i agreed that in every army, there is no such thing as 100% standby or readiness. But i wish to point however, is that nations like singapore which have a strong emphasis on defence and have the financial ability to support such a defence platform would understandably be in a higher level of readiness vis a vis another nation which can barely afford to pay its civil servants.Originally posted by Silenthunter:There a very famous phrase that even kids know....."Do not underestimate the your opponent". No,I'm not saying that Indonesia or Malaysia is our opponent. I'm just saying that we shouldn't think that we are invincible.
Let's not talk about the conditions of the war machines, let's not talk about whether are they well-maintained for war because I can tell you that every army is the same. You think all the 400+ Tanks/APC SAF are in full operationally status? I don't think so.
Okay, let's talk about the tanks of Indonesia. PT-76 is a Russian/Chinese tank. About the size of the BX, slightly lower profile when compared with AMX-13. It also has a good amphibious capability. The Tank was a potent 75mm cannon. Armor wise is not as thick is the AMX-13.(without addition armor)
AMX-10 is fully Amphibious. And very fast on water too cause it has specially built propellers for water missions. 90MM cannon can rip through a T-72 in a single shot. Relatively light armor without addition plates. The vehicle is very difficult to maintain due to many "delicated" parts. Even SAF complaints about the maintaince if it's AMX-10s.
AMX-VCI, although old, has a strong armor. It's even stronger than the PT-76 and the M113's aluminium armor. It has a lower profile too but the engine isn't as powerful. The standard Armament is weak too. It's also as cramp as hell inside.
Scorpion 90, dunno much but 90MM cannon?....nuff said.
V-150, BTR and saracen are very light-armored vehicles. But they are very Fast(wheeled)
Anyone knows anything about the Stormer APCs?
[This message has been edited by Silenthunter (edited 03 June 2001).]
Sadly....in this real world, in times of war... u cant sit on the fence.Originally posted by Silenthunter:Hi Mindef, welcome to this topic....just want to tell you that...dun believe every post you've read in this topic. Most are use for flaming others and some is just propaganda (expected from an un-moderated topic). Just read for fun and don't take it too seriously.
As an NCC cadet, I think you are more than prepard for NS life. Trust me, NCC life is tougher than NS in terms of regimentation and dicipline...so you should be fine in BMT.
Thinking for signing on? My advise is, if you want to sign on "just for the money"....forget it! it's not worth it and you'll condemn yourself only to military life and skills....in other words, you'll suffer if you want to find a job after you quit SAF.
If you want to sign on because "You love the military"...then I say go for it. But let me warn you, You might find the SAF organization full of inconpetent people so that might dissapoint you.
As for the "race" issue. I'm glad to hear of you loyalty and willingness to defend you country regardless of the race your enemies are. Heck I dare to say aloud too that I'll kill my enemy whether he's a freaking chinese (I'm chinese) or not. But from what I know in the army, many Malays are not willing to kill them own race. Religeon plays a large part too. I've got a malay friend who told me that if we were to fight, he will not pull the trigger on muslim soldiers...but he also say that he will not betray us too. I don't blame him cause I think it's difficult on him too.
I think that's why many malays are found in support-arms unit instead of combat units...to save them the agony of killing someone that believes in the same god as them.
Okay, these are my opinion, you don't have to agree with me so "twist" on the flaming part. :p Got any disagreement? Just point them out without the insults...this topic got enough flaming already.
--------
Oh yeah.....the 90mm gun is actually my deduction. You know that Israel's 75mm AMX-13 guns are not able to penetrate the hulls of the T-72 during one of their wars, then them re-fit it with a 90mm gun and it proves effective. That's why I though that 90mm is enough to down a T-72. Maybe 90mm can down a stripped T-72. Of course if your are talking about reactive armor plates...even 120mm need 2 or more shots.
Nuclear sub and Tomahawks??? That's way too much.....much like an overkill. Where did you get this info from? I think those rumors are lies. I think nuclear capable facilities are ban in SEA due to some Treaty(could be wrong though) and I think the tomahawks are US exclusive weapons. It's like saying we are getting F117A stealth bombers. I don't think we need a nuclear sub of a long range remote missile.....we are not conquering anyone.
Anyone got new on the new tank SAF's building? What I gathered is little....105mm, 3 crew.
<font color=#6666CC>T-72 with upgraded armor and reactive armor kit. modified with a 155mm smoothbore cannon. An anti-tank weapon with 1000mm penetration strength for regular armor. Guess who show interest in aquiring these?</font>
Originally posted by Silenthunter:T72 with upgraded armour and reactive armour ki. modified gun and anti-tank weapon with 1000mm penetration stregth for regular armour. If i'm not wrong, you must be talking about Malaysia. But from what i see, the T84 stands a greater chance than the T72MS Moderna.
