I do agree with you...he definitely needs to be more "approachable" towards girls....he's SHY guy???Originally posted by elindra:I think his friend needs to be more assertive besides a physical make-over. From what Caramon is saying, he sounds like a doormat and girls don't like doormats.
yeah...better not so directOriginally posted by mistyblue:I suspect its him... but then....![]()
yeah lah... you see my replies ... ???? can tell I am withholding...Originally posted by SnowFlag:yeah...better not so direct![]()
"Approachable" is not the word hereOriginally posted by dcx:I do agree with you...he definitely needs to be more "approachable" towards girls....he's SHY guy???
Originally posted by gerrykoh:Tell him to improve his appearance- get rid of his mostache, wear contacts, go for makeover.
Appearance are impt. for initial attraction that is why guys always go for pretty girls. For girls, character & personality are more impt. cos we can accept average looks.
Being nice means gentlemanly in his treatment towards girls.
We don't want a wimp. He must be assertive & knows what he wants eg when he gets interrupted by rude pple when speaking, he should not keep quiet.
Originally posted by Boo777:Yeap, u have my vote on tat.
Dun believe this "Oh, she'll accept for wat I am" tat bullshit. First impression counts, and this includes everything from how one dress, to one's pose/how he carries himself. And most importantly... how he com-mu-ni-cates.
Ok, first tip, tell him to read more mag. Like Men's Health, try to "psycho" him to look as good, or close as those models in there.
For his looks, the hairs gotta go. A totally bald guy looks cooler then a guy trying to save watz left of up there. Take him to the gym and train up his body. From wat you write up there, he's got a skinny body, so skip the cardio training, go straight for the weights, not too heavy. Buy supplements to build up those muscules fast. Get a tan.
Take him to the shopping mall, G2000, Giodarno, GUESS, BOD, Domanchi, POA, etc etc etc for clothes. Go to places like Yellow for the accessories, he can pierce his ears there, if he wans to.
2nd Tips, attitude, not to say to make him a badass overnight, but build up his confidence. The mirror and a friend helps. Make him talk more. Talk to the mirror, the mirror will let him know how he looks like when he talks and improve himself. This will also improve the way he carry himself. The way he walks, tell him to start walking like a human being and not a lesser primate. So the hunchback and slugging shoulders gotta go. Walk upright, straight back, chest forward, chin up, look in front, not at his little hobbit down there. Most importantly, he needs to feel proud of wat he looks like. He'll look more confident tat way.
3rd tip, well, I dunno whether this is considered a tip but, watch the movie "I Do I Do" and "Hitch". Not for entertainment, but get the main concept behind those movies. Wat those gals are actually attracted to and wat turns them on. How gals wan to be treated... so on so fore.
Tatz all tat I can give, the rest is up to himself. As a friend to him, u have to help him if u are so concerned. If he needs a training buddy in the gym, just drop me a private msg. I usually train on fridays on bt gombak.
He's going through wat I've gone through 10 years ago. But dun worry, itz not too late. Look at me now, 10 years ago, the gals did the choosing, but now, I'm the one who's doing the choosing. And I believe he's 1 caterpillar whos dying to come out of his cacoon.
Sorry, a little long-winded on my part... must be getting old... ha ha!!
Maybe its really him...Originally posted by mistyblue:I suspect its him... but then....![]()
Welcome to the real world, my friend.Originally posted by caramon:A post to answer all questions.. NO I am not him.. anyway thanks to all forumers who contribute: from those with constructive solutions to the more tact-less, thanks for your time..
What I am thinking aloud is how could ladies who often lament about the lack of " Nice" guys when my friend Peter, is so "alive" and readily available.. I feel sad not because he's not happy with the way his life is at the moment but a guy like him deserved better..
To change his appearances in order to get attached is plain absurd.. what does todays girls sees in a guy anyway? Looks? it defeat the whole purpose of being in a dating game, don't you agreed? So models with the ability to cat-walk and flaunt his/her looks deserve a chance to a relationship..
Peter with a readily smile to almost anyone, is humble, kind-hearted to the extend of being cheated, someone who you would trust but will never get a second look among the crowds, is being shun upon by local ladies.. Lack of assertiveness maybe a flaw in todays society.. being not "man" enough may not sound right.. But, is he a monster, a beggar, or a fearful creature? NO, he's not.. he will always be my best friend, as the heart he carries is more "beautiful" than anyone else..
Reality is we need to be attracted to the person. That is why first impression is so impt. & pple even go for plastic surgery. Similarly the guys will not approach plain looking girls for dates even if they are super nice.Originally posted by caramon:What I am thinking aloud is how could ladies who often lament about the lack of " Nice" guys when my friend Peter, is so "alive" and readily available.. I feel sad not because he's not happy with the way his life is at the moment but a guy like him deserved better..
To change his appearances in order to get attached is plain absurd.. what does todays girls sees in a guy anyway? Looks? it defeat the whole purpose of being in a dating game, don't you agreed? So models with the ability to cat-walk and flaunt his/her looks deserve a chance to a relationship..
Originally posted by caramon:My friend Peter got retrenched.
