This is what happens when you have dishonorable despots in power. This is just like the other despots run country's melamine milk saga. AFTER children have died and upwards of 50000 are in hospital, they "review" what happened instead of engaging dissidents and oppostition warning them of an impending crisis.
The press are powerless to highlight the issue because they are censored / self-censored so that senile old dishonorable despots can cling on to power to take massive amounts of public money for their own, their relatives and cronies' pockets.

Date Posted: 31 Oct 2008 2146 hrs (SST)
SINGAPORE: Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong has stressed that Singapore's financial system is stable, adding the government is now studying the impact of the financial crisis on the economy.
July 2007
BTW you people know that the market crashed today? [page: 1, 2, 3,... 25, 26, 27]
November 2007
Looks like its getting really serious.... [page: 1, 2, 3,... 42, 43, 44]
Jan 2008
It no longer just Looks like its getting really serious..... [page: 1, 2, 3,... 13, 14, 15]
If they had done it in July 2007 (or Nov 2007 or Jan 2008 or even June 2008 - Looks like it is getting serious again....) that might have counted for something. These dishonorable despots are only interested in stiffling dissent, persecuting dissidents and opposition for their own and party benefits; and only AFTER the depositors had lost massive amount of money DamnedBloodyBank sold and the country is in a recession....
all together now.... Damned Dishonorable Despots...
If it's stable, what impact is there to study? Another 'prudent' approach by Woody.
I don't know if the word " trimmer" can be used to describe him.
Definition of trimmer : One who changes one's opinions, especially in politics, to suit the needs of the moment.
Ok ok I get u.... Let me summarise ur point in a neat mathematical manner.
This is what PKYAP means in a precise manner....
Let G={ the set of lousiest governments in the world}
PAP(as Spore ruling party) = infimum of G
review=inaction
Hi MostWanted, long time no see u post le
The problems started in the USA and slowly spread here. It is not like they did not have warning and time. It is not like the crisis started here. Everyone thought these dishonorable idiots were on top since they are so arrogant and persecute dissidents and opposition like they are some sort of god appointed despots, (not forgeting that they are taking massive amounts of public money like they deserve it).
These same god appointed despots then tell you that Singapore is the first in Asia to go into recession. Next they tell you that $501 million was lost by the Damned Bloody Stupid Bank customers for putting their trust in their bank.
How, you ask yourself, can a BANK sell risky products to their customers when these same customers are supposed to trust the bank and put their money with them?
They could see the financial tsunami coming for months and what do they do? They waited and waited and then announced that they are going to do a body count and what, people are supposed to applaud them for doing a body count? They must forget the despots take massive amounts of public money and did nothing?
Everyone together now..... Damned Dishonorable......Des......
I am waiting for news on how government intends to deal with IR delay
They will come up with some excuse.
AndrewPKYap. I hope that you get sued by the government for posting shit in forum. Good luck
AndrewPKYap. I hope that you get sued by the government for posting shit in forum.
That will be too oppressive.
Originally posted by bcloud23b:AndrewPKYap. I hope that you get sued by the government for posting shit in forum. Good luck
Shit ornot I am sure the people like us can decide... Sue people for talking? no thank you.
It's a no brainer, their 'reviewing' is just to look at the current situation now. They don't attempt to predict the worst. But they never fail to predict the rosy news. It's part of boosting the public's confidence lah, you and I know what is happening can already. ![]()
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
The problems started in the USA and slowly spread here. It is not like they did not have warning and time. It is not like the crisis started here. Everyone thought these dishonorable idiots were on top since they are so arrogant and persecute dissidents and opposition like they are some sort of god appointed despots, (not forgeting that they are taking massive amounts of public money like they deserve it).
These same god appointed despots then tell you that Singapore is the first in Asia to go into recession. Next they tell you that $501 million was lost by the Damned Bloody Stupid Bank customers for putting their trust in their bank.
How, you ask yourself, can a BANK sell risky products to their customers when these same customers are supposed to trust the bank and put their money with them?
They could see the financial tsunami coming for months and what do they do? They waited and waited and then announced that they are going to do a body count and what, people are supposed to applaud them for doing a body count? They must forget the despots take massive amounts of public money and did nothing?
