No, we can't buy T72 as there are plans for Malaysia to buy the T84 MBT. We must at least buy M1A1. Actually, M1A1 is enough. What is the IVIS??? i only know the Independent Commander's Sight System.Originally posted by Shotgun:2 LAWs in the front??? Okay... i wont be CAUGHT DEAD in that Tank. Maybe we can buy some cheap T-72s or something, maybe even Israeli M-60A3s. Or buy the M1A1s the US Army is keepin as surplus. US Armed forces operate M1A2s now, M1A3 on the way out of the oven i heard.
By the way, does the SAF armored forces have IVIS? The inter-vehicle-intergrations system helps to improve situation awareness as well as better command and control in the battlefield.
malaysia has been harping on buying submarines eversince.... (let me count..) 20 YEARs!! ago!!... well.. even if they do purchase the subs, it would be both limited in number (bo lui) and a trained crew (bo lan). so.... i wonder if the RSN ASW ships and planes might also have to end up bidding for a 'certificate of entitilement' to sink that malaysian subs... since obviously... there arent enough malaysian subs to go around for the RSN ships.Originally posted by Patriotic Tim:NOw, the Royal Malaysian Navy is a serious threat to the RSN. They had plans of purchasing scorpene SSK submarines from France and these Submarines are the latest and highly capable. (surely beats the refurbished Challenger class). China is no longer a threat to me. They are so obssesed with BeiJing2008 that they may even forget about the Taiwan matter for the time being, cause a war may eventually take BeiJing 2008 away from them. Whats so great to host an Olympic????? i really don't understand. BTW, all Apaches in Singapore Service will not be equipped with the LongBow technology, unless U.S wants to start an armrace in the region. When Singapore requested for LONGBOW technology to be incorporated into the first batch of 8 AH64D, U.S already turned down the request and Singapore MAY purchase 12 more, not definitely purchase 12 more. BTW, i thnk that Apaches is highly capable but too expensive. only 16 Hellfire missiles can be armed. Look at the UH60 Black hawk, it can be armed with 16 Hellfire too and auto-cannons just like the Apaches and also can transport troops, carry Anti-Shipping missiles and alot more cheaper. I think a Eurocopter Tiger is good enough. Any comments?
Leclerc from france is a good choice too. Though 10 tonnes heavier than T-80 and T-94. It weights only 54,500 tons (combat weight). Operated only by 3 crews with auto loader. A 120 mm smooth bore with effective range of more than 3kms. That could have very great effectiveness in the duel against any MBT day and night. Capable of firing when the tank is moving with a rate of fire at 6 shots/min. The long-range fire control stablized the sight and the gun remains permanenlty pointed at the target selected. A very balanced general protection is obtained not only by modular shielding but also by compactness and thus low visibility, which combined with the very great agility which makes it a very difficult target to hit.Originally posted by m113apc:patrotic tim,i dowan to sound sacarastic or what,but either your teacher is a great liar,or he was in a war that i had no idea existed!so he was a paratrooper in the US army har?in bosnia ?and he was engaging an M1 Abrams har?last time i read,only the americans had the M1 and also Egypt,and also Saudi Arabia(i think).....so he was an amercian soldier shooting at an amercian tank?i think you been had lah....
anyway,someone mentioned that the very presense of the M1 will cause our potential enemies to rethink their strategies etc etc...we dont need an expensive MBT to do that....our Centurions can do that already and more cheaply as well!what we needed was a MBT that was able to fire its main gun,move around and we had that.and we had them long time ago,maybe from the late 70s to early 80s.some may say that its old and junk,but the main point is that it serves it purpose well,especially when no one around us had any armour corps to speak of.
now that our northern neighbours have started saying that its time to have one(again!),we would have our new tanks up and firing by then!!
i was in armour when doing my NS,and i used to cringe whenever i hear and see the sm1 tank rattle and move pass.and when i saw it moving down the the road for the national parade last year,wah lau,pai seh meh!imagine the very same tanks had rolled down the streets in 1967 were now moving down the streets in 2000!
but after seeing them in live firing,movement etc,i realised that they still had a lot to offer to SAF,and they were more than capable during this interin period while we wait for our new tanks...
NOt sure about patriot's post. BUt there were storys about disabled M1s that had to be taken out to ensure no loss of crucial technologies. I find it quite believable.Originally posted by m113apc:patrotic tim,i dowan to sound sacarastic or what,but either your teacher is a great liar,or he was in a war that i had no idea existed!so he was a paratrooper in the US army har?in bosnia ?and he was engaging an M1 Abrams har?last time i read,only the americans had the M1 and also Egypt,and also Saudi Arabia(i think).....so he was an amercian soldier shooting at an amercian tank?i think you been had lah....
anyway,someone mentioned that the very presense of the M1 will cause our potential enemies to rethink their strategies etc etc...we dont need an expensive MBT to do that....our Centurions can do that already and more cheaply as well!what we needed was a MBT that was able to fire its main gun,move around and we had that.and we had them long time ago,maybe from the late 70s to early 80s.some may say that its old and junk,but the main point is that it serves it purpose well,especially when no one around us had any armour corps to speak of.
now that our northern neighbours have started saying that its time to have one(again!),we would have our new tanks up and firing by then!!
i was in armour when doing my NS,and i used to cringe whenever i hear and see the sm1 tank rattle and move pass.and when i saw it moving down the the road for the national parade last year,wah lau,pai seh meh!imagine the very same tanks had rolled down the streets in 1967 were now moving down the streets in 2000!
but after seeing them in live firing,movement etc,i realised that they still had a lot to offer to SAF,and they were more than capable during this interin period while we wait for our new tanks...
Merkava Mk3/Mk4's primary design criteral is crew survivability. The engine is in the front to provide protection to it's crew. Special 'space armour' is in use along with protected ammo and fuel compartments. Merkava's rear entrance and exit allow its crew to mount and dismount tactically. Since the Merkava can carry a small infantry squad, they could make use for the 60mm motar when no arti. is available.Originally posted by Silenthunter:Yeah, since now the topic is deverted to tanks. What do you guys think of the Merkava MBT?
From what I heard, it's one of the biggest tank in the world.. M1A1 is nothing compared to it.
I also read that it has a mortar tube and a back door for easy escape and loading of ammo. I also read that the first version's ammo are load from the top hatches.