Ok. I agree with you that US is poking into everyone;s business but, they did restore peace between warring nations( except Israel and Arab countries), they did stop Hussein's onslaught on Kuwait, they did helped in the Korean War, the reason why they do all these, we will never know. Maybe they want to test their weapons( Persian Gulf War ), maybe they want people to know that they are the true super power, but i dun like the way China keeps blaming the US, from my view, the fault lies with the 2 nations. Why does the US need to keep gathering intelligence and info from China and why does China pilots have to keep intercepting the US in a dangerous(unprofessional) way? Knowing that the fast and agile J8 fighter can easilly crash into the slow and lumbering EP3 plane and i believe that the US is continueing its spy plane job. As for the taiwan matter, China keeps massing land forces to islands nearest to Taiwan. even though they said that these are regular trainings, they don't really have to train on that particular island, and th exercise is resembling that of the scene when China conduct a full-scale invasion of Taiwan across the strait but if war breaks out between the two, Taiwan is going to be thrashed because of the Chinese Naval Fleet and modern land forces.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:Please lah, China have no reason to invade SEA one lah.Firstly, they are concentating more on building up their economy.If ever they go on war ,their country would be devastated.Don't be too influenced by western media that china is the villian of the world.In fact, when you look closer, you would discover that US is the big bully after all.Poking their nose into everyone's buisness except their own, saying that the whole world have no human rights except themselves.They may say that china have no human rights, imprisoning people without trial,but look at the CIA, how many people have they assasinated without trial? Sure I know that US support us with all the best weapons,help us to build the economy this and that, but then, look at their policies with a deeper insight and you would see a darker side of US.Just take a look at the missile defense shield that they were trying to promote, all of us know that it was against China,but compare the nuclear arsenal of China and US,China has 12 nuclear bombs in their inventory wherelse US have thousands of nuclear bombs.Besides, this son of starwars project would never be succesful.Its technology is way ahead of its time.Well , I am not exactly pro china, nor am I pro US, it is just because of some bigots call Bush decided to turn the whole world against him thats why I type this.Well, lets hope we would see a more peaceful China and US in the future![]()
Why US wanna stop countries from going to war?? because US cant send its soldier all over the place to fight a war on multiple front.Originally posted by Patriotic Tim:Ok. I agree with you that US is poking into everyone;s business but, they did restore peace between warring nations( except Israel and Arab countries), they did stop Hussein's onslaught on Kuwait, they did helped in the Korean War, the reason why they do all these, we will never know. Maybe they want to test their weapons( Persian Gulf War ), maybe they want people to know that they are the true super power, but i dun like the way China keeps blaming the US, from my view, the fault lies with the 2 nations. Why does the US need to keep gathering intelligence and info from China and why does China pilots have to keep intercepting the US in a dangerous(unprofessional) way? Knowing that the fast and agile J8 fighter can easilly crash into the slow and lumbering EP3 plane and i believe that the US is continueing its spy plane job. As for the taiwan matter, China keeps massing land forces to islands nearest to Taiwan. even though they said that these are regular trainings, they don't really have to train on that particular island, and th exercise is resembling that of the scene when China conduct a full-scale invasion of Taiwan across the strait but if war breaks out between the two, Taiwan is going to be thrashed because of the Chinese Naval Fleet and modern land forces.
Ok, you said that US did bring peace to many countries about the world.However, if you look deeper into each war, you discover that US had plenty of bloopers in each war. For example, during the Korean war, the Americans attacked pass the 38th parallel although the chinese warned them not to do so.The result,US nearly got overran by the Chinese troops.Originally quoted by Patriotic TimOk. I agree with you that US is poking into everyone;s business but, they did restore peace between warring nations( except Israel and Arab countries), they did stop Hussein's onslaught on Kuwait, they did helped in the Korean War, the reason why they do all these, we will never know. Maybe they want to test their weapons( Persian Gulf War ), maybe they want people to know that they are the true super power, but i dun like the way China keeps blaming the US, from my view, the fault lies with the 2 nations. Why does the US need to keep gathering intelligence and info from China and why does China pilots have to keep intercepting the US in a dangerous(unprofessional) way? Knowing that the fast and agile J8 fighter can easilly crash into the slow and lumbering EP3 plane and i believe that the US is continueing its spy plane job. As for the taiwan matter, China keeps massing land forces to islands nearest to Taiwan. even though they said that these are regular trainings, they don't really have to train on that particular island, and th exercise is resembling that of the scene when China conduct a full-scale invasion of Taiwan across the strait but if war breaks out between the two, Taiwan is going to be thrashed because of the Chinese Naval Fleet and modern land forces.
