actually the lawyer i saw was one who volunteered at AWARE. they have such regular sessions there to help advise women on legal matters.Originally posted by Magnus:I am really surprise that your lawyer asked u not to sign the divorce papers.
Yeah, you should go look for another lawyer.
With 4 children to be in your custody, the fact that he is staying with his lover, and you have reported police before, you stand to gain.
If he can't get the money to pay for the alimony, his girlfriend 'can help'.
erm.. 4 years of separation if i don't sign the divorce papers. in fact, consider his abusive nature, i'm more worried about my life than not getting the alimony if i pushed him to breaking point.. so one of these days you see some headlines about local woman being chopped up blah blah.. it is possibly me.Originally posted by gerrykoh:If u don't sign divorce papers, then he has to wait 3 yrs. before he can marry his gf.
Seek help from Legal Aid Bureau cos u don't have much money.
I think u should still get half share of the flat even though he paid for it.
The amt u get depends on the length of yr marriage & yr hubby's earning power.
As for alimony, don't expect to get any cos yr unscrupulous hubby can give excuse he is jobless & don't have the money.
It can be very stressful cos everytime he don't pay, u have to go court & chase for payment- my ex-colleague had this problem.
If u need financial help, can always speak to yr MP.
thanks for your encouragement. i'm lucky that my kids are pretty close to me and young they may be, but they are pretty supportive. i too, hope i'll be able to last the distance. i'll want to see who has the last laugh.Originally posted by jOhO:I see your strength in this matter and hope the best for you. Sorry to hear of your predicament, but by virtue of the fact that you have forced yourself to clear your mind to make decisions that will better you and your children, i feel things will be better from now. hope you last the distance.
sorree, not much help in terms of legal advice. i'm not too sure myself. take care!
Originally posted by commonsense:What gerry meant is separation (I think). Under separation, he cannot marry the other women adn if he does, he can be further charged. His kid will be a "bastard" for the time being.
[b]
erm.. 4 years of separation if i don't sign the divorce papers. in fact, consider his abusive nature, i'm more worried about my life than not getting the alimony if i pushed him to breaking point.. so one of these days you see some headlines about local woman being chopped up blah blah.. it is possibly me.
jokes aside.. he has already warned about quitting his job and we not getting anything from him...... so probably one of these days you'll see headlines like a woman and 4 kids move all their barang barang to void deck.. lol!![]()
yo misty! thanks for those links.. i've already read through the sites.Originally posted by mistyblue:BTW, life here on will be very tough. Mentally, emotionally, financially and physically.
And do speak with your kids about your decisions and help them understand.
Frankly, he's never been there for you - at least don't let yourself be treated so badly. I believe that the flat can be sold but how is the flat going to be divided is the question. You can rent from HDB those 1 room flats but you would really need to make do and squeeze your expenses. If there's a rule against that, you can go to the courts and get a letter or you can write in and appeal.
sometimes a bit of "pride" (a milder way of saying it, instead of saying "hate" which is way too strong i feel, for your case) can push u on, so good for u!Originally posted by commonsense:thanks for your encouragement. i'm lucky that my kids are pretty close to me and young they may be, but they are pretty supportive. i too, hope i'll be able to last the distance. i'll want to see who has the last laugh.![]()
Well, try calling HDB for advice:Originally posted by commonsense:the reason i want to keep this flat is because, my parents and brothers live just a floor above our flat. they have been very great help to me all this while.. both financially and mentally. and in a way, i feel better that my kids can grow up in such an environment with fatherly roles (my bros are in their mid and late 20s) around them. it beats having to bring them up in a single-parent (myself) family without a fatherly role model for my sons esp. my hubby grew up in a single-parent family. his father and uncles are ALL womanizers and have mistresses and offsprings everywhere. i'm not joking.
Originally posted by commonsense:[/b]
[b]okz my hubby committed adultery and his other woman is now pregnant and pressuring him to divorce me. we were married for 11 yrs.
i muz say i hv been a gd mother and wife all these years and did nothing unforgiveable. his only grouse was that i am a housewife and cannot share his financial burden.
i know it is both of our fault that our marriage breaks down. i had given him the chance, and told him that if he is able to give up this woman, we can always start anew.
he tried to use delay tactic and said he needed time to consider (makes it sound like i'm begging him for a chance!duh!) and meanwhile living with the woman in a rented flat, paid for by the woman. so a month has passed and he said he is sticking to THEIR original decision.
so now.. i need advice.
- he is 32 and i am 31. he is not rich and earning about $2000/mth.
- i stick to him when he was bankrupt from 98 to 2001. and he was earning $800/mth and my parents paid for our utilities.
- he does not want my kids' custody. i do not intend to give him any.
- he is a wife-beater and i have ever made a police report at Alex.Hosp.
- he shows NO sign of guilt or remorse. in fact, he still feels he is doing the right thing 'living for himself' to quote him.
- the flat is the 2nd we bought. the first with both our CPF. this current one from his CPF alone. he wants to divorce so that i have to pay him his share of the flat. my kids and i definitely needs a roof over our heads.
Qn. how does this law work here?
my main qn. is, will a divorce benefits me and my kids?
i do not want to be so mercenery and end this relationship at a bad note. but, i am not financially independent yet and is now trying to. i have to protect my kids' interests and get a good bit of alimony outta him in the case of divorce. or maintenance in the case of no divorce.
thanks in advance for your advices.
i'm disturbed by the last stmt.Originally posted by tare:divorce on the ground of adultery and get half his assets. ask for a big alimony cos of the 4 kids.... no need to give face lor... freedom comes with a price tag....
dun let him drag.... he'll keep thinking u still need him and he'll have the upper hand....
live well and happy.... leave the suffering and beatings to the other woman...![]()
Originally posted by tare:just want to tell you the same!
live well and happy.... leave the suffering and beatings to the other woman...[/b]
perhaps i am evil...Originally posted by jOhO:i'm disturbed by the last stmt.
i dun think the other woman should be subjected to such behavior, prob becos i dun think she is at fault...
i actually do hope he treats her well, if not another thread like this will surface again in a few years... and.. we'll go thru the cycle of saying the man's a bastard and she should leave him, go seek legal advise from so and so and call HDB and ... ok u get the point.
basically, it's the man's choice that has caused unhappiness to his wife (understmt of the year!). whether or not he causes the same unhappiness to the other woman, is not our call, and personally i hope he doesn't fu(k up twice in a row.![]()
er.. i dun think possible lah cos she is like double his size..Originally posted by tare:live well and happy.... leave the suffering and beatings to the other woman...![]()