Originally posted by drx:
"my hubby grew up in a single-parent family. his father and uncles are ALL womanizers and have mistresses and offsprings everywhere. i'm not joking."
just wondering why will you chose a guy like him in the first place?
If you knew that there is problems with his family why marry him?
Are you forced to marry him in the first place?
Just need to know to help others to avoid people like him.
very honestly, it was a shotgun marriage lah. i was 19 then.. naive and ignorant.
the irony is, i had wanted to abort the baby but he (and his mom) insisted we get married. my parents didn't agree.. because they had felt he wasn't as decent as he looked. anyway i deliberated for quite long and he (and his mom) seemed very sincere... so eventually we ROM about 3 weeks before my first kid was born... so that was what happened.
as for his family background.. nobody tell me a thing prior to ROM leh! all i know was that he hated his father because of HIS abusive nature towards his mom.. and he told me "THAT IS NEVER THE WAY TO TREAT A WIFE!"... man... at that point of time, how not to believe him leh... i mean.. he really HATES his dad one leh.. can see from the way he treated his father as invisible..
as for the polygamy trait in his family.. it was only when we were serving tea on the customary marriage day (er.. 5 months after ROM) that i realised something strange... i found it funny lor.. how come there is another woman sitting beside my father-in-law ... and i was told to address her as ' ah yi' .. i thought nothing of it lah.. cos she was very well-dressed and elegant.. never thought she is the 2nai of my not-so-yandao and slobby-looking father-in-law... sighs who knows.....
as for his uncles, i only knew about it recently.. one just got divorced by his wife because of adultery, the other already have teens kids with the other woman and the wife is living with it..
initially i thought marriage is between 2 persons lah.. family background doesn't really matter.. so i did not bother to probe into his family history. these past two years i've somewhat know he has more monkey biz outside from the way he behave discreetly, taking great care in his appearance, getting and sending sms before he sleep and so on.. i have confronted even with evidence in the form of his SMS (msg like .. he: i have reach home liao. goodnight.. she: goodnight dear)
my parents (they live a floor above my flat) had also asked me why was it that they always saw him talking on the phone at the void deck after he came back from work. i still tried to help him 'save some face' by telling my parents that he was talking to his colleague about some urgent matters at work... aiyah.. fact is, i didn't even know he was down there talking on the phone while i waited at home to eat dinner with him and such.
c'mon lah.. i may be a housewife, but i'm not ignorant like what i was a decade ago leh. but each time when i confronted him (with those SMS he forgot to delete), it ended up in a fight or he got defensive and said i'm imagining things. and when i don't confront, he can conveniently 'spend a night at east coast alone' and not come home.
i've tried to ask my mom-in-law for help lah.. but his mom told me.. "nevermind lah... you just tolerate lor.. don't quarrel and get beaten up mah!.. the kids will suffer if you quarrel with him.. as long as he doesn't bring the women back then it is not a problem wat!... just let him do what he wants outside lor.. at least he still bring $$ back to you right? he still has sex with you right?? not like his father! ... you have to understand.. he grew up with little luxuries and without a father to love him.. you both married too young lah!... so it is understandable that he still wants to fool around.. blah blah..." nabei... she should have told me this 11 years ago and not now.......
now that he wants to divorce. great lah! i asked mom-in-law whether this is considered 'bringing women back' or not.. and she didn't dare to go on and on anymore.
on hindsight.. i shouldn't have close an eye for so long! i feel so stupid.

still, the greatest blessings that came out of all this bullshti is that, i know for sure now that no matter how disobedient i used to be, my parents are still the ones who stand by me in times of crisis. my bros too.

and also, s'poreans aren't as mercenery or heartless or selfish as what the media portrays lah.. consider the overwhelming encouragement and advices i got from virtual people in the forums. i want to say thanks to all here for all the words you've said and the benefit of doubts given to my side of story, consider you don't even know me in person. thanks!