It interests me to see the sheer hypocrispy that angel7030 brings to this forum.
She defends her stand to hire cheap labour and not locals, and then defends the high salaries of the fat cats at the top.
Talking about double standards.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Thanks!!
Originally posted by soul_rage:It interests me to see the sheer hypocrispy that angel7030 brings to this forum.
She defends her stand to hire cheap labour and not locals, and then defends the high salaries of the fat cats at the top.
Talking about double standards.
u need to be shrew and cunning to survive in Singapore ya, otherwise, just carry on be your manager, get married, borne some childrens for PAP and start to pay n pay for the rest of your life ya.
Originally posted by Lionoasis:
Thanks!!
Oh my gosh!!
for so long, i never get a thanks word here liao....![]()
You are welcome
Life is too short to stay in one place and hope to become a patriotic citizen.
I'm very much incline to agree wholeheartedly what all Soul Rage have said here!! I, for one left Singapore in the early 70s and have only been back there twice!! Once when my mother was hospitalised and the second time was for my mother's funeral!!
I'm 60 years of age now and have made Melbourne in Australia my home ages ago! Two years ago, I've sponsored my elder sister and my niece over here. They've got their PRs, my niece is working in an office job and have in such a short period of time, bought their own 3 bedroom home and a Honda for their transportation as well!!
Life is pleasant, no controlling from the government as to what you must or mustn't talk about, what style of hair you should have or even what type of clothing suits you best!! For your information, I'm talking about the PAP in the 60s, 70s, 80s and even 90s!! Looks like they're still just as bad, passing on from father to son!!!!!!!
I was born and grew up in Singapore till I was in my early twenties. Still no regrets about leaving and know I won't be going back for good. Maybe, just maybe, I might go for a short period of stay, so I can pay a visit to my mother's niche at St Michael's!
As for those who is looking to migrate to the North Pole, be serious!! Go hang yourself!!
Have a safe and merry one!!
It is time for Singaporeans to stand up and vote PAP out and build a better Singapore.
In 2010 elections, Singaporeans must retake their country from PAP.
Singapore is for Singaporeans, not for PRs, not for foreign aliens, not for PRCs.
A vote for PAP means a vote for more foreigners.
Originally posted by angel7030:
u need to be shrew and cunning to survive in Singapore ya, otherwise, just carry on be your manager, get married, borne some childrens for PAP and start to pay n pay for the rest of your life ya.
Oh please, a shrew is an animal, but yes, I believe you are an animal, a small little shrew that shouts and screams in this forum, but have nothing much to show except for lies.
Oh, and there's a difference between being shrewd, and being a hypocrite. You are a hypocrite, for on one hand you support the PAP with their astronomical high salaries, and on the other, hire cheap labour coz they are cheaper than locals.
Sometimes, I feel you should shut up if you are running a business, because businesses have a lot of benefits in Singapore.
But then again, you are just faking your businesses, so you don't understand how true businessmen actually keeps their profile low.
And don't have to always behave as if you are high and above the rest of the forum people here. You think businessmen are the top of the crop. I am an employee, that's true, but I enjoy a standard of living and work-life balance that is second-to-none over here. Many employees here are not like your slaves, whom you make them slog for long hours with cheap pay. In fact, businessmen are usually also slaves to their businesses.
If you REALLY are running a biz, you will know what I mean. Otherwise, explaining to you also is a waste of my time.
Nothing but a loud and noisy shrew *lol*
Oh by the way, shrew7030 who taints the word "angel"
you did not respond to my question
"So Wong Kan Seng should step down since Mas Selamat escaped on his watch. Or are you telling me that he should not be blamed? Any CEO/MD material would have done the right thing and step down and take the responsibility."
Wouldn't you agree, since you want to bring CEO/MDs of the corporate world into the discussion?
I notice that you cannot hold a discussion when it goes more in-depth, Coz your brain's too small (like a shrew)?
You tend to behave like the normal pro-PAP supporters, who throw smoke grenades when they beat a hasty retreat.
At least my Young PAP pals are more sensible people, who listen to what I have to say, and will bring back to their exco committee for discussion. You, on the other hand, are nothing more than a can of lies that will forever remain in a sorry state.
Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:I'm very much incline to agree wholeheartedly what all Soul Rage have said here!! I, for one left Singapore in the early 70s and have only been back there twice!! Once when my mother was hospitalised and the second time was for my mother's funeral!!
I'm 60 years of age now and have made Melbourne in Australia my home ages ago! Two years ago, I've sponsored my elder sister and my niece over here. They've got their PRs, my niece is working in an office job and have in such a short period of time, bought their own 3 bedroom home and a Honda for their transportation as well!!
Life is pleasant, no controlling from the government as to what you must or mustn't talk about, what style of hair you should have or even what type of clothing suits you best!! For your information, I'm talking about the PAP in the 60s, 70s, 80s and even 90s!! Looks like they're still just as bad, passing on from father to son!!!!!!!
I was born and grew up in Singapore till I was in my early twenties. Still no regrets about leaving and know I won't be going back for good. Maybe, just maybe, I might go for a short period of stay, so I can pay a visit to my mother's niche at St Michael's!
As for those who is looking to migrate to the North Pole, be serious!! Go hang yourself!!
Have a safe and merry one!!
Hi mate,
nice to know that you are living a good life over in Melbourne. It's a city which I seriously considered as an ideal place for retirement, that's why I have some investments over there.
But now I am in the USA and working for an organization with excellent benefits, both in terms of current and retirement. So I am still contemplating where I should go in the later stages of my life.
One thing that I badly miss (other than my parents) are my roti pratas and roasted duck in Singapore. Did you ever had those cravings that you have to suppress? :)
Anyway, Christmas is like summer for you. So enjoy the weather, while here, I am fighting below freezing temperatures :)
Originally posted by soul_rage:I might be able to offer you a perspective of what Lionoasis is concerned about:
1) He is looking to see views of people who walk the talk, not just complaints and whining. I do agree that there is a difference between constructive dis-satisfaction, versus dis-satisfaction bordering on self-pity.
2) He is looking to distinguish between people who left Singapore COMPLETELY (not coming back), and those who are away for the time being (like myself, who may go back still), and to see views of each group of people
Your posting above is something that is probably what he likes to read, constructive observation and discussion.
As I cautioned to him, if he wishes to go back to Singapore, he has to be very careful about the 40 year old age discrimination.
It's a major issue of why I decide to uproot myself. In the future, I do not want to see myself being told by the Govt that I am stupid becoz I am 40 and above, and thus must accept their rubbish about lower pay.
PS: Frankly, (no offense), I find remarks about wanting to go and live in Antartica very immature.
The beginning of the topic is as what you said but from the middle of the topic til now, Lionoasis has more or less has skewed it towards the point that "Singapore is the place for singaporeans to live in, no other place comes close".
I don't remember saying wanting to go live in Antartica. Whoever made the remarks about wanting to go and live in Antartica might want to see the Antartica animals up close and personal. ![]()
Originally posted by starExcaliblur:
I have read many stories and also seen many examples about age discrimination against singaporeans aged 40 years and above, so I would definitely agree with your point.The beginning of the topic is as what you said but from the middle of the topic til now, Lionoasis has more or less has skewed it towards the point that "Singapore is the place for singaporeans to live in, no other place comes close".
I don't remember saying wanting to go live in Antartica. Whoever made the remarks about wanting to go and live in Antartica might want to see the Antartica animals up close and personal.
Was referring to some others, those who don't contribute constructively, but make remarks about living in Antartica. Between Antartica and Singapore, Singapore still wins :D
I guess what Lionoasis was trying to bring across, later on, was about valid reasons on living in other countries. Valid points like, "experiencing another lifestyle", "freedom of speech", etc are things he is looking out for in what influences the forumers here.
Silly remarks like "Living in Antartica" on the other hand... just goes to show how much a person making that remark has not seen any part of the world. It's just plain immature in my opinion as well.