I've got a malay friend who told me that if we were to fight, he will not pull the trigger on muslim soldiers...but he also say that he will not betray us too. I don't blame him cause I think it's difficult on him too.
I think that's why many malays are found in support-arms unit instead of combat units...to save them the agony of killing someone that believes in the same god as them.
Okay, these are my opinion, you don't have to agree with me so "twist" on the flaming part. :p Got any disagreement? Just point them out without the insults...this topic got enough flaming already.
--------
Oh yeah.....the 90mm gun is actually my deduction. You know that Israel's 75mm AMX-13 guns are not able to penetrate the hulls of the T-72 during one of their wars, then them re-fit it with a 90mm gun and it proves effective. That's why I though that 90mm is enough to down a T-72. Maybe 90mm can down a stripped T-72. Of course if your are talking about reactive armor plates...even 120mm need 2 or more shots.
Nuclear sub and Tomahawks??? That's way too much.....much like an overkill. Where did you get this info from? I think those rumors are lies. I think nuclear capable facilities are ban in SEA due to some Treaty(could be wrong though) and I think the tomahawks are US exclusive weapons. It's like saying we are getting F117A stealth bombers. I don't think we need a nuclear sub of a long range remote missile.....we are not conquering anyone.
Anyone got new on the new tank SAF's building? What I gathered is little....105mm, 3 crew.
<font color=#6666CC>T-72 with upgraded armor and reactive armor kit. modified with a 155mm smoothbore cannon. An anti-tank weapon with 1000mm penetration strength for regular armor. Guess who show interest in aquiring these?</font>[/B]
The new Frigates that is going to replace the missile gunboat is a cooperation between Singapore and who, France or Italy???? and how many of them is going to be built, anyone can brief me on this?-----------------------------------------
Originally posted by CenturionMBTI see, but i think 5 is a little too small. Of course the F16C have a better radar than the MIG29! The F16C had BVR interception capability as one of its main design while the MIG29 probably is designed for victory in close air-to-air combat or to do stunts. HAHA. The EF2000 indeed can cruise without afterburners. Its a fact. Thats why Singapore MINDEF is looking into it!
[/B]
Originally posted by CenturionMBT:[/QUOTE]
[QUOTE]The new Frigates that is going to replace the missile gunboat is a cooperation between Singapore and who, France or Italy???? and how many of them is going to be built, anyone can brief me on this?
The RSAF operates a total 10 AS550A and 10 AS550C-2. The A model is used for training and the C model is armed with TOW, Cannon etc. Yeah, i agree that 8 is pathetic, but 8 is enough to take down all Malaysian Scorpions. I'm sure there will be more. Maybe the government is waiting for a better one, so we ordered 8 first.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:Guess I got the wrong info.Well, any idea whether mindef would accuire any more apaches after the 8 are delivered? 8 seems to be a pathetic number.Anyway, how many anti-tank AS550C-2 Fennac do RSAF have I am quite curious.![]()
me??? no lar...my level damn low one lah.. ok...maybe not so low, BUT not so high either.Originally posted by Silenthunter:Yah loh tripwire....how you know all this info one? Are you in some special unit with very high CAT status? Hopefully it's not some classified stuff from mindef.....if it is i recommend you keep it down.....for the sake of national security and also to avoid MSD.
The "defending the Lion city" book is already a big compromise.
Regionally, we need to be mindful of our neighbors, but, Yes! You're right about the last point. The biggest threat is China. Not Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia nor Philippines. The highly likely scenerio for Singapore to go to war is a Belligerent communist China. The trigger will likely be Taiwan issue or the Spratleys Islands. In this case, there is a high chance we will fight alongside our SEA counterparts. And should this war start, it's highly unlikely that we will ever win even with all SEA forces combined, unless we can get the US involved somehow......Originally posted by Patriotic Tim:The A4SU would be replaced by a mixed force of F16D and EF2000. Being able to take air supriority roles and attack roles, the EF2000 would also replace the F5S. If the RSAF really intends to purchase the EF2000, it would approximately purchase 70 Typhoons. Being able to undertake the mission of the Super Skyhawks and F5S, it will only need one Typhoon to replace 1 F5S and 1 Super Skyhawk. Eventually, the fleet would be minimised but still, maintain the power and capability of the previous large fleet.
From what i know, other than the 40> Super Skyhawks that are operational now, there are hundreds of Skyhawks stored in the storage. These may be used at fake targets for enemy attack aircrafts or maybe even become unmanned bombers, like what you had said.
Well, the Stormer is a British product. t is fast, agile and is a tracked APC. Its armour is not able to withstand the ipact of modern anti-tank projectiles but it can be armed with medium calibre weapons and automatic cannons. Its forward slope is a design that make it difficult to be destroyed by modern anti-tank missile fired at its front. Teh Malaysian Army is using it too. It can rival the Singapore Army Ultras but not the Bionix IFVs.
