'S ESCAPEDPM Wong to give update on disciplinary action Parliament to hear today of action taken against those at fault By Clarissa Oon WHEN Parliament meets today, Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng is expected to give an update on disciplinary action in the wake of the Mas Selamat escape.The House heard on April 21 how a confluence of security breaches and weaknesses at the Whitley Road Detention Centre allowed the terrorist to escape. He had been held there under the Internal Security Act since March 2006.
The breaches included a ventilation window that was not secured properly, and guards who let him out of their line of sight.
After considering Criminal Investigation Department findings which showed no evidence of criminal wrongdoing, the Attorney-General's Chambers decided not to lay criminal charges against any individual. Instead, it was decided that disciplinary action be taken against the guards, detention centre staff, and any others found culpable.
'There is a proper process for disciplinary action under Civil Service or Police Force rules and this must take its course,' Mr Wong told Parliament last month.
Contacted by The Straits Times, the Public Service Commission (PSC) said it has authority over the discipline and dismissal of civil servants, as vested under Article 103 of the Constitution and the Public Service (Disciplinary Proceedings) Regulations.
However, certain categories of officers, such as junior police officers, will be disciplined by the police under the Police Force Act.
According to the PSC's 2007 annual report, it handled 30 disciplinary cases last year under the Public Service Regulations. Sexual offences and cases of immoral behaviour made up over a third of these disciplinary cases. This was followed by cases of indebtedness as well as cases of dishonesty, embezzlement and criminal breach of trust.
Another 23 disciplinary cases involving minor offences by junior civil servants were handled by the permanent secretaries of various ministries and the Director of Prisons. The PSC delegates authority to them to oversee such cases.
PSC figures since 2000 show it investigated relatively few cases of negligence - arguably the charge facing those culpable for Mas Selamat's escape. However, half of these 26 cases handled by the PSC from 2000 to 2007 resulted in the dismissal of the offender.
Dismissal is the most serious form of punishment that can be imposed under the Public Service Regulations, said Mrs Choo Lee See, director of the PSC Secretariat. The PSC declined to provide more details of any of the cases, on the grounds that these were confidential staff proceedings.
Other punishments are retirement in the public interest, reprimands and penalties such as fines or stopping pay increments.
Retirement in the public interest, explained Mrs Choo, occurs 'when it is undesirable to retain a public officer but too harsh to dismiss him due to extenuating circumstances. For example, if the officer has contributed many years of good service'.
In all disciplinary cases, the officer will get an opportunity to be heard first. If he denies the charges, a panel comprising two civil servants and a Justice of Peace will be formed to investigate.
eh?
howcome from one thing went to talk abt another thing leh?
so what's the conclusion?
Originally posted by Mospeada:eh?
howcome from one thing went to talk abt another thing leh?
so what's the conclusion?
WKS conclusion: i already punished them. let move on and forget this incident. After all, i'm a talent. rmb?
AFP - Tuesday, May 27
SINGAPORE (AFP) - - Singapore has sacked the superintendent of a detention centre where an alleged extremist leader escaped through a toilet window, the interior minister said Monday, while his deputy has been demoted.
Two elite Nepalese Gurkha guards who had escorted Mas Selamat Kastari to the toilet were also demoted, Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng told parliament.
Kastari, the alleged Singapore leader of the extremist group Jemaah Islamiyah (JI), made his escape from Whitley Road Detention Centre on February 27 after asking for a break during a visit by family members.
His flight punctured Singapore's reputation for solid security and sparked the biggest manhunt in the country's history.
Kastari remains at large and is believed to have fled to neighbouring Indonesia, where other JI leaders are suspected to be based.
The superintendent and his deputy were the two most senior officers in charge of "ground management" at the centre, which is run by the Internal Security Department, Wong said.
The pair were "held accountable for the lack of supervision over the subordinate officers implicated, which resulted in lapses" that enabled Kastari to escape, the minister said.
A special duty operative, her supervisor, two other officers and the chief warder were also disciplined, Wong said.
An inquiry into the escape cited windows without grilles, surveillance cameras that were not working and a slow reaction from guards as likely contributing to Kastari's flight.
Kastari was accused of plotting to hijack a plane in order to crash it into Singapore's Changi Airport in 2001 but was never charged. He was being held in the city-state under a law that allows for detention without trial.
hi forum,
at least one good thing cum out of this incident of abang.