EH....if that is your definition of cruise missile, that means every damn nation that have a UAV is now a cruise missile capable nation.....Originally posted by CenturionMBT:Well enough of this deviation.I just discovered tht singapore have criuse missile ability.Just attach a warhead on one of those isreali UAVs and reprogramme it a little , it becomes a cruise missile.
Anyway, these UAVs don't have very long-rang capability. Can give more info on the Blue Horizon and Firefly?Originally posted by CenturionMBT:Whoops, imean only Blue Horizon and Firefly UAVS could do it.
Anyway, these UAVs don't have very long-rang capability. Can give more info on the Blue Horizon and Firefly?Originally posted by Patriotic Tim:[QUOTE]Originally posted by CenturionMBT:
[b]Whoops, imean only Blue Horizon and Firefly UAVS could do it.
Not quite correct. Maybe we should ask the Japs this question : Hey, you had no reason to invade SEA, why did you invade us during World War Two??Originally posted by CenturionMBT:Please lah, China have no reason to invade SEA one lah.Firstly, they are concentating more on building up their economy.If ever they go on war ,their country would be devastated.Don't be too influenced by western media that china is the villian of the world.In fact, when you look closer, you would discover that US is the big bully after all.Poking their nose into everyone's buisness except their own, saying that the whole world have no human rights except themselves.They may say that china have no human rights, imprisoning people without trial,but look at the CIA, how many people have they assasinated without trial? Sure I know that US support us with all the best weapons,help us to build the economy this and that, but then, look at their policies with a deeper insight and you would see a darker side of US.Just take a look at the missile defense shield that they were trying to promote, all of us know that it was against China,but compare the nuclear arsenal of China and US,China has 12 nuclear bombs in their inventory wherelse US have thousands of nuclear bombs.Besides, this son of starwars project would never be succesful.Its technology is way ahead of its time.Well , I am not exactly pro china, nor am I pro US, it is just because of some bigots call Bush decided to turn the whole world against him thats why I type this.Well, lets hope we would see a more peaceful China and US in the future![]()
China laid claim and has historical basis on its claim to the SEA islands for decades if not centuries. but it is open to discussion about the ownership of the islands with all involved in the dispute. BUT as a full sovereign nation, it cannot allow others from passing through its sovereign land unchallenged.Originally posted by bolts:Not quite correct. Maybe we should ask the Japs this question : Hey, you had no reason to invade SEA, why did you invade us during World War Two??
China is the only country so far that had a run-in with the Philippines Navy in the Spratleys. The other SEA countries with a claim on the Spratleys had the sensitivity not to antangonise each other. Not China, They built a military structure on mischief reef. And when forced to make a stand, blocked the Philipines Navy from going near Mischief reef.
Read this this article.
http://www.subcontinent.com/sapra/world/w_1999_01_21.html
Is there a reason for China to invade parts of SEA and stake it's territory? Possibly, because of possible oil deposits in the Spratleys.
Why would the US want to help tiny SEA? Possibly in exchange for some incentive. As they did with Kuwait in exchange for oil.
Originally posted by tripwire:China laid claim and has historical basis on its claim to the SEA islands for decades if not centuries. but it is open to discussion about the ownership of the islands with all involved in the dispute. BUT as a full sovereign nation, it cannot allow others from passing through its sovereign land unchallenged.
So, Wads China and malaysia's force in the Spratley? only Naval Force?
Looks like Singapore is angelic
Phillipine asserted its claim only recently, base on geographical proximity (which is bullshit). Phillipine has not shown any conclusive evidence it owns those isle, in fact, what makes up the country of phillipine was not decided by the pinos, it was the spanish and then later the american colonial masters that decided which land or isle constitute their colony, the question is....was there any records that prior to the establishment of the nation call phillipine, was there any legally documented evidence that those isle belong to phillipine.
