Originally posted by Fantagf:
Frankly, he is looking more unhealthy compared to the last time I saw him on TV. chum liao, looks like time is up soon. probably he is still negotiating with king of hell to allow him to bring all his S$ with him to hell and has not succeeded.
What "all his S$ with him to hell"? More like negotiating to bring all of Singapore's money with him to hell....
hell dont want him too he can go join the terminator
Originally posted by sgisawasteoftime:hell dont want him too he can go join the terminator
Don't want him why? Afraid he will bring his curses with him to hell?
Actually, old man lee should learn to ji de so this benefits himself and family.
Originally posted by soul_rage:If I am not wrong, COE is not considered a part of taxes.
It's a kind of revenue that is classified separately from taxes, so in that aspect, you aren't correct.
Bottomline is, if you lower the astronomical pay of our leaders, it will go towards having more funds to fund fiscal expenditures.
You could be right about the classification of COE. But my point (which I admit wasn’t well articulate in my earlier posts) is that when we have a welfare state (where the citizens are entitled to subsidized or free medical care, cheap subsidized housing, free education, cheap transport, etc), there is often a price to be paid (usually in the form of higher taxes).
Before I elaborate further, I want to stress that I am neither pro-PAP nor pro-opposition. And I certainly do NOT support the current policy of paying millions to our politicians. I am a true-blooded Singaporean (like many of you here) who supports political changes – but only if the change is for the better.
I used to work for a German boss. One of the reasons why he chose not to work in Germany is because he had to pay income tax of 50%. He is opposed to the fact that his hard-earned money is used by his government to provide unemployment benefits, medical care and free housings for drug addicts and drunkards who are too sick to work. There is also a significant percentage of people in Germany who are unemployed (by choice) as there are sufficient welfare/financial hand-outs for them to survive without having to work.
On the other hand, my Norwegian colleague is happy to pay 48% income tax in his country. That’s because he has many children and all of them are entitled to free medical care and free education.
Bottomline is that a welfare state is not for everybody. As the range of welfare and social security services increase, it is inevitable that tax will also have to be increased to fund these services (unless we are oil rich like Qatar or Kuwait).
Some of you may argue that raising tax will not be necessary if we can cut the millions that we are currently paying our politicians. But if you do the maths, you will realise that even if you can save $100mil by cutting the salary of our politicians, it will amount to only $25 for every Singaporean (assuming a population of 4mil). This is barely enough even for a visit to the neighbourhood clinic. So who is going to pay for subsidised hospitalization, subsidised housings and free education? Does it mean that doctors, nurses, hospital administrators, construction workers, architects, engineers, teachers and civil servants will also have to take a pay cut? That’s not progression, that’s regression into a Marxist system.
Even if we are to use our reserves to pay for these welfare services (as suggested by some people in the forum), it is not a bottomless pit. Our reserves can be depleted in a generation or two, leaving our children and grandchildren to bear the burden of our lavish and unsustainable welfare system.
Personally for me, I would love to have free medical care, cheaper housings, cheaper cars, free education for my children, etc (who doesn’t?). But, on the other hand, I am also opposed to paying more taxes or taking a pay cut. So can such a system be sustainable in the long run?
wat bout fighting in a war topic????
wat that got to do with welfare n money???
we all know there wont be war in singapore........most people want to fight.,,,but all mellows down after watching porn dvd.
why do people want war with another country???they would have no time to watch porn dvd ....go for holiday....play their ps2 or 3 games...shopping...eat nasi lemak,laksa,nasi padang and roast duck or wanton mee and do other more important things......
war?????it sounds like u got a library fine and u need to go direct to library from so far just to pay it.
war is just a fantasy......the guns,,,,,the mow down the entire enemy battalion....the dead bodies littered all over orchard road,,,,the burning tanks and machinegun fire at night......why surrender if there is war????just enjoy it as long as u are alive........
and that is the reason why i would participate in a war.
Originally posted by Hbbo:You could be right about the classification of COE. But my point (which I admit wasn’t well articulate in my earlier posts) is that when we have a welfare state (where the citizens are entitled to subsidized or free medical care, cheap subsidized housing, free education, cheap transport, etc), there is often a price to be paid (usually in the form of higher taxes).
Before I elaborate further, I want to stress that I am neither pro-PAP nor pro-opposition. And I certainly do NOT support the current policy of paying millions to our politicians. I am a true-blooded Singaporean (like many of you here) who supports political changes – but only if the change is for the better.
I used to work for a German boss. One of the reasons why he chose not to work in Germany is because he had to pay income tax of 50%. He is opposed to the fact that his hard-earned money is used by his government to provide unemployment benefits, medical care and free housings for drug addicts and drunkards who are too sick to work. There is also a significant percentage of people in Germany who are unemployed (by choice) as there are sufficient welfare/financial hand-outs for them to survive without having to work.
On the other hand, my Norwegian colleague is happy to pay 48% income tax in his country. That’s because he has many children and all of them are entitled to free medical care and free education.