Originally posted by Lionoasis:Hi,
Like what soul_rage said, I DO like to read your kinda articles...thank you. I am sure you know now why I started this thread. In my own words, I was not cynical, just wanted to stimulate people's minds to think this issue real seriously, instead of complaining or fantacizing where they could have been or should have been, without a real understanding of their "Utopia". I hope our people can be more practical and be responsible for themselves - research, understand, analyze and act. Singapore or not, should be a by-product of their mature & tested decision. However, I still think Singapore is the best destination for great majority of Singaporeans, one of the reasons is because we are culturally unadaptable, we have been living in a city that is too contained - partly due to our national policy - and I do blame the government for this.
A related issue, do you know I do not like dealing with most Singaporeans and I totally dislike dealing with our government or related companies? And I have lived more than 20 years outside Singapore. Why do I still return? To me, a home is a home, and will always be a home. This sentiment may not apply to all, I am sure.
What you sighted about lives of beyond 40's is mostly true (not that you are lying, I just see them slightly differently) and sad. But look around, aren't these "natural' things we will see in an aging economy whose literacy level is amongst the highest in the world? Must we do something about it? Of course! But are we alone? NO. We are not isolated in the type of problems we face. What is more relevant is, can we solve our problems? Well, may be, I am not quite sure. Visiting SgForum has opened my eyes (despite the houseflies....Smack!! Just hit another one...), and I am asking myself questions these days. But yes, I WILL go back to Singapore, hopefully next year in 2010, here's a timeline for you.
Please contribute more, even if you don't agree with me. Quality posts are always welcomed here.
Thank you.
The concept of home is subjective and depends on each individual. I used to believe that if you are born into that country, you should call it home as it is the place where you grew up, make friends, work, get married and eventually die. Well, not anymore, thanks to exposure to my foreign friends and PAP government's wonderful policies. To me, if you like the place (country) you are living in and can envision yourself settling down, growing old happily and eventually dieing there, then that's home for you. It doesn't have to be that you must be born into that country to call that place a home.
As for returning back to Singapore permanently, I would suggest you take a 2 week vacation trip in Singapore to feel the changes Singapore has experienced within these 2 decades. Even singaporeans living in the country are not comfortable with the changes.
I believe singaporeans should not just confine themselves to living in Singapore especially now that Singapore and the world is different from 20 years ago. We should ventured out to other parts of the world to live and experience for ourselves the good and bad of wherever we decide to be apart from Singapore. That's why I took issue with your comment that Singaporeans belong in Singapore and painted the contrast of Singapore 20 years ago and Singapore now to you in my previous post.The concept of home is subjective and depends on each individual. I used to believe that if you are born into that country, you should call it home as it is the place where you grew up, make friends, work, get married and eventually die. Well, not anymore, thanks to exposure to my foreign friends and PAP government's wonderful policies. To me, if you like the place (country) you are living in and can envision yourself settling down, growing old happily and eventually dieing there, then that's home for you. It doesn't have to be that you must be born into that country to call that place a home.
As for returning back to Singapore permanently, I would suggest you take a 2 week vacation trip in Singapore to feel the changes Singapore has experienced within these 2 decades. Even singaporeans living in the country are not comfortable with the changes.
Hi,
Just to clarify a few things:
I do visit Singapore 5-6 times a year, and I still have my apartment, relatives and friends there. I am also a member (and founding member) of a large Singaporean soccer team in Shanghai. So I am in touch with issues back home. But the time spent away from home has given me other perspectives, that sometimes, it takes time to find the right audience.
In this forum, I have enjoyed exchanges with Atobe & soul_rage, and a few others, but I cannot remember their avatars or names since they have not written in for some time. Sorry guys/ gals.
Originally posted by Rvnisaloy:Why are Singaporean quitters so enamoured with anglo-saxon countries? Haven't you guys had enough of materialism and consumerism? Why not go for somewhere more "European" (and no, Britain is hardly European)? I'll be leaving next April/May to a place where a whole stretch of the avenue is lit up every night with some of the world's most beautiful lights. It's a place world famous for its cuisine (if you gonna take Michelin for its word). If you're in an arty farty mood and want some Da Vinci, you can stroll down to a pyramid-like art museum which houses works like the Mona Lisa, St John the Baptist etc. If you happen to fall sick and feel too sluggish to go down to the doctor's, call them to come to your house. This is after all the country with the best healthcare system in the world (again, if you believe WHO). Forget about Golden Village. This place has the largest cinema screen in Europe. Or you can always join crowds of people to watch a movie on the grass patch and under the stars. Tired of working? You only work 35 hours a week here (although the right wing president wants to change it). Best of all (doesn't apply to Singaporean women) there's no compulsory military service here. Cheers :)
yea, I am sure most parisian would prefer baguette than roti with kaya, the subway that is always opened when you have no where to stay, especially during winter, having the gipsy washing your windscreen at traffic light rather than at patrol station car wash, Champs-Elysees over orchard road,….