IN FACT, the americans which is the former owner of the entire phillipine isles and later granted it independence has rejected the phillipine claims that the spratelys belong to the phillipine and that USA is bounded by a joint defense treaty to come to the phillipine aid in the event the chinese move into the sprately's. so the pinos case is weak and little more then a pile of cow dung.
malaysian claim to the isle is even more absurd, it claim the isle as theirs because under a 1980s agreedment on EEZ, malaysian EEZ happen to overlap the islands and thus they claimed its theirs. twisting the agreedment to a deform level of absurdity.
malaysians self selective interpretation is equal to saying that using malaysian coast as a baseline, the EEZ of malaysia will effectively make the entire sumatra, half of klimantan, half of thailand and myanmar and the entire singapore and riau islands MALAYSIAN TERRITORY!!!
this is worst than bullshit!
SO....as u can see, the SEA nations are not so angelic as u might wish to think. they are all including PRC and japan, a pack of wolfs.
So china has bases in the spratelys,.....so does phillipine, malaysia, taiwan and vietnam.....so everyone is a devil actually. ehehehe
AS long as china abides by the IMO treaty and observe the free passage of the SLOC.....no one, not even USA, not singapore and not even GOD will come and help those loud mouth screaming (nothing else better to do jokers) pinos....because they have nothing to offer us.
America has no need of the oil in SEA, it already has a secure supply in the middle east, thanks to iraq.;>
Yes, it's true our neighbors sometimes act out of character. Same goes for US. THE point here is NOT who is a devil or the USA is a much bigger devil. The point is if they do find huge amount of oil and gas there, will there be a fight for it and how will the outcome turn out?Originally posted by tripwire:China laid claim and has historical basis on its claim to the SEA islands for decades if not centuries. but it is open to discussion about the ownership of the islands with all involved in the dispute. BUT as a full sovereign nation, it cannot allow others from passing through its sovereign land unchallenged.
Phillipine asserted its claim only recently, base on geographical proximity (which is bullshit). Phillipine has not shown any conclusive evidence it owns those isle, in fact, what makes up the country of phillipine was not decided by the pinos, it was the spanish and then later the american colonial masters that decided which land or isle constitute their colony, the question is....was there any records that prior to the establishment of the nation call phillipine, was there any legally documented evidence that those isle belong to phillipine.
IN FACT, the americans which is the former owner of the entire phillipine isles and later granted it independence has rejected the phillipine claims that the spratelys belong to the phillipine and that USA is bounded by a joint defense treaty to come to the phillipine aid in the event the chinese move into the sprately's. so the pinos case is weak and little more then a pile of cow dung.
malaysian claim to the isle is even more absurd, it claim the isle as theirs because under a 1980s agreedment on EEZ, malaysian EEZ happen to overlap the islands and thus they claimed its theirs. twisting the agreedment to a deform level of absurdity.
malaysians self selective interpretation is equal to saying that using malaysian coast as a baseline, the EEZ of malaysia will effectively make the entire sumatra, half of klimantan, half of thailand and myanmar and the entire singapore and riau islands MALAYSIAN TERRITORY!!!
this is worst than bullshit!
SO....as u can see, the SEA nations are not so angelic as u might wish to think. they are all including PRC and japan, a pack of wolfs.
So china has bases in the spratelys,.....so does phillipine, malaysia, taiwan and vietnam.....so everyone is a devil actually. ehehehe
AS long as china abides by the IMO treaty and observe the free passage of the SLOC.....no one, not even USA, not singapore and not even GOD will come and help those loud mouth screaming (nothing else better to do jokers) pinos....because they have nothing to offer us.
America has no need of the oil in SEA, it already has a secure supply in the middle east, thanks to iraq.;>
1. other than another superpower, no other country has the man, the economic might, the techonological edge, the military stength and the political influence to hold off China.Originally posted by bolts:Yes, it's true our neighbors sometimes act out of character. Same goes for US. THE point here is NOT who is a devil or the USA is a much bigger devil. The point is if they do find huge amount of oil and gas there, will there be a fight for it and how will the outcome turn out?
Those guys in the War room love scenario planning....think about it. If they find that the oil reserves in the Spratleys is really more than what is available in Kuwait (God forbid, and I hope they never find any), the geo-political landscape in SEA will change. Would China use force? If they do, would the SEA countries (excluding Singapore) stand a chance?
If China is not a threat, why continue to hold FPDA (if memory serves me correctly, it was for communist insurgency in Penisular Malaysia and Singapore is involved in this, unless this has changed?) air/sea exercises? The latest one was on 26th Apr to 4th May. Just last month.