And that is, it showed the world
the level of ACCOUNTABILITY of the pore gubbymen.
This case is related to national security and TERRORISM and indirectly the lives of people living here.
For such issues, I can now gauge how the gubbymen will handle in respect to ACCOUNTABILITY and HONESTY and INTEGRITY.
of course, I am talking about the good of it. U belif me or not? why would I say in this public forum anything bad?
In the tough real world of private sector, CEOs paid millions are accountable for even non-life threatening issues. CEOs lives are tough and they have to constantly perform and any mistake will be dealt with by the company as they live in a world where no one owes them a living, not like the CEO's fudder owns the company or he inherited the company where he is the son , the fudder and the chairman and majority share holder of the INC. Well, in this abang case, erm....what should i say....erm...the buck stopped at the director and thus he is our 'CEO'. Well, at least this is the impression I get.
to all secondary school, JC, Poly and university students... next time when you don't hand in homework and the teacher asked why, just say, "this should never have happened, I am sorry it happened"
then tell the teacher that you will investigate why you did not do homework.
after investigation, blame your teacher for giving you homework.
Originally posted by Ponders:to all secondary school, JC, Poly and university students... next time when you don't hand in homework and the teacher asked why, just say, "this should never have happened, I am sorry it happened"
then tell the teacher that you will investigate why you did not do homework.
after investigation, blame your teacher for giving you homework.
Make sure you tell the teacher "Let's move on" ![]()
Next time if a son is caught and convicted of murder, hang the mother and father, afterall it's called 'accountability'. Who else is accountable for the son other than the parents?
Is this the way this society wants - in the interest of 'accountability', hang parents for the wrongs perform by the child?
Are we all so blind that we do not investigate if it is systemic or operator error and accord blame and punishment to fit for the correct person?
So, next time you hear someone who wants WKS's head, take note, if that someone gains power, mothers or fathers may be hanged for the crimes of the son, in the name of accountability across the board, equal for all.
Originally posted by Point_blank:Next time if a son is caught and convicted of murder, hang the mother and father, afterall it's called 'accountability'. Who else is accountable for the son other than the parents?
Is this the way this society wants - in the interest of 'accountability', hang parents for the wrongs perform by the child?
Are we all so blind that we do not investigate if it is systemic or operator error and accord blame and punishment to fit for the correct person?
So, next time you hear someone who wants WKS's head, take note, if that someone gains power, mothers or fathers may be hanged for the crimes of the son, in the name of accountability across the board, equal for all.
The son after he reaches adulthood, the parents pretty much leave him to his life. he murders someone, he is responsible.
If the parents grew up teaching the son how to kill, then yes, they should be accountable. (e.g. Anthony Ler case, although it is not a father/son case)
For WKS, do remember this is not the first time such a thing has happened. Since WKS has been home affairs minister, 3 prominent persons managed to give the system a slip.
The system had allowed a grille-less window, non-functioning CCTV in a sensitive installation.
This is a government contract, you dun just call your yellow-page guy to install a CCTV. Director has to submit a proposal, find quotation, and after delivery, submit post-comissioning report...
if cctv hasn't been working (in an sensitve installation), wouldn't a person in competant authority ask why there is no follow up in the proposal.
Mr Ponders,
My kudos to you sir for your analysis.
I could not have thought of it.
I start to wonder, for high security detention center, which is chosen (by who?) to be the housing place for Terrorist Leader , is the chief of all chief the ultimate one who approves of any installation of CCTV security system for the DC?
Does he know there is no cctv? And how did abang manage to walk out from the outside of the toilet, pass thru the gates or climb over the high walls or gates as shown on tv? totally without anyone detecting?
If so Why was it not inplace before and during the detention of not just anyone but a Terrorist LEADER who is said to be DANGEROUS and he is one who has a PROVEN TRACK RECORD of having the capability to ESCAPE a detention area? That may had been in indon or somewhere. Having this knowledge way before his escape, was any measure and precautions taken in this respect?
Based on the astonishing loopholes reported, there is very little excuse for him not to attempt to escape one more time.
Sad. Sad that the standard is not as high as expected. I thot standards are high high one.
Sad. I hope indonesia learns something from this episode which also happened to them. Their chief must be more aware that it takes more effort to do a good job.
Originally posted by charlize:
Make sure you tell the teacher "Let's move on"
'It was a honest mistake'