The PT-76 tanks are low-tech weapons. No source saying that the TNI-AD has any upgrade plans of it. As for the economic status of Indonesia now, maintaining these tanks may not be as important as providing quality weapons and equipments for the Riot police. Looking at the News, it tells us that Indonesia invested alot on providing quality bullet-proof vest for the police/troops. A standard weapon for all troops. Standard uniforms and equipments. So the not all Indonesian armour units is going to be operational. However, the air defence may not be very poor. Even though they had little modern fighters, they may be able to use their fleet as point defence fighters. With their Rapiers and thousands of low to high calibre anti-aircraft guns, they are ablt to defend the Capital for some time.
As for their Navy, they are good! They are big. Some with high tech weaponary and some with no missile at all. Even though their fleet is big, they will never make it on their way to Singapore( If someday they attack).
The Singapore Army, i believe not all 340> SM1 tanks are operational but the number of armour units we are able to put on the battle front is goiung to be bigger than both our Northern and Southern neighbours.
Ever thought about all SEA countries join forces to take down Chinese attacking Force. From the present political happenings and disputes and the large arms build up in China, this story of China as another Japan may become true. It all depends on the China government. Ziang Ze Min's service is over soon, perhaps for another year. The new government may be an ambitious one.
[This message has been edited by Patriotic Tim (edited 03 June 2001).]
tripwire,Originally posted by tripwire:which radar is better? well....i give u a hint.
the RMAF when they first ordered the fulcrum didnt like the fulcrums radar one bit. in fact, they want the fulcrums to be installed with western digital and radar system.
BUT halfway through the change, they discover one minor detail they overlooked. that is.....in order to use ADDER, u must use the russian radar :X
SO....grudgingly they reinstall the russians radar back...
Base on that little history, what do u think is the RMAF position with regard to the capability of the russian radar?
point 2. Singapore ordered 6 ships from france. NOT 5.
AND it is not the lafayette class or a downsized class. what MINDEF wanted was for the french company to help DSTA to customize build an entirely new ship with stealth technology gained from the lafayette from scratch.
That is why it will take 5 years for the first ship to be ready. else where need so long to build a ship???
The ship when ready might look entirely different from lafayette. in fact it might looks like the one from janes' all the world ships.
For those who seen the ship. i believe u will agreed with me that it is very sleek to say the least. trimaran hull, vertical launch missile bay, water jet propulsion and low siloutte.
TOO BAD I WONT GET TO SAIL IN THAT SHIP! damn, i wanna get reborn ;>
Yar Lor. That Communist(slowly moving away from it) country is the main threat! Look at their rapid arms buildup, wah lau, as if preparing for mass invasion of Asia. I think the PLA, PLAAF, PLAN is not only used to defeat Taiwan, but also small and countries that is weaker than her. OR!!!! Maybe even the US!!!!! BTW, the Chinese really have great weapons. Very great indeed. Their Type 85M II MBT and Type 98 MBT of the army is better than the American M1A? Abrams. No need to compare their armour. M1 surely wins. But compare agility, speed weight, ability to cross very very muddy terrain where heavy weight vehicle's wheel s will sink into it. Weaponry also very good.Originally posted by bolts:Regionally, we need to be mindful of our neighbors, but, Yes! You're right about the last point. The biggest threat is China. Not Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia nor Philippines. The highly likely scenerio for Singapore to go to war is a Belligerent communist China. The trigger will likely be Taiwan issue or the Spratleys Islands. In this case, there is a high chance we will fight alongside our SEA counterparts. And should this war start, it's highly unlikely that we will ever win even with all SEA forces combined, unless we can get the US involved somehow......
I agree! The main threat is the Northern Giant! actually, if SEA is to combine, chances of winning is 50/50. If they attack by sea, which means amphibious landings, there may be chances of defeating the whole amphibious forec, especially after we receive the frigates. But if they attack by land, which means having to defeat and invade Cambodia, Vietnam and reach the Thai borders, the result is loss for sure. By the time they attack is about 2006,7 and their force is so big that they can fight the US! once they successfully took land, their attack/fighters then got chance to land in Vietnam and Cambodia air bases and then every10 mins got Chinese jets doing bombing runs and fkatten the once crowded with tall buildings, Singapore.Originally posted by bolts:Regionally, we need to be mindful of our neighbors, but, Yes! You're right about the last point. The biggest threat is China. Not Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia nor Philippines. The highly likely scenerio for Singapore to go to war is a Belligerent communist China. The trigger will likely be Taiwan issue or the Spratleys Islands. In this case, there is a high chance we will fight alongside our SEA counterparts. And should this war start, it's highly unlikely that we will ever win even with all SEA forces combined, unless we can get the US involved somehow......