Bottomline is that a welfare state is not for everybody. As the range of welfare and social security services increase, it is inevitable that tax will also have to be increased to fund these services (unless we are oil rich like Qatar or Kuwait).
Some of you may argue that raising tax will not be necessary if we can cut the millions that we are currently paying our politicians. But if you do the maths, you will realise that even if you can save $100mil by cutting the salary of our politicians, it will amount to only $25 for every Singaporean (assuming a population of 4mil). This is barely enough even for a visit to the neighbourhood clinic. So who is going to pay for subsidised hospitalization, subsidised housings and free education? Does it mean that doctors, nurses, hospital administrators, construction workers, architects, engineers, teachers and civil servants will also have to take a pay cut? That’s not progression, that’s regression into a Marxist system.
Even if we are to use our reserves to pay for these welfare services (as suggested by some people in the forum), it is not a bottomless pit. Our reserves can be depleted in a generation or two, leaving our children and grandchildren to bear the burden of our lavish and unsustainable welfare system.
Personally for me, I would love to have free medical care, cheaper housings, cheaper cars, free education for my children, etc (who doesn’t?). But, on the other hand, I am also opposed to paying more taxes or taking a pay cut. So can such a system be sustainable in the long run?
Whoever asked you for a welfare state?
Again, you are committing the same error (as with so many people who argue against a more compassionate society) by using a form of extremism.
"If we are not in this state, then the alternative is a 100% welfare state" (black or white, yes or no, 1 or 0...)
You are influenced by extremist comments by people like LKY.
"If you don't have PAP, all of you will be maids and labourers"
"If you vote for the opposition, then Singapore will collapse"
As I mentioned, no one asked for a welfare state. But right now, it's really unacceptable that everything is about profits profits profits. Nothing about being compassionate.
Why COE needs to be so expensive? There are better alternate systems to managing the car population
Why must it be ERP? There are alternatives such as building flyovers, which will definitely help to ease traffic in many areas.
Why raise rental rates of hawker centres? The only reason I gather is because they feel the market rate must be charged, no other reason for rental increase.
Obviously, the above are all profit-driven. All I am asking for is for certain policies to be pro-people, so that costs are kept affordable for us. Hawker Centre rental rates is one very prominent example.
go jump down la
Originally posted by sbs8104h:go jump down la
jump down it ok, but dun jump MRT hor, today i am going out, dun jam it up.
To TS,
how about asking in another way?
like, Are people in general Self Preservatory?
Have people gone through real hardship and learnt what it means to be Responsible to your country?
Are people righteous minded?
Originally posted by soul_rage:Whoever asked you for a welfare state?
Again, you are committing the same error (as with so many people who argue against a more compassionate society) by using a form of extremism.
"If we are not in this state, then the alternative is a 100% welfare state" (black or white, yes or no, 1 or 0...)
You are influenced by extremist comments by people like LKY.
"If you don't have PAP, all of you will be maids and labourers"
"If you vote for the opposition, then Singapore will collapse"
As I mentioned, no one asked for a welfare state. But right now, it's really unacceptable that everything is about profits profits profits. Nothing about being compassionate.
Why COE needs to be so expensive? There are better alternate systems to managing the car population
Why must it be ERP? There are alternatives such as building flyovers, which will definitely help to ease traffic in many areas.
Why raise rental rates of hawker centres? The only reason I gather is because they feel the market rate must be charged, no other reason for rental increase.
Obviously, the above are all profit-driven. All I am asking for is for certain policies to be pro-people, so that costs are kept affordable for us. Hawker Centre rental rates is one very prominent example.
Please do not jump to conclusion. If you trace back my previous posts, you will realise that my post about welfare state is a response to a particular forumite who asked for:
"HDB pigeon holes become bigger and cheaper for locals"
"Trains and buses to have more seats instead of taking the seats to make way for more passengers to stand. If the govt is so "kiang" they can consider building a double storey underground train!"
"50% off all medication rebates"
My point is that if all these demands are implemented, it will likely translate to higher taxes for ordinary Singaporean like you and me. I am not opposed to welfare services for certain segment of the population (such as the disabled or the mentally challenged). But my honest opinion is that the able-bodied Singaporeans should quit whining and learn to stand on their own 2 feet. This is after all a capitalist system, not a socialist or communist system.
TO HBBO;
WHAT ABOUT THE RESERVIST IPPT AND RESERVIST ATHELETE RETRAININGS EVERY WEEK BY FORCE OF FINE AND JAIL??
AND WHAT ABOUT SINGAPOREAN MALE CIVILAINS GETTING ARRESTED AT AIRPORT FOR FORGETTING TO INFORM ARMY OF OVERSEAS DESTINATION HOLIDAY?
IF U CALL THIS CAPITALIST.....I SUGGEST U TAKE A PHONE BOOK N BASH YER OWN HEAD.
I think even if needed to fight, most Singaporeans aren't even brought up to fight for their own future and rights.
All forced to live under the umbrella of "diam diam".
So don't worry, people who created the "diam diam" umbrella will fight on your behalf....after you have paid them so much in taxes. ![]()
I won't fight, I will just die in whatever ways I have to die. Hopefully this will bring some fears to the people who have enslaved us.