But I can get baguette and croissant here easily but not toasted roti with kaya there, while wine is cheap but drink water is very expensive there (i can't drink wine every day), driving 3 hrs I can go diving to catch lobster, a whole new world under the sea, I fly 1 1/2 hrs I get to lie on a sunny beach in Phuket and have a good massage, a wonderful life….but most important of all, it is acceptable here that I can speak English, Chinese or whatever languages, in Paris, you go no where if you don’t speak French.
cheers.
I have read many stories and also seen many examples about age discrimination against singaporeans aged 40 years and above, so I would definitely agree with your point.The beginning of the topic is as what you said but from the middle of the topic til now, Lionoasis has more or less has skewed it towards the point that "Singapore is the place for singaporeans to live in, no other place comes close".
I don't remember saying wanting to go live in Antartica. Whoever made the remarks about wanting to go and live in Antartica might want to see the Antartica animals up close and personal.
Many Singaporean who work for the government and local companies (with local CEO) are still working even though they are way passed 50. Many in the MNC, especially those in the senior positions, are always concerned whenever there is sound of reorganisation, re structuring.... A very different thing I am witnessing here compared to your stories.
But if you are looking for a new job, I guess you subject yourself to competition with others who are much younger than you. The older you are, the more younger compeititors, there are many reasons why you may not get the job, not age discrimination, language discrimination....
The problem with the PAP government here is that they do not have much protection for locals against the exploitation of the MNC. What kind of protection your government provide for people over 40 downunder? ![]()
I believe singaporeans should not just confine themselves to living in Singapore especially now that Singapore and the world is different from 20 years ago. We should ventured out to other parts of the world to live and experience for ourselves the good and bad of wherever we decide to be apart from Singapore. That's why I took issue with your comment that Singaporeans belong in Singapore and painted the contrast of Singapore 20 years ago and Singapore now to you in my previous post.The concept of home is subjective and depends on each individual. I used to believe that if you are born into that country, you should call it home as it is the place where you grew up, make friends, work, get married and eventually die. Well, not anymore, thanks to exposure to my foreign friends and PAP government's wonderful policies. To me, if you like the place (country) you are living in and can envision yourself settling down, growing old happily and eventually dieing there, then that's home for you. It doesn't have to be that you must be born into that country to call that place a home.
Singaporeans are probably one of the most frequent travellers in the region, and many Singaporeans are actually stationed, or have worked in other countries because Singapore is such a small market. As a air and sea travel hub, it doesn't take us a long flight to be out of Singapore to see and experience other parts of the world, not like australia, haha...many singaporeans have made the decisions, AFTER experiencing other parts of the world, to call Singapore our home.
It is difficult to believe that millions of singaporean are living uncomfortably in Singapore.![]()
In reply to Soul Rage!
First and foremost, greetings from Downunder! As to your query about roti pratas and roast ducks, you need to realise that Australia is VERY multicultural now compared to the earlier years!! Asian migrants have brought with them famous recipes of Asian foods, ALL, I repeat, ALL Asian foods are available here in Australia, especially in Melbourne!! Hawker stalls and take aways in most shopping centres!!
Australia is also much closer to Singapore than the US of A, hence also one of the reasons why I picked this country to be my home!
As for those who come to this forum and make foolish remarks, just ignore them! They're uncultured, no family education and just can't tell the difference between yea or nay! That will be the day when they have the knowledge to debate wisely and can say something nice to anyone who don't agree with them! Typical social misfits!!!
Anyway, have a good day and ciao!!
