Originally posted by huzane89:
too bad for your "honour".FTs may work here, have jobs that no s'porean youths want. But at the end of the day, they would think of going back to their homeland. Retire in india, phillipine or wherever they came from. At the end of the day, they would go back. Ask any maids, or bangladesh or china nurses etc. Would they want to retire and live in singapore? Of course not, they family is back in their homeland. They are just here to work. If singapore is at war, would they defend it? Most likely they would go home.
If they stayed and worked on this land, then of course, their children would be considered as "true" singaporeans.
"True" singaporeans deserve our birth rights. That's what our ancestors did, came here and build a future for their decendents.
Of course, i am not of your rank. You are lower than me. I wont want to "dirty" myself.
Too early to be high...isn't it?
old people die faster. its just a matter of time before they do. sadly thats the case. dying is just a fact of life. faster die lohh
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Too early to be high...isn't it?
self-edification. -.-
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Nobody would say they leave for the sake of leaving. I've heard people migrating because they don't want their children to be subjected to the tough competition in the education system here, especially learning Chinese. Some parents believe with the education here, their children can go anywhere in the world after that.
Migrating today is much easier than it was before, from the point of preparation, not in terms of acceptance by the host countries. Last time many people migrated to the UK or Australia only after 1 visit. Today people can do all kinds of preparations before they go. I would say earlier migrants were taking much greater risk than we do today.
In the past, people migrated with no plan to return. Today people leave their CPF money behind, leave their HDB flat or other properties behind, just in case.
Singapore is never a place to be migrated to, because it is small and vulnerable. This factor alone is making many people think hard if they should convert their PR to citizenship. The question is how far Singapore can continue to go. Political stability, its ability to survive among the neighboring countries (don't tell me this is PAP propaganda), just a few questions. In Australia, if the local whites and the lebonese riot on the streets in the gold coast, you go to Sydney, and when the bush fire come, you move to Perth. In Singapore, a major incident in Geylang, we go on the boat if the situation is not contained. Don't tell me this is PAP propaganda.
But what me and my family experienced so far is that my parents made the right choice. The people (those older ones) of Singapore were united and determined to build a nation, my parents trusted them and decided to be part of this nation building.
Leaving is indeed a difficult decision requiring complicated deliberation, it is not just about LKY.
in those days of old, coming to singapore is always a `right choice' because the playing field is more even and every one has a decent chance to succeed if he/she is willing to work hard and has a bit of good fortune on his/her side. the singapore today offers a different proposition.
the world is smaller today. moving around is so much easier than say 20 years ago. there is no need to `uproot completely'. if singapore government were to be as arrogant in the past as to shun returning singaporeans, it will be to their detriment and their loss.
my main`push' is education. i have considered it a risk worth taking even as i value greatly the chinese that is taught in singapore. no doubt the new world order will center around china in the next decade or two, but all these baloney about needing to know chinese is overblown. firstly, chinaman will pick up english faster than you think. 5-10 years from now, the chinese would want to negotiate with you in english. even today, the business associates i deal with in china all have an above average grasp of spoken and written english. this is true in bigger companies. the smaller sme's will catch up, i am sure. so, the need to know chinese, while still is important, will diminish over time.
being `stifled' here (perceived or otherwise) is a close second.
my kids may wish to return if they want to. i will not stop them. for me, i will not return permanently other than on hols/work. even if i were to yearn for year long sunshine peppered with occasional thunderstorm, i will go live in malaysia and thailand in my twilight years. for starter, i don't wish to work beyond 60. this new dawn in singapore for the working old is not my thing. i got other things i need to do.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Too early to be high...isn't it?
I am very sober.
You, my foreign "friend", you are too high for too long already. want me to get you a cup of coffee to sober you up?
You see, almost everybody here, a true singaporean is not with you. You should do some self-refleaction on who you really. But really, we already know.
Its okay to stay in singapore, just know your place.
Originally posted by redDUST:in those days of old, coming to singapore is always a `right choice' because the playing field is more even and every one has a decent chance to succeed if he/she is willing to work hard and has a bit of good fortune on his/her side. the singapore today offers a different proposition.
the world is smaller today. moving around is so much easier than say 20 years ago. there is no need to `uproot completely'. if singapore government were to be as arrogant in the past as to shun returning singaporeans, it will be to their detriment and their loss.
my main`push' is education. i have considered it a risk worth taking even as i value greatly the chinese that is taught in singapore. no doubt the new world order will center around china in the next decade or two, but all these baloney about needing to know chinese is overblown. firstly, chinaman will pick up english faster than you think. 5-10 years from now, the chinese would want to negotiate with you in english. even today, the business associates i deal with in china all have an above average grasp of spoken and written english. this is true in bigger companies. the smaller sme's will catch up, i am sure. so, the need to know chinese, while still is important, will diminish over time.
being `stifled' here (perceived or otherwise) is a close second.
my kids may wish to return if they want to. i will not stop them. for me, i will not return permanently other than on hols/work. even if i were to yearn for year long sunshine peppered with occasional thunderstorm, i will go live in malaysia and thailand in my twilight years. for starter, i don't wish to work beyond 60. this new dawn in singapore for the working old is not my thing. i got other things i need to do.
in those old days, Singapore was a 'right choice' only if you spoke English, and if you were educated in English. A cambridge 9th grade, equivalent to today's O level would be enough to land one a executive civil servant job here. But with a degree from any universities from Taiwan, or China, your education is not recognised. The playing field was not level.