Now the question is, what will our slave drivers react if they realised that all their slaves are willing to die in time of war?
How would you react if you were in their position? Create more "courtesy campaigns"? ![]()
Originally posted by parn:How would you react if you were in their position? Create more "courtesy campaigns"?
Please let us take over politely.![]()
HEY PARN!
U WONT DIE........U WILL RISE FROM THE DEAD TO HAUNT THOSE WHO DESTROYED YOU.
U WILL HAUNT LEE KUAN YEW,LHL...AND ALL THOSE WITH BLOOD IN THEIR HANDS AND MONEY!
FOR ME...I WILL NOT DIE TOO......I AM BLOODTHIRSTY.....I LOVE KILLING...THE MORE THE MERRIER.IF THERE IS WAR FROM NEIGHBOURING COUNTRY.....I WILL COME AND SEE HOW MANY PEOPLE I CAN KILL EVERY NIGHT WITH NVG GOGGLES. MY QUOTA IS 2000 ENEMY SOLDIERS FOR NOW BECAUSE I LIKE THAT NUMBER.
WHEN I DIE....I WILL COME BACK AND HAUNT THE LIVING AS A VAMPIRE!
Originally posted by MINIGUN2000:TO HBBO;
WHAT ABOUT THE RESERVIST IPPT AND RESERVIST ATHELETE RETRAININGS EVERY WEEK BY FORCE OF FINE AND JAIL??
AND WHAT ABOUT SINGAPOREAN MALE CIVILAINS GETTING ARRESTED AT AIRPORT FOR FORGETTING TO INFORM ARMY OF OVERSEAS DESTINATION HOLIDAY?
IF U CALL THIS CAPITALIST.....I SUGGEST U TAKE A PHONE BOOK N BASH YER OWN HEAD.
What has capitalist system got to do with reservist? Please look up the definition of "capitalist system" and quit making a fool of yourself.
Originally posted by MINIGUN2000:TO HBBO;
anybody ever got ARRESTED AT AIRPORT FOR FORGETTING TO INFORM ARMY OF OVERSEAS DESTINATION ? you sure this is true?
If you don't inform your unit when you leave the country, and sway sway got recall exercise, then you will have to hear the music, where got arrested one? SAF people no time to be at the airport to do that kind of job.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
What "all his S$ with him to hell"? More like negotiating to bring all of Singapore's money with him to hell....
Actually ah Mr Yap,
Why do you keep saying the Lee are money grabbing people ?
They are the people running the gahmen leh.
If they want more money.. they can simply print more.
No need to grab more... just print more loh.
I received warning litter form SAF for not inform them for oversea trip feel like kana tie by them no freedom.
if u go oversea for more then 24 hour u need to give them a notice if not SAF can charge u
Originally posted by sgisawasteoftime:I received warning litter form SAF for not inform them for oversea trip feel like kana tie by them no freedom.
if u go oversea for more then 24 hour u need to give them a notice if not SAF can charge u
too bad.
TO HBBO:
I SUGGEST U STOP OPENING UP THE DICTIONARY AND EXPECTING PROBLEMS TO BE SOLVED THIS WAY.
INSTEAD LOOK UP ON POLITICAL SCIENCE BOOKS .....AND THROW YOUR STUPID DICTIONARY AWAY!
TO ALL THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN OR HEARD ANYTHING IN SINGAPORE:
AND THAT IS WHY SINGAPORE ENDS UP LIKE THAT!
U BLOODY IDIOTS!!!WAKE UP ALL OF YOU!!
U MUST KNOW WHAT EXACTLY IS HAPPENING.....HOW U EXPECT TO GO FORWARD IN LIFE WHEN U NEVER HEAR OF THIS AND THAT???
U ALL SOUND JUST LIKE TODAYS PAP ORGANISATION ......NOT IN TUNE AND SYNC WITH TODAYS WORLD THUS MAKING EVERYTHING IN A MESS.
THE OLD PAP WAS FAR SUPERIOR......THEY KNEW WHAT THEY WERE DOING.......BUT WITH PEOPLE LIKE SGDIEHARD AND THE LIKES.......PAP WOULD END UP LIKE FAKE SHARKSFIN SOUP AND FAKE ABALONE!
Originally posted by MINIGUN2000:TO HBBO:
I SUGGEST U STOP OPENING UP THE DICTIONARY AND EXPECTING PROBLEMS TO BE SOLVED THIS WAY.
INSTEAD LOOK UP ON POLITICAL SCIENCE BOOKS .....AND THROW YOUR STUPID DICTIONARY AWAY!
Dear Minigun,
For heaven sake, please educate yourself about capitalism (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capitalism) and quit making a fool of yourself time and again. A capitalist system is an economic model, not a politcal system. It certainly has nothing to do with management of our reservists. You will get the same definition be it from the dictionary or your so-called "political science books".
We can have another round of discussion once you are adequately informed about the subject. Cheers!
i will fight if the MP's do as well
ill fight only if the S$3.9 million prata man fight