So now PB belongs to Singapore, Middle Rocks belongs to M'sia,
South Ledge..... Another battle to be fought?
Coz Awn Shawkat AL-KHASAWNEH read the judgement for the South Ledge as belonging to the "State in the territorial waters of which it is located."...... So means that there's gonna be another hearing to decide who owes the territorial waters surrounding the rocks?
OH, btw, Awn Shawkat AL-KHASAWNEH was reading this http://www.icj-cij.org/docket/files/130/14492.pdf PDF document, 81 pages long.. Made me fall asleep a few times!!
How to draw the boundary of the territorial waters with this kind of judgement?![]()
Share the cost of patroling the seas surrounding these three territories.
Whatever lah..... Judgement is already out.
Most likely it will get more messy more than ever..... let Malaysia built their own IR on the 2 rocks lor.... or a flag pole to rise their flags on....... hahaha, at least PM Badawi won't get to badly a 'Flaming' from Umno or Dr M for losing to S'pore..... then can keep 2 smaller peice of 'Rock'.....
Originally posted by wheelcamp:
Listened to the CNA live, heard the judge said 12-4 ruling in favour of Pedra Branca to Singapore and 15-1 ruling in favour of Middle Rock to Malaysia. Not sure though. Let's move on!
It was commented that SG had not shown that it had a claim over middle rock, which in all fairness, is true. Our arguments were centered on PB and I guess it shows that the SG team put up a strong case for PB.
I don't agree with the judgement because its potentially another can of worms. But in all fairness, it was a judgement based on sound application of intl law: i.e. because MY has a historical title to the islets in the area, and both countries had agreed for the judgement to be rendered separately, they had to render a judgement that gave due recognition to that context.
MY had shown it had title, so it got the middle rocks. In the same way, it had shown that it never regarded PB as theirs (in fact, they denied it) and SG had effectively controlled the island, we got PB.
South ledge is a low tide elevation so that brings with it its own complications so the only fair way is to split it according to the maritime boundaries of each state.
There's no need for any further disputes.
It is sad, to have a 3rd party to decide, but as both can't agree, the court's decision is final.
Both sides had agreed to abide by the court's decision.
Both country respects the law, for without law, we are no more than animals.
If anyone else dispute the court's decision, they would be deem to have no respect for the law.
And as for territorial waters, let's look at it this way:-
The main island is ours, the rock theirs, - therefore we have as much rights to travel on those waters as much as theirs, for recreation and fishing industry - waters which are far from our country :-P
Any disputes or civil suit, just have to refer to that court decision awarding us rights to that land and with that land, waters surrounding it as well. We just have to learn to live side by side and share.
Time to roll out the BBQ pits!!! :-P
Here is a short website with the Wikipedia write-up and some suggestions for development on the Pedra Branca development!
by the way, where are those jokers who said that we'll lose PB?
Hmm, actually, i wonder where are the other 2 rocks exactly located. Wiki said both are South of PB, which doesn't make sense to me ...
Originally posted by CX:by the way, where are those jokers who said that we'll lose PB?
I was the 'joker' that said we'll lose PB.
So the country won PB. what did you win?
Originally posted by Detached:
I was the 'joker' that said we'll lose PB.So the country won PB. what did you win?
The right to rub your noses in it?
Originally posted by Typhoon:The right to rub your noses in it?
If that is what he won, so be it. Must be a grand prize ![]()
Anyway, did anyone who was happening to watch the live telecast saw Mr Tommy Koh, our Ambassador-at-Large dozing off during the judge's reading of the verdict? The camera jus nice happened to snap him waking up abruptly from his sleep.. wahaha..
Originally posted by superlibra:Anyway, did anyone who was happening to watch the live telecast saw Mr Tommy Koh, our Ambassador-at-Large dozing off during the judge's reading of the verdict? The camera jus nice happened to snap him waking up abruptly from his sleep.. wahaha..
Hahaha.... can you blame Tommy Koh. Everyone just want to hear the final answer. It's like S'pore Pools telling you ever winning Number from the very 1st draw to this very day..... when all you wanted was the Number for today..... ![]()
Btw..... where is - idwar - and his/her pics of Malaysia's 'float-able' Main Battle Tanks..... ![]()
what does Ambassador-at-Large mean?
Originally posted by dukedracula:tommy is too senior to be an ambassador…so they gave him this title to be able to do anything but not everything…i don’t think he was dozing, from a different angle you can see him scribbling….
the head lowering action seemed to look like he's scribbling something, until his abrupt head lifting action and then acting-like-everything-is-normal action.. definitely was sleeping.. but.. who can blame him.. lol....