If we were looking for an english speaking environment, UK and Australia would be the 'right choice'. To me, being able to speak Mandarin is more becoming an advantage, compared to what it was before. But it is not an issue I wish to discuss.
My relatives who had migrated to UK, now holding British passport, had done well. Properties prices all went up, much more than Singapore. If Singapore were the right place to migrate at that time, UK would be the 'best' place. But wherever you go, you all need to work hard.
My parents did their part. I am doing my part to give my children the education and whatever means they need to make their own decision, here or anywhere else. As for my old age, I don't want to work after 60, and if my plan works right, I should retire at 55. Though now I say I diehard for Singapore, but if Singapore were to be run by some "true" singaporean who only know how to cash in from their ancestor's savings, and change the sky, I will migrate, too. Either I move to where you are, or we switch places. That would be interesting.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:
My parents did their part. I am doing my part to give my children the education and whatever means they need to make their own decision, here or anywhere else. As for my old age, I don't want to work after 60, and if my plan works right, I should retire at 55. Though now I say I diehard for Singapore, but if Singapore were to be run by some "true" singaporean who only know how to cash in from their ancestor's savings, and change the sky, I will migrate, too. Either I move to where you are, or we switch places. That would be interesting.
Retire at age 55. Are you sure? Do you have millions in your bank acct. Most likely you'll have to work until the age of 62 and maybe even more.
If you have millions in your bank acct, it is unlikely that you work for ppl. Either you are in business or inherited it from your parents.
What makes you think being a "true" singaporeans means we are rich? Generations of singaporeans doesnt mean that there's alot of money saved. Typical Malaysian to think that all singaporeans are rich. Haiz.
Migrate when situation changed in singapore. Wah! you are a sg die hard aint you. Leave when there is trouble, come when its easy.
Originally posted by Midlusionz:My colleague has already have plans to migrate to Australia with his whole family lol well i feel happy for him thou.
How old is ur colleauge? Many local prefer to go to Australia.
Originally posted by DeerHunter:
That's true. But then it would be up to SAF to work out solutions, or if you have any that could help, i am sure they would be appreciative.Any country and society would be concerned with brain drain, not just ours. But at the end of the day, we have to be practical and be more concerned about the big percentage that stay, and give them the best administration one can, and work on solutions that will give the next 1000 leavers better economic reasons to stay, afterall, most of them are chinese, and be honest, no $ no talk. Either we try to make them more civic concious - think more about society than money, or encourage more high value foreign investments that pays better.
I think for I to advise people to downgrade is better cause it is no fun to serve the country for two year n getting permanent physical or psychiatric injury.
Mrs Lee's condition, anyone knows?
Heard from a reliable source that empress dowager gone already..(just haven't announce)
It is a joke that they cannot be transparent about the moving-on of their kin.
So much for transparency.
What is there to hide ?
Let's move on.
This is still family affair... its not that she's a public figure..
Hope this royal family is not using "public" money for her treatment.
Or else we will be enjoying a feast of fee hikes for the coming months to cover another lobang.
Wat do you think? money out from their own pocket?? I highly doubt..
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Hope this royal family is not using "public" money for her treatment.
Or else we will be enjoying a feast of fee hikes for the coming months to cover another lobang.
No need to use public marnee bah.... their family is very rich ok ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:No need to use public marnee bah.... their family is very rich ok ?
hard to say. still rmb the shin corp incident?
that time i already knew that something going to go up. and true enough, our GST went up. conincident?
Originally posted by freedom4ever:hard to say. still rmb the shin corp incident?
that time i already knew that something going to go up. and true enough, our GST went up. conincident?
Thaksin already kena banned by court to go to other countries.
i hereby apologize to all who were grief stricken or upset when i said to exclude empress lee from hatred of emperor and crown prince lee. i deeply regret i said such words as i did not know empress lee was also actively invloved n the political decisions made by emperor lee and also advising him how to siphon more money from the common citizens.
so should empress lee do pass away soon...no empathy nor any form of regret would be felt by me.
Originally posted by antievildoer:Heard from a reliable source that empress dowager gone already..(just haven't announce)
can't be. They will sure announce.
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Hope this royal family is not using "public" money for her treatment.
Nothing is impossible with the Lee Dynasty.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Nothing is impossible with the Lee Dynasty.
Haha.
Originally posted by antievildoer:Heard from a reliable source that empress dowager gone already..(just haven't announce)
It's high time (even if she isn't dead, it's just a matter of time). She's been quite a nuisance and a drain on public resources, hasn't she?
With the debacle in London a few years back (whoever having the misfortune of picking up the call at 10 Downing Street must have been cursing his luck for having been deprived of sleep over a matter of negligible importance; not to mention the subsequent immediate transformation of a commercial national carrier into a personal medical aircraft at the behest of a certain fascist at the expense of the state), her demise would certainly come as a welcome blessing to those who have been shouldering a useless burden whose contributions certainly do not commensurate with the benefits she has been receiving.
Originally posted by Fantagf:can't be. They will sure announce.
There have been news circulating around and recently this was confirmed by a very reliable source (can't reveal as it might get some pple into trouble). Unbelieveable it might seem, they could have certain reasons unknown to us as to why they chose to withhold releasing the news for time being.
Looking at the running Gods who we had bred here, we r very disappointed with them especially those Malaysians who will run away 2gether with children when the sky changed!!!!
Do u know who they r?