It depends on who you hang out with. Your real friends won't care how much you earn, they care about how are adapting to the new environment, when to chill out, etc.Originally posted by lonestar86:But not earning much $$ will definitely kena look down by ppl..
Esp in SG where ppl r jus so practical..
Thanks..Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:It's still possible to get a job in Singapore with a diploma, provided that you are not picky about it. Since you have a job, consider yourself lucky. You are still young now, and what you are doing now is just to gain experience. The pay is secondary.
What you are going to do after 2 years of NS depends on the diploma and other factors. You definitely will have a lot to catch up after 2 years of NS. Industries changes and you will need to read up if you intend to have a job that's related to your diploma. If you don't want, you can consider a career with SPF, SCDF, Prison Service, etc. If you want to go university, you definitely have to read to revise and recap.
What you are going to acheive in 10 years' time, depends on you. While education will help to a certain extent, the rest depends on you. You have to take the initiative and cannot wait for others to tell you what to do. You also have to be aware of changes around, be flexible and adapt to the changes. If you are not willing to change, what you acheived now will be the same as 10 years later.
You have to ask yourself what you are interested in to know your ambition. Your ambition can be your job, or it may not be. Some people's hobbies are their jobs, and they love it.
Your future is in your own hands. Your friends, your family only can guide you by giving you advice, and it's to up to you to listen and make decisions for yourself.
Originally posted by lonestar86:As stated in my post, it's all up to you. You have to take your own initiative. People can only help you this much, by giving you advice. Now, it's your turn to read their advices and make a decision.
Thanks..
I appreciate it..
Btw, I dun wanna be a waiter my whole life..
[b]I wanna have a career..
I wanna earn more $$..
I wanna start a family..
I wanna have my own property..
I wanna have status..
Do I sound very ambitious??[/b]
Not sure..Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Having your property, having a status are just targets which you want to acheive. It's could be your ambition as well, but are you sure you will be happy after acheiving those?
You are a simple person. You can do it. You have stated your ambition, taking good care of your family.Originally posted by lonestar86:Not sure..
But 1 thing is for sure aft IÂ’ve achieved all that..
I can take gd care of my family..
And IÂ’ll be contented with that..
Originally posted by lonestar86:have you sit down and plan on what u gonna do with your poly diploma?
IÂ’m 20 yrs old, Male, Poly Graduate..
HavenÂ’t apply for University..
In SG, with a poly diploma, it can get me nowhere..
Will be enlisting in this coming Oct..
Currently working as part-time waiter with a pathetic pay of 4.5/hr..
[b]IÂ’ve always been asking myself all these questions:
What am I going to do aft my 2 yrs of NS??
What am I going to achieve in 10 yrÂ’s time??
How much $$ am I going to earn in 10 yrÂ’s time??
WhatÂ’s my ambition??
WhereÂ’s my future??
I have no answers for these questions..
I dunno how to answer them..
IÂ’m already an adult and I shldÂ’ve planned for my future but I havenÂ’t..
IÂ’m such a failure..
I canÂ’t see my future..
Hai~[/b]
My mum and elder sister always encourage me to go uni..Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:You are a simple person. You can do it. You have stated your ambition, taking good care of your family.
You need a good plan to tell you where to go next. Continue studying after NS or step straight into the working world after NS? You list down the pros and cons of each situation and make a decision for yourself.
Sit down with your family members and discuss with them. Tell them your plans. See what advice they have for you and make a decision from there.
well, one does not always need a uni degree to be successful in life.Originally posted by lonestar86:My mum and elder sister always encourage me to go uni..
My dad and elder bro basically have no comment..
Think my poly results r gd enough to get me a place in the local uni..
But aft all these yrs (it has been 13yrs of education I think) of studies, I dun feel like studying anymore..
If you don't feel like studying, you can always go out to work. You can always upgrade yourself.Originally posted by lonestar86:My mum and elder sister always encourage me to go uni..
But aft all these yrs (it has been 13yrs of education I think) of studies, I dun feel like studying anymore..
if u feel like u dun want to study...you can try the working life and go back to stuides if you feel that you dun like itOriginally posted by lonestar86:My mum and elder sister always encourage me to go uni..