Please, even if you made the best decision to protect our nation, as long as most of our exports relys on the US, we will be affected no matter what.
Originally posted by bcloud23b:AndrewPKYap. I hope that you get sued by the government for posting shit in forum. Good luck
Right, please continue to live your life in fear, ass-dog but dont expect others to. ![]()
Which part of it is sh!t? The despot's son was not a cancer patient? The despot's wife did not get a stroke a long time ago, had brain surgery and cannot die peacefully? The despot and his relatives are not taking massive amounts of public money? So which part is sh!t?
I made this up?

Or is what I write sh!t only to as-sniffing dogs that love to lick the despots' and each other's anus?
Matt Hamblen, Computerworld
...layoffs will be made globally "across all businesses and functions" with a "little over two-thirds of these layoffs in the handset division," a spokeswoman said in an e-mail. The communications equipment maker had 66,000 employees at the end of 2007, she said.
Motorola was already in bad shape in may 08
Originally posted by eagle:Motorola was already in bad shape in may 08
expected one
u see the phone
u sian liao
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Motorola to Confirms Layoffs
Matt Hamblen, Computerworld
Nov 2, 2008 5:52 am...layoffs will be made globally "across all businesses and functions" with a "little over two-thirds of these layoffs in the handset division," a spokeswoman said in an e-mail. The communications equipment maker had 66,000 employees at the end of 2007, she said.
at least they made their move to sustain the business and openly warned the public, unlike some unethical corporations still hiding from their lost and waiting to be explode
Originally posted by noahnoah:
expected oneu see the phone
u sian liao
Their sole business is with the US army, most of the telecommunication in the US army are contracted to Motorola. H/phone is only part of the peacetime business.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Lehman had been around even before the great depression, not only survive it but thrive after it. There was a great deal of trust in that institution.
Hell! It's even older than the republic of Singapore. No one could have known it could collapse overnight, with its numerous years of profitability and excellent record sheets.
When the subprime crisis erupted last year, many held firm the belief that yes, there were defaulters, but it was not every cdo becoming worthless, afterall - the debts had 'collateral', and would fetch some money in auctions.
Property bubbles may exists, but in time, population growth figures will outstrip supply, causing a demand and prices will rise again. Auctioning now would be to lose money. Auction later and there will be more money.
Thus CDOs deriatives were banking on a fixed maturity date to return investors their principal sums.
Unfortunately, there was mismanagement by Lehmans and many other hedgefund operators. They had run out of liquidity to fund their investment operations in other business sectors.
Banks were concerned and stop lending. Lehman and gang were stuck in between a rock and a hard ground, to pay off dividends, and had to filed for bankruptcy.
There were rumours, by economists and punters, but there was no hard facts to support their disputable armchair theories. Lehman and gang abused the free market system by cooking their books to get better ratings for their assets.
No one, no relationship manager, no govt, no outsiders knew how heavily Lehman and gang were extended, except CEOs themselves.
Thus, blaming everyone except Lehman and gang now is totally unjustified. Lehman and gang are the criminals that should ought be hanged and made example of.
Not innocents who have no access to withheld information, which now better regulation must address.
At the end of the day, investments are all risks. It is only how one manages risk. If our society and govt are to prevent risks, then there will be no stock market in Singapore and every individual banned from even putting money even into banks or setting up their own companies, no more freedom of choice for itself comes at a price call risk.
Do understand what you will be getting by blaming others for your mistakes or taking the political opportunity to make a swipe at society and our representatives - the govt, for their failure to have supernatural powers. Everyone will be affected by stiffer regulations to make up for mortal disability to curb human nature, more so if it becomes draconian.
Did the bankers honestly inform the customers of the possibility of total loss in the investments?
Originally posted by googoomuck:Did the bankers honestly inform the customers of the possibility of total loss in the investments?
Stock brokers or even insurance agents, people will doubt their words and check what they say. A BANK? You are supposed to trust BANKS. People trusts banks and bankers and that it why they put their money with BANKS.
Now the banks turn around and say, "Who asked you to trust me? It is just too bad that you trusted me." If the BANK was not sure, then the bank should not have sold the products in the first place. People buy because they trust the banks.
Now that they have sold the products on trust, now that it turns out that the products are faulty, the banks must pay.