I will choose North Korea because their education and health care are FREE. Housing also free!
Originally posted by Chelsea 1 71:ALL, I repeat, ALL Asian foods are available here in Australia, especially in Melbourne!!
I can think of one exception - baby squid. I've looked all over the place like Box Hill and Springvale markets, and I haven't been able to find any.
Originally posted by Lionoasis:I remain that Singapore is the best place for most Singaporeans because I don't see them settling down successfully in other countries - not because of competency or attitude towards work - but because we are culturally unadpatable;
Oh come now, Lionoasis - what about the members who have popped up in this thread and said that they have settled comfortably in other countries? Don't they count, or have you for some reason excluded them as evidence of Singaporeans' cultural adaptability?
For all of your thanks to people who have posted here, you have done these members a great injustice by ignoring their contribution.
In reply to Gedankan :)
Baby squids??!! Indeed you can get them at Springvale market!! But not in the supermarket itself, you'll have to go upstairs, two doors away from the Chinese restaurant. Unfortunately, they stock only frozen food. So, if you're looking for fresh ones, you won't find it there!
Originally posted by Gedanken:Oh come now, Lionoasis - what about the members who have popped up in this thread and said that they have settled comfortably in other countries? Don't they count, or have you for some reason excluded them as evidence of Singaporeans' cultural adaptability?
For all of your thanks to people who have posted here, you have done these members a great injustice by ignoring their contribution.
Hello there,
I thought I underlined the word "MOST"? This word would suggest there are a minority of people who would have adapted, wouldn't it? Where is the injustice?
Hello people, I think adaptability is sometimes being forced by circumstances. If you really think you can't do better or simply survive in Singapore, just pack your bages and go. There are tons of Malaysians working and staying in Singapore, mainly because they can't get that kind of good life in Malaysia. No point arguing where else is better or worse than Singapore. Everybody's life style, habits and desires are different. How to make a comparison just by mentioning personal experiences?
Singapore is indeed getting harder for true blue Singaporean to stay with all the rising living cost, scarily high rental prices for government-owned flats (99 years rent, not freehold), even more scarily high in number of FT influx. Also not forgetting the meritorcacy systems in Singapore. Even if you are a foreigner from some ulu ulu foreign university where the name of the uni is not pronounceable by normal Singaporeans, you will still have advantage over ordinary non-grad Singapore peasants in Singapore. For Singaporean men no need to say lah, proudly serve your country with all your sweat and tears but strangely, somedays when you are back in the civilian world, finding half the people in the same MRT train cabin, speaking languages/dialects that you don't quite understand. Of course not forgetting the state-controlled press always have motivational speeches for ordinary Singaporean peasants like myself, hopefully we can have the same forsight and think in line with the highest echelons of the state forgetting that ordinary Singaporean peasants have problems fending for their survivals and space with their dust-like salaries (if and only if peanuts salary=600k). Then scali one fine day another blogger with elite back ground will pop up and tell you to FO from her elite uncaring face, of course, with an elite daddy jumping to her defense saying that her speech is fundamentally not wrong.
Maybe more true blue Singaporeans should try leaving this country. My foreign friends are always amazed by the number of languages that we can speak but also inability to step out of our self-portrayed comfort zones. In my own heart, I firmly know that regardless of the amount of complains made in this monitored cyber space, things will not be changed or improved. But if you really can make it in another country, you will always be welcomed back with open arms. In fact, every country in this world welcomes a successful person and despise leeches, especially true for a meritocracy nation like ours. But if LL cannot make it, then must come back also lor. No harm trying, I guess...
People, please don't blast me for saying all these, I'm just one mid-30s, low-level, non-grad Singaporean male peasant that will soon move to try out in another country. Not because I don't like Singapore, simply because I can't live well and happy here. Hopefully I can make it somewhere else someday and have a simple family of my own. If you are in the same plight as me, maybe you should do the same.
:)
SH
Hi Leesiewhoi,
there's this quote: "Don't ask what gahmen can do for you, instead what can you do for gahmen".![]()
If i am not mistaken.
You are right.
Thanks for being frank.
Also, another thing is IP address could be tracked by ... ... .
All the best to you.
Take care.