Originally posted by tan reborn:Which is the best country? A survey reveals a shocking result and Singapore is not one of them.
Canada, Australia ranked best places for expats
A survey reveals a shocking result in the top 3 countries for expats and S'pore isn't one of them.
CANBERRA - Looking to work overseas? Head to Canada, Australia or Thailand, according to an annual global survey which found recession-hit Britain was one of the worst locations to live for expatriates.
The second annual Expat Experience survey, commissioned by HSBC Bank International, revealed that expats in Canada have the best quality of life and found it among the easiest places in the world to integrate with the local population.
Australia and Thailand also came in the top three in the survey of 3,146 people working in 30 different industries and 50 countries, even though Thailand was one of the countries worst-hit by the recession for expats.
"We have seen that there is a distinct trade-off between income and overall quality of life, as many of the top performers ... scored toward the bottom of this report's league table ," said Betony Taylor, spokeswoman for HSBC Bank International.
"What is clear is that the locations where salaries may not be as high, such as Canada and Australia, are where expats are really enjoying not only an increased quality of life but are also finding it easy to fit in to their new communities."
Last year Germany, Canada and Spain were the top three countries deemed to have the best lifestyle for expats.
This year Britain was one of the lowest ranked locations when it came to lifestyle after being named as one of the most expensive places for expats with the recession taking its toll.
About 44 percent of expats in Britain are considering returning home, compared with only 15 percent of expats overall.
About 41 percent of expats in Britain find it difficult to find somewhere to live, most find the quality of their accommodation drops after moving to Britain, and a third claim their health has deteriorated since moving there.
"Despite this, the UK does hold the crown for being expat entertainment capital of the world, with over half of expats in the UK saying that the quality of entertainment had increased," said Taylor.
She added that 62 percent of expats also said that employment prospects were the main reason keeping them in the region.
Results from a different section of the survey, which was conducted by research company FreshMinds, released earlier found Russia was home to the highest proportion of expats earning more than $250,000 with 30 percent of international workers there banking that amount, followed by Hong Kong and Japan.
The lowest-paid expats live in Australia and Belgium with the majority -- 63 percent and 61 percent respectively -- earning less than $100,000.
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/rtrs/200911...d-a929486.html
Good argument, we are however, refering to countries people want to migrate to, since they complaint so much about Singapore as if is awful to live here, and that being Singaporean is such an ordeal.
My opinion, is that Singaporean should know where is best for them not what reports say about what/ where is better than Singapore. We are a very different breed, and I urge people to stick around and make life better for themselves, without moving away.
hmmmm........so many here but no one dares to or given up hope and in depression:.....
ok: model answer as in exams:
countries to immigrate with some loose change..
a)mongolia(south koreans already setup software business there)
b)denmark(resources known is fish and oil)
c)new zealand business plan see updates(resources is domestic geothermal power)
d)east timor(resources is oil and minerals not yet evaluated by geogolist)
e)brunei(resource is oil€)
f)papua new guinea(some sporeans there)(resources is vast amounts of visible gold in areas inaccessible)
g)australia(resources is coal,lithium,iron ore,gold dust,beef)
1)SOUTH POLE OR NORTH POLE ONCE INDUSTRIAL ABILITY HAS BEEN IN OPERATION in any country FOR A YEAR
i go north korea sell veggie bao sure make tons of money
Originally posted by tan reborn:i go north korea sell veggie bao sure make tons of money
Please go ahead....and please share with us your success story.....
All the best, but make sure you do what you say!
When are you leaving...?

It remains to be seen if scientists can prove with certainty that the ability to migrate is one of the primal instincts in higher animals like Man. I will certainly not doubt that our ancestors desired to seek an oasis of plentiful resources that they made the choice to cross mighty oceans from all corners of the globe and settle in this Lion City. Fast forward to more recent times, it seems that this very primal instinct to migrate is revitalized in later generations of Singaporeans as they desired to seek pastures abroad.
Whilst our leaders expound the value of loyalty to one’s country irregardless of the circumstances that one faces, one must acknowledge that such a form of altruism is a rarity. Loyalty to one country is nowadays a form of commodity traded in exchange for say, a security of livelihood or the opportunity to fulfil one’s dreams. The pertinent questions is why are Singaporeans migrating or harbouring desires to migrate in huge numbers?