Peter gazed out over the East Coast Sea, feeling the faint breeze against his face -eyes shut, the white sand warm between his bare toes.. The place was beautiful beyond belief, but it was still unable to ease the grief he felt as he remembered the last time he had been here..
He dare not open the letter..
For the umpteenth time he used his free hand to straighten his white shirt, cursing silently when his hand brushed roughly across the edges of his badge, pinned limply on a corner of the shirt pocket..
With his other hand, he clutched tightly at the white envelope..
It was not the first time he had faced such a dilemma.. A dilemma of both wanting and not wanting to open the envelope, afraid of the contents; fearful of the consequences; aware of the potential heartbreak..
He refused to acknowledge that his appearance got to do with his retrenchment.. For all the years he served in the company, he had placed the company interest ahead of his.. many times, he work from sun-rise to dusk before he would call it a day..
Finally he muster enough courage to open up that envelope..
The luxury of hope was gone.. It was as certain as the sun-set; as surely as the neatly written words he had read over and over again in the past half an hour..
He let out a sigh that was filled with pain and regret.. What could he do but move on.. How could this beautiful place, with its lush green coastline, eternity of azure blue sea and endless sands be a place for the agony he felt now?
Originally posted by caramon:A post to answer all questions.. NO I am not him.. anyway thanks to all forumers who contribute: from those with constructive solutions to the more tact-less, thanks for your time..
What I am thinking aloud is how could ladies who often lament about the lack of " Nice" guys when my friend Peter, is so "alive" and readily available.. I feel sad not because he's not happy with the way his life is at the moment but a guy like him deserved better..
Peter with a readily smile to almost anyone, is humble, kind-hearted to the extend of being cheated, someone who you would trust but will never get a second look among the crowds, is being shun upon by local ladies.. Lack of assertiveness maybe a flaw in todays society.. being not "man" enough may not sound right.. But, is he a monster, a beggar, or a fearful creature? NO, he's not.. he will always be my best friend, as the heart he carries is more "beautiful" than anyone else..
Eh i honestly do tink tt your msg sound like a movie script... or u r writing a novel... hmmm...Originally posted by caramon:My friend Peter got retrenched.
Peter gazed out over the East Coast Sea, feeling the faint breeze against his face -eyes shut, the white sand warm between his bare toes.. The place was beautiful beyond belief, but it was still unable to ease the grief he felt as he remembered the last time he had been here..
He dare not open the letter..
For the umpteenth time he used his free hand to straighten his white shirt, cursing silently when his hand brushed roughly across the edges of his badge, pinned limply on a corner of the shirt pocket..
With his other hand, he clutched tightly at the white envelope..
It was not the first time he had faced such a dilemma.. A dilemma of both wanting and not wanting to open the envelope, afraid of the contents; fearful of the consequences; aware of the potential heartbreak..
He refused to acknowledge that his appearance got to do with his retrenchment.. For all the years he served in the company, he had placed the company interest ahead of his.. many times, he work from sun-rise to dusk before he would call it a day..
Finally he muster enough courage to open up that envelope..
The luxury of hope was gone.. It was as certain as the sun-set; as surely as the neatly written words he had read over and over again in the past half an hour..
He let out a sigh that was filled with pain and regret.. What could he do but move on.. How could this beautiful place, with its lush green coastline, eternity of azure blue sea and endless sands be a place for the agony he felt now?
Please lah.. I am a guy and I am straight.. A change over? what for ? if a lady judge you by appearances, she will dump you the very instance when she's given the opportunity to know other handsome guys..Originally posted by Boo777:Forgive me but, from your last paragraph, you describe him as if you worship him, why dun you be his gf for a change. No?? You dun wan to?? Or you are simply not INTERESTED? There you have it, ladies and gentlemen, she's not interested. Then help him for goodness sake. Turn him something tat could turn you on. If it succeed, he'll be thankful, not to us, babe, but to you, his best friend.
Don't you agreed that Novel or some movies derive from true life accounts too ?Originally posted by mach10:Eh i honestly do tink tt your msg sound like a movie script... or u r writing a novel... hmmm...
Appearance aside, from how you describe him, he sounds like a doormat.Originally posted by caramon:Please lah.. I am a guy and I am straight.. A change over? what for ? if a lady judge you by appearances, she will dump you the very instance when she's given the opportunity to know other handsome guys..
I am sad by the fact that he was not presented a chance by local ladies, when most of them goes.. " Lack of Nice men in singapore, all married liao, some dead, the rest can't make it."
Originally posted by caramon:Please lah.. I am a guy and I am straight.. A change over? what for ? if a lady judge you by appearances, she will dump you the very instance when she's given the opportunity to know other handsome guys..
I am sad by the fact that he was not presented a chance by local ladies, when most of them goes.. " Lack of Nice men in singapore, all married liao, some dead, the rest can't make it."
Ewwww! can recommend better clothes than that?Originally posted by Boo777:Take him to the shopping mall, G2000, Giodarno, GUESS, BOD, Domanchi, POA, etc etc etc for clothes. Go to places like Yellow for the accessories, he can pierce his ears there, if he wans to.