Read the following excerpt by Rahul Roy-Chaudhury, Institute for Defence Studies & Analyses, New Delhi :
A major naval arms build-up is also currently taking place amongst the Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN) member states. This may be due to a number of factors, including the additional naval responsibilities in the new international law of the sea; uncertainties due to a perceived American military withdrawal from the region; rivalry amongst the states themselves, the rapidly growing economies; and perceptions of threat from an assertive Chinese Navy in the region.
See J.N. Mak, 'ASEAN Maritime Insecurity: Contingency Planning in an Uncertain World', International Defence Review - Defence 95, pp.58-65.
We can stand on our own two feet against our regional neighbors. Why did Singapore open up Changi Naval facilities for the US fleet? Granted, having the US fleet in Changi means our neigbors would think twice about attacking. But, the greater impact is to keep China in check by having a US presence.
There has never been any doubt in the Singapore government's mind that China poses a threat to our regional stability. And that's the premise of Patriotic Tim's posting.
Right. China is the biggest threat to our regional stability.Originally posted by tripwire:1. other than another superpower, no other country has the man, the economic might, the techonological edge, the military stength and the political influence to hold off China.
2. FPDA cannot hope to hold China, FPDA was set up more against Indonesia. The IADS under the FPDA is little more then a skeleton. FPDA is not a military treaty, it is a consultative agreedment. in any case, the rivalry and distrust between singapore and malaysia makes a joint defense an impossible task. UK is too far to send reinforcement, NZ is too weak and australia cant even defend itself without USA.
3. If ever China moves south with its huge army of 3 million regulars, 20 million reserve troops, i doubt all the ASEAN armies can hope to hold their ground without superpower intervention. And if China goes all out mobilization, China can throw in over 270 million soldier! that is equal to the entire population of USA! Now u see why singapore open up CNB to the USN?
4. the disparate political reality, conflicting interest and weak economic makes a united stand an impossible task.
NOPE....our biggest threat to regional stability is islamic resurgence, indonesian instability, malaysian bumiputra policy, phillipino economic failure and thai myanmar border skirmish.Originally posted by bolts:Right. China is the biggest threat to our regional stability.
[This message has been edited by Patriotic Tim (edited 17 June 2001).]Originally posted by Silenthunter:I think now...the most immediate threat is the Thai/Myanmar border crisis. I read from the papers that 2/3(500k) of Myanmars' army is relocated near the Thai border. It looks as though there's going to be war between the two countries. If the "war" spreads to Malaysia (very unlike), that's it man!
Whats happening between Myanmar and Thailand????? Thailand is close allies with Singapore.
Whats happening between Thailand and Myanmar??? Thailand is Singapore's close allies..
Will China attack SEA? That's hard to say man, Anything can happen so we cannot predict all this man....The 97 economic crisis already showed us many sudden "changes" around the regional at we thought, would not happen in the next 10 years.
We must be prepared for whatever that's in stored for us in the future.
I think at this point, a war between myanmar and thailands seems premature.Originally posted by Silenthunter:I think now...the most immediate threat is the Thai/Myanmar border crisis. I read from the papers that 2/3(500k) of Myanmars' army is relocated near the Thai border. It looks as though there's going to be war between the two countries. If the "war" spreads to Malaysia (very unlike), that's it man!
Will China attack SEA? That's hard to say man, Anything can happen so we cannot predict all this man....The 97 economic crisis already showed us many sudden "changes" around the regional at we thought, would not happen in the next 10 years.
We must be prepared for whatever that's in stored for us in the future.
oh dont worry, the MAF would lost most of its men and machine in the fight against those 2 gorillas, by the time SAF comes into the picture, throwing the MAF into the nearest longkang would be a easy as a walk in the park. ehhehee......Originally posted by Patriotic Tim:That means we have to fight the malaysian first before we can fight on their soil. Like that the remaining soldiers left can continue fighting?
Haha. But, why wouldn't Malaysia let a more powerful neighbour help them. Would they allow if that war realy happen?Originally posted by tripwire:oh dont worry, the MAF would lost most of its men and machine in the fight against those 2 gorillas, by the time SAF comes into the picture, throwing the MAF into the nearest longkang would be a easy as a walk in the park. ehhehee......
They will of course want us to help them, BUT we must wait and bide our time. We must let the dog fight the dog and shack each other out...then we will come in...and it will be easy lor. heheheeheeOriginally posted by Patriotic Tim:Haha. But, why wouldn't Malaysia let a more powerful neighbour help them. Would they allow if that war realy happen?