The first reason is the topic of disillusionment amongst Singaporeans especially the young. They are talented in their own capacity, yet the system established DO NOT RECOGNIZE their talents, and worse, stream them into categories, which they feel are not commensurable with their talents. The end result is that these people are left on the fringes of the system and denied of an opportunity to nurture their talents. As a result, these people become disillusioned, and feel that Singapore is not the place to develop their talents. If they are given the opportunity to nurture their talents in overseas destinations, usually these people would stay on overseas.
The second reason is the limited diversity within the Singapore sphere. Are there opportunities for budding rocket scientists (rocket designers for space and NOT weaponry), the Winter Olympics hopeful who loves winter sports, our future astronautical engineers or nuclear physicists? It’s an inevitable fact that Singaporeans with such aspirations will seek their playground elsewhere.
The third reason is the relative cheapness of air travel. Budget airlines that ply air-routes within a region allow Singaporeans to get quickly from one place to another. Singaporeans settling in other lower living costs countries in the Asian region can take advantage of budget Airlines to keep in touch with relatives in Singapore. The upcoming Airbus A380 that is capable of direct flight from Australia to Chicago will be the future of air travel, and will allow relatives from further destinations to travel at greater convenience.
The fourth reason has more to do with the Singapore society’s tolerance with certain categories of people. It has to be said that our laws are in a way not conducive towards certain minorities like the homosexuals for instance. I know of a friend who is one. He studied overseas and grew to like the country where he completed his undergraduate studies because of its tolerance towards gays and tremendous track record when it came to LGBT rights. Comparing it to Singapore which is still at its infancy stage when it came to LGBT rights and tolerance for the LGBT group compounded with the fact that the latter is a constant target of religious right elements, my friend was immediately drawn to the country where he did his tertiary studies and away from Singapore. He was considered a talent in his field, and was head-hunted before he even graduated. These are the type of top brains that Singapore will eventually lose, a sentiment echoed by SM Goh. The encroachment by the religious right whose agendas revolve around attempting to deny the LGBT group the rights they are fighting for isn’t helping matters either. On a lighter note, I would suspect die hard gum chewers might find Singapore a little inconducive, because it may be a little hard to purchase gums, and secondly, they need to get a medical certification.
Perhaps, the issue of migration is a consequence of globalization. We may do well to recall the old adage,”The world is our oyster”. As it is, the world is increasingly seen as the travellers playground that the Kent Ridge Common is nothing but a temporary stop on the traveller’s highway
Originally posted by Lionoasis:Please go ahead....and please share with us your success story.....
All the best, but make sure you do what you say!
When are you leaving...?
if i are really rich or kena toto s$10 million
sure go new zealand open a farm
Originally posted by tan reborn:
if i are really rich or kena toto s$10 millionsure go new zealand open a farm
And if one does not win TOTO, he can forget about his "dream life" and just feel frustrated and fantacize how good life can be had he/ she got the chance to live abroad, so-called the greener pastures?
Life is sad if this is the case...
Originally posted by Lionoasis:
And if one does not win TOTO, he can forget about his "dream life" and just feel frustrated and fantacize how good life can be had he/ she got the chance to live abroad, so-called the greener pastures?Life is sad if this is the case...
just continued to be suffer in "somebody" iron fist
“Tyranny is worse than a Man-Eating Tiger”
“苛政猛於虎也”
Originally posted by Lionoasis:
And if one does not win TOTO, he can forget about his "dream life" and just feel frustrated and fantacize how good life can be had he/ she got the chance to live abroad, so-called the greener pastures?Life is sad if this is the case...
So Mr Lionoasis, what are the countries that you had been to?
You came back cos this is your roots, where you truely belong to.
For me, Southern part of New Zealand would be a nice place to eat dolly fish, which i never taste it before.