Diploma is Business Informatics..Originally posted by udontknowme:well, one does not always need a uni degree to be successful in life.
i guess it all depends on what you wanna do in life.
hmm...what did you take in poly?
there is no harm in applying to uni since you can make it.
why not give it a shot?
Spend your free time during NS thinking about it. Make your decision after NS will be very hasty and you may regret it.Originally posted by lonestar86:Diploma is Business Informatics..
Studied both business and IT modules..
But IÂ’m specialize in IT..
Still considering whether to apply or not to..
Maybe aft my 2 yrs of my NS then make the decision??
Would it be too late??
hmm...its too late to apply now for this year.Originally posted by lonestar86:Diploma is Business Informatics..
Studied both business and IT modules..
But IÂ’m specialize in IT..
Still considering whether to apply or not to..
Maybe aft my 2 yrs of my NS then make the decision??
Would it be too late??
ok..Originally posted by udontknowme:hmm...its too late to apply now for this year.
you can always try next year when they allow applications...
just apply.
if they accept you, then you can consider again if you wanna go in.
thats what i did...
they will accept applications even if you are going to NS.
if you get in, they will reserve a space for you.
really, its all up to you.
i can say that you should apply. or not.
but the ultimate decision is up to you.
actually i'm thinking abt it very often..Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Spend your free time during NS thinking about it. Make your decision after NS will be very hasty and you may regret it.
does all the MP earn alot? while i'm still looking down on them leh.. how? money is not everything lah...u are just looking down urself if u think that way..Originally posted by lonestar86:But not earning much $$ will definitely kena look down by ppl..
Of cus they earn a lot..Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):does all the MP earn alot? while i'm still looking down on them leh.. how? money is not everything lah...u are just looking down urself if u think that way..![]()
coz money, power and fame are not everything in life....most of them did nothing much to earn their MP allowance.. cheating away tax payer's money that's all...u look up to this kind of ppl?Originally posted by lonestar86:Of cus they earn a lot..
They even have the status and the power..
But y did u look down on them??![]()
Come to think abt it..Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):coz money, power and fame are not everything in life....most of them did nothing much to earn their MP allowance.. cheating away tax payer's money that's all...u look up to this kind of ppl?![]()
Originally posted by lonestar86:sign on army..
IÂ’m 20 yrs old, Male, Poly Graduate..
HavenÂ’t apply for University..
In SG, with a poly diploma, it can get me nowhere..
Will be enlisting in this coming Oct..
Currently working as part-time waiter with a pathetic pay of 4.5/hr..
[b]IÂ’ve always been asking myself all these questions:
What am I going to do aft my 2 yrs of NS??
What am I going to achieve in 10 yrÂ’s time??
How much $$ am I going to earn in 10 yrÂ’s time??
WhatÂ’s my ambition??
WhereÂ’s my future??
I have no answers for these questions..
I dunno how to answer them..
IÂ’m already an adult and I shldÂ’ve planned for my future but I havenÂ’t..
IÂ’m such a failure..
I canÂ’t see my future..
Hai~[/b]
Originally posted by lonestar86:But not earning much $$ will definitely kena look down by ppl..
thats some valuable advice..Originally posted by ejb:sorry to say, but if u r planning to go into IT, a degree is a MUST.
u can try not getting, but i think u wld regret pretty soon. u will start to regret once u stepped out in the working environment.
trust me, i'm in the IT line, have been struggling for 2 yrs (i'm oso a poly grad), taking up a pt degree 1 yr ago, cuz i realise that, in IT world, w/o degree, u will most likely just remain as a programmer, even if u can climb, u will climb like a turtle.
not trying to scare u, but face it, this is reality. (how i wish last time some1 told me this, but no.. else i wld i had taken up a pt degree during my NS time)
i used to tink that a poly cert in IT can get me very high and better than a degree student, as long as i perform in my work well, and yes, although now, i'm pretty satisifed with my current achievement, but if i had taken a pt degree during my NS, i would have 100% be better than now.
just face it, if u r intending to go into IT, a degree is a MUST.
fyi, 2 yrs ago, when i 1st started working, my pay difference with a degree grad is >700 dollars/mth.