Originally posted by hloc:
Hahaha.... can you blame Tommy Koh. Everyone just want to hear the final answer. It's like S'pore Pools telling you ever winning Number from the very 1st draw to this very day..... when all you wanted was the Number for today.....
Btw..... where is - idwar - and his/her pics of Malaysia's 'float-able' Main Battle Tanks.....
LOL....... nice analogy!
Channel NewsAsia - 1 hour 1 minute ago
SINGAPORE: Singapore’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) said it is pleased with the judgement of the International Court of Justice (ICJ), which awarded sovereignty of the Pedra Branca island to Singapore on Friday.
But the ministry said the judgement is not totally in Singapore’s favour as the court has awarded Middle Rocks to Malaysia and has decided that South Ledge belongs to the country in whose territorial waters it is located.
Even though Singapore had argued that these features are part of Pedra Branca, MFA said it accepts the court’s decision.
The Foreign Ministry added that the judgement brings to a closure a longstanding territorial dispute between Malaysia and Singapore.
Both countries will discuss the steps and procedures to implement the court’s decision. Officials from both sides had already been in discussion prior to the announcement of the judgement.
Responding to queries on the implications of the ICJ’s decision regarding Singapore’s entitlement to territorial maritime zones around Pedra Branca, an MFA spokesman said that the court was not asked to determine such questions of maritime space or boundary delimitation.
But Singapore’s rights and interests on these matters will be pursued in accordance with international law.
A 1980 press statement from MFA had said that Singapore has an Exclusive Economic Zone and a territorial sea limit that extends up to a maximum of 12 nautical miles. This is consistent with the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of 10 December 1982.
Singapore’s Foreign Ministry said the precise coordinates of Singapore’s territorial sea and Exclusive Economic Zone will be announced at an appropriate time.
Should the limits of its territorial sea or Exclusive Economic Zone overlap with claims of neighbouring countries, Singapore will negotiate with those countries with a view to arrive at agreed delimitations, in accordance with international law. — CNA/so
So Singapore got the PB island. Malaysia got Middle Rocks which are less than 1km to the south ( 0.6 nautical miles). This means Singapore waters extend 0.3 nm southwards only, to the half way mark to Middle Rocks. Norrthwards Singapore gets 3 nm. as Johore is about 7 km away
It also means Malaysian ships can cut into PB waters to get to Middle Rocks...right of free passage.....without having to ask for permission.
.jpg)
See map.....Sinagpore gets half of middle Channel. Malaysia gets whole of South Channel.....unless Singapore kpkb and starts her nonsense with South Ledge
This is so called win win judgement.
Ok ok cool down,
U will be the Judge.
Read the judgement see if it can convince u.
Law is not mysterious and rocket science.
A layman should be able to understand the agruement.
http://www.icj-cij.org/docket/files/130/14492.pdf?PHPSESSID=61bb0c8be43398c0edf2e8b7d96d61dc
http://www.icj-cij.org/homepage/index.php?lang=en
23 May 2008
CASE CONCERNING SOVEREIGNTY OVER PEDRA BRANCA/PULAU BATU PUTEH, MIDDLE ROCKS AND SOUTH LEDGE (MALAYSIA/SINGAPORE)
JUDGMENT
Present: Vice-President AL-KHASAWNEH, Acting President; Judges RANJEVA, SHI, KOROMA, PARRA-ARANGUREN, BUERGENTHAL, OWADA, SIMMA, TOMKA, ABRAHAM, KEITH, SEPÚLVEDA-AMOR, BENNOUNA, SKOTNIKOV; Judges ad hoc DUGARD, SREENIVASA RAO; Registrar COUVREUR.
In the case concerning sovereignty over Pedra Branca/Pulau Batu Puteh, Middle Rocks and South Ledge,
between
Malaysia,
represented by
H.E. Tan Sri Abdul Kadir Mohamad, Ambassador-at-Large, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malaysia, Adviser for Foreign Affairs to the Prime Minister,
as Agent;...
and
the Republic of Singapore,
represented by
H.E. Mr. Tommy Koh, Ambassador-at-Large, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Singapore, Professor of Law at the National University of Singapore,
as Agent;....

Haha, that's a really nice spin of the situation Idwar.
I'll rather not speculate and leave the details to the joint committees of both nations to elaborate on.
Singapore should promote acid rain on the middle rocks, in afew years time, there won't be any more middle rocks, then south ledge will belong to Singapore as it will have territorial jurisdiction.
Originally posted by eagle:Later they cannot reach a decision, so split into 2.
1 halve owned by Sg, 1 halve owned by Malaysia
Then how?
Wah I so accurate ah ![]()
Originally posted by eagle:Wah I so accurate ah
Got bookies taking bet or not?
Next time invest some $$$ into it. ![]()