Hot and spicy + crispy snacks - which can be our breakfast, lunch, dinner or teabreak - but eat in moderation - just joke and humour
wats a dolly fish?nz is cheap and most people from hong kong,thailand,india,taiwan,south korea ,.japan,,malaysia and vietnam are there.
if u dont find life in spore good and cant go anywhere yet ..easy way is to change spore into a new zealand.....u can go ask lky or lhl to improve things.u have nothing to lose and its more convenient and cheaper.so instead of spending time and money immigrating...just change spore.just dont use harsh words on them.
the fish in new zealand taste 80% like the cheap wet market fish u can get in spore.beef in spore is cheaper too and taste almost the same freshness...only a bit more expensive in spore.theres alot of shell fish in new zealand.the ones most japanese goto
the only thing spore hasnt got is land and time.most people leave spore because they intend to build up an industry or factory overseas and have the time to invent things be it from a shoulder mounted howitzer to a holographic 3d projection.
spore has time taken away by national servist and reservist duties that involve athelete remedial trainings for many days in a week!u cant build anything with that kinda time TAKEN AWAY.by thae time they release u from reservist forced chores...u would be too tired out.
the reason why the other foreigners could immigrate to new zealand was that their national service did not retard their civilian life.take for example the south koreans in nz...they never need to go for ippt or rt after 2 years national service.even though they are not fit n fail in ns they need not go for rt as a civilian.and their reservist duty for south koreans in korea is only at most 7 days in a year...no remedial training n fail ippt or not dun matter!and currently south korea and north korea are still technically at war.no peace treaty was ever signed......
the rest 0f the asian countries are free citizens where they can go as they wish at home and overseas ....
The number of people other countries have > ours.
They can afford to lose people but sadly, we can't. That's the hard truth.
What are you talking about? Speak English!!!!!
Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:What are you talking about? Speak English!!!!!
He means people should not leave Singapore at all.
i die a free man!
the rest stuck in.........................u die as slaves!
would die in south pole entombed in ice.......at least i die free!
Stop being childish!! Grow up and be serious for a change!! And you wonder why some of us just can't stand Singapore with the likes of you carrying on like a two bob watch!! For crying out loud!!
childish????yer freedom is childs toy??ok......if u say so.
maybe u should be serious instead of behaving like a drug addict.
I am not physically in Singapore for a home/ biz trip. Over the last week, I have had the chance to visit a number of locations, saw the Sands Casino, saw Resort World, saw 313 Orchard where my ex-colleague was part of the small team responsible for putting together the mall....I have also the chance to talk to a number of people and following is the overall sentiment (limited to my interactions during this trip):
So, seems everyone has got something different to say, but none say they gonna quit. So please, dun quit on your country. These people are no different from you and I, let's do something about our lifes, dun quit dun complaint.
Meh! But...but i like to complain :(
Now, who is complaining? we just giving our views. As for complaining, singaporeans take it like drinking water, from baby age, we already start complaining about milks and maids until the day we end up in hospital with our last breath, we still complain about the hospital bills and facilities. It is already a norm here, if you dun complain, you are not Singaporean.
Originally posted by angel7030:Now, who is complaining? we just giving our views. As for complaining, singaporeans take it like drinking water, from baby age, we already start complaining about milks and maids until the day we end up in hospital with our last breath, we still complain about the hospital bills and facilities. It is already a norm here, if you dun complain, you are not Singaporean.
i complaint or whine cos protest is an offend in Singapore what
Originally posted by I'm back:
i complaint or whine cos protest is an offend in Singapore what
complaint and whining is not an offence, but defamation is a serious offence. Just like prositution is not an offence, but soliciting is a serious offence in Singapore.
AA
Originally posted by angel7030:
complaint and whining is not an offence, but defamation is a serious offence. Just like prositution is not an offence, but soliciting is a serious offence in Singapore.AA
i said protest only
solicting - you are bugging/forcing people
Originally posted by tan reborn:
if i are really rich or kena toto s$10 millionsure go new zealand open a farm
why need to go NZ and open a farm?? in singapore, you put your money in the right financial insitution with a diversify portfolios and a promise 5 to 7% dividend, just seat back, shake leg and relax, so easy..why go and face those farmer, dungs, soils, animals and shit cold there??? People are investing here and you are investing in their farm?? you must be joking, and they will be laughing.