so if 9 out of 10 fails mean you're not going to try don't you think you should start working at macdonalds right now? most probably you're going to end up there anyway by the time you're 60, you might as well try aim for the manager's post nowOriginally posted by lonestar86:wanna add on..
Out of 10 entrepreneurs, only 1 is successful..
The other 9 are failure cases..
Y would I wanna take such risk??
Even if I take the risk, I dun have the $$ to start a business..
Originally posted by lonestar86:you have a poly dip, you are definately not going to be a waiter all your life unless you make it your choice
Thanks..
I appreciate it..
Btw, I dun wanna be a waiter my whole life..
[b]I wanna have a career..
I wanna earn more $$..
I wanna start a family..
I wanna have my own property..
I wanna have status..
Do I sound very ambitious??[/b]
Originally posted by lonestar86:so many jobs available, in the papers, on job ad sites whatever, its either you're very picky or you hold a diploma from a course that not many companies could utilise.
IÂ’m 20 yrs old, Male, Poly Graduate..
HavenÂ’t apply for University..
In SG, with a poly diploma, it can get me nowhere..
Will be enlisting in this coming Oct..
Currently working as part-time waiter with a pathetic pay of 4.5/hr..
[b]IÂ’ve always been asking myself all these questions:
What am I going to do aft my 2 yrs of NS??
What am I going to achieve in 10 yrÂ’s time??
How much $$ am I going to earn in 10 yrÂ’s time??
WhatÂ’s my ambition??
WhereÂ’s my future??
I have no answers for these questions..
I dunno how to answer them..
IÂ’m already an adult and I shldÂ’ve planned for my future but I havenÂ’t..
IÂ’m such a failure..
I canÂ’t see my future..
Hai~[/b]
Originally posted by lonestar86:aiyah , why said until liddat
WhatÂ’s my ambition??
WhereÂ’s my future??
IÂ’m such a failure..
I canÂ’t see my future..
Hai~[/b]
Very valuable advice.Originally posted by ejb:sorry to say, but if u r planning to go into IT, a degree is a MUST.
u can try not getting, but i think u wld regret pretty soon. u will start to regret once u stepped out in the working environment.
trust me, i'm in the IT line, have been struggling for 2 yrs (i'm oso a poly grad), taking up a pt degree 1 yr ago, cuz i realise that, in IT world, w/o degree, u will most likely just remain as a programmer, even if u can climb, u will climb like a turtle.
not trying to scare u, but face it, this is reality. (how i wish last time some1 told me this, but no.. else i wld i had taken up a pt degree during my NS time)
i used to tink that a poly cert in IT can get me very high and better than a degree student, as long as i perform in my work well, and yes, although now, i'm pretty satisifed with my current achievement, but if i had taken a pt degree during my NS, i would have 100% be better than now.
just face it, if u r intending to go into IT, a degree is a MUST.
fyi, 2 yrs ago, when i 1st started working, my pay difference with a degree grad is >700 dollars/mth.
Well said man, i agreeOriginally posted by No9:money is often considered to be the most impt criteria when deciding what jobs or careers to take on. I am not saying that $$ is not important, but people shud try to look at the big picture..Whats the point of $4k a mth when u have to work shift and be exposed to dangerous equipment etc..Interest shud be the main motivation, cus only by being interested in the job and what u r doing will get u far in ur occupation in the long run..
anyway, dun be tempted into signing on (armed forces, police, etc) due to the high starting pay..i personally feel the private sector is able to offer u perks, freedom that the civil service can't, unless u r some scholar or something. Promotion in the private sector is mainly based on individual performance, in the civil service, no matter how gd u r in ur job, if u dun have proper qualifications to back u up, there will always be a 'ceiling' with regards to how high u can climb.I like to be recognised for my abilities and effort, the civil service juz aint right for me~
cheers
Like sell carrot cakeOriginally posted by I-like-flings(m):how u know u cant be one too??? and beside that.. there is alot of other successful poly grad lah.. ALOT of them...![]()
Bet soccer gt 33.33% chance of winningOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:1 means there's a 10% chance of succeeding. It's only a matter of want or don't want.
Originally posted by lonestar86:You were born in Singapore, just accept your fate and live day by day and hope that you do not suffer a chronic illness. Oh and do not succumb to temptations to make ir big or make it rich throught gambling activities or you will simply end up worse. Gambling like Stock markets; property speculation; futures trading; casino....
WhatÂ’s my ambition??
WhereÂ’s my future??
IÂ’m such a failure..
I canÂ’t see my future..
Hai~[/b]
some few points i need to voice out (my 2 cent worth)Originally posted by FORGET-ME-NOT:I wonder why S'porean always determine a person future base on qualification? Is it that important? We have emphasize too much on education. Is not true that poly student can't earn much and is not necessary to earn lots of money then one can be happy. My advise is spend within your mean. I have a friend who is only poly graduate, working as a broker now. In two years time. his salary increased to about $10k per month, but these are hard earn money. No sweat, no gain. It does'nt mean with good qualification, one will earn more without hardship.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:so if 9 out of 10 fails mean you're not going to try don't you think you should start working at macdonalds right now? most probably you're going to end up there anyway by the time you're 60, you might as well try aim for the manager's post now
Originally posted by lonestar86:
Originally posted by freakass:Can anyone tell me why tht "fling" guy is so happy and proud of his $5k per month job? He took 10 years to reach tht meagre sum... And tht's about the best a poly graduate can do... Go ask the successful uni grads how much they earn in 10 years time...
HAil e jc supremacistOriginally posted by freakass:Can anyone tell me why tht "fling" guy is so happy and proud of his $5k per month job? He took 10 years to reach tht meagre sum... And tht's about the best a poly graduate can do... Go ask the successful uni grads how much they earn in 10 years time...
Originally posted by lonestar86:upgrade urself? go get a degree from a private uni.
WhatÂ’s my ambition??
WhereÂ’s my future??
IÂ’m such a failure..
I canÂ’t see my future..
Hai~[/b]
Originally posted by Gwangetto:the tips is: if u keep focusing ur mind in making more money, u'll not make money. u'll lose them slowly.
i aim to retire only..Originally posted by king108:I only aim CEO's post or Chairman Post..
seriously i dun mind to sell carrot cake if i know how to make good one lor.. then no stress everyday sell finished go home and sleep..and can even drive a merc hahaOriginally posted by Chelzea:Like sell carrot cake![]()
post less pic.. work harder...Originally posted by borntolive:facing same prob too..![]()
fail As and you are stuck with being a tuition teacher for life...Originally posted by Chelzea:HAil e jc supremacist![]()