you meaning the 4 ppl whom are all gurus is it?Originally posted by shade343:Just out of curiosity, what is the name of the sch giing the diploma? Is the same one taht is advertised in the newspapers with 4 people conducting the course?
Have you consider how expansive private diploma is ? How recoginse it is ? You may think that is easiler, better prospect and wealth , - think and real-life is very different.Originally posted by weijian:i have decided to stop schooling in poly, and want to start and finish my nsf soon, and get ahead with my private diploma when i come out from nsf.
i know that with the private diploma, i can get a job easily upon graduation.
the reason for me to withdraw from school is due to lack in interest in the modules that i am doing.
the path that i am choosing to take now, is inline with my passion, wealth related etc..
I am a yr 2 student, 1/4 done for yr 2 only. No refund of school fees.
I would like to hear different views on my decision to withdraw from sch.
Yah. A mr Kishore 2 others and the last is Adam Khoo.Originally posted by weijian:you meaning the 4 ppl whom are all gurus is it?
BINGO!!Originally posted by shade343:Yah. A mr Kishore 2 others and the last is Adam Khoo.
actually the price is just the same, around 6k, same with standard dipOriginally posted by storywolf:Have you consider how expansive private diploma is ? How recoginse it is ? You may think that is easiler, better prospect and wealth , - think and real-life is very different.
yah, I was thinking about it...so its that diploma ah? I havent go down for the free seminar, but it looks ok only leh. Cos they never said it was accredited or something.Originally posted by weijian:BINGO!!
You have just hit the jack-pot
your also eyeing on that diploma too?
why did you take both similar dip?Originally posted by weijian:the value of private dip to many are worthless, but to some it's of a certain value, especially when it's international recognised and the dip grads are in demand.
why did you take both similar dip?
you like IT so much that you took 2?
having different types of dips is better then having similar ones, as it means that people holding dual different type of diplomas will have an advantage over the rest.
err.. wad school? MDIS?Originally posted by weijian:BINGO!!
You have just hit the jack-pot
your also eyeing on that diploma too?
I think they started their June intake class liao right?Originally posted by weijian:wait til you go down then you will see...
how i wish to sign up for the course immediately, but due to money issues, i can't..
Originally posted by Ito_^:
[b]why did you take both similar dip?
you like IT so much that you took 2?
nah..
i failed my o lvls before, so i used the private dip as an excuse to defer my ns while i retake my exams.
i didn't want to take private route initially.. i had no choice. we're quite the opposite in many ways.. i die die oso wan go poly, you die die oso wan to quit go private. lol.. ok, i do have some choices, but this seems most efficient than to go to ITE, imo.
although its tough but at the end of the day, ill have something to grab on to. i die die oso will never die! dats wad i believed.
the private diploma is only a backup for me, in case i fail my o lvls, than i would have a diploma while i will continue to fight for my o lvls again and again till i get the grades i need. and hopefully work my way to university privately.
====================================
poly vs private
the quality and way they teach is entirely different. things improved for the course after i left 3 years ago but i really appreciate that i made it into poly, after all i've been waiting for it since lower sec..
in my private school, they don't really teach you much but alot worksheets for you to try yourself. when its theory, its all memorized. they shorten alot of information and just tell you "you just need to know, no need go too deep". in poly, they spoonfeed you alot which explain alot of things the private school doesn't.for your info, maybe all other 4 polys do spoonfeed you with answers and knowledge, but if your in RP, its a totally different case. they let you go explore, do daily presentation, then present us the answer at the end of the day, usually they let us see the answer, but don't allow us to take back home the answers to revise..how on earth can i revise and learn then memorise those stuff??
you may think i am wasting time in both but from these two schools, i learnt alot more than either one of them can offer individually.
its the recognition thats the problem, and also the facilities private schools can offer. their time is also limited, so they tend to focus on the things that they believe are relevant. for me, i want to know as much as possible. telling me 1+1=2 is not enough.
i believe, its not completely worthless but by itself, a private dip is not something you can take and compete with poly dips locally. even if a company is internationally recognised, the HR and superiors are still local and therefore are more or less biased against private institutes. so that leaves out what specialised skill you can offer (well, from an IT perspective) or additional professional certification you have attained.
for foreigners its different, they can earn a diploma and return home in glory, i had a classmate whose company sent her here to study from.. i forgot where, return back to her country and perfectly recognised as an important asset to the company.
but i also have a classmate who couldn't find a job after he graduated from poly and ORD from ns so he went to take private. chemical processing if i remember right. darn hardworking and smarter than me. but after graduating from the diploma, he still couldn't find a job and went back for more studies.
since i've two and professionally certified from macromedia, i can't really complain much..at the end of the day, its still that hard work that pays off and good luck.
i wouldn't place too much hopes in a private diploma though, its a degree that counts these days.[/b]
ERCOriginally posted by Ito_^:err.. wad school? MDIS?![]()
Originally posted by Transmission:I certainly will, but by the time i update with the details if i am doing fine, it will be after i finish nsf, currently, i just wanna settle my application, find a full time job, while waiting for nsf
hey weijian..
Base on what i've read, i believe you and I share the same thoughts, and also the same 'journey' .. I was a poly dropout in year 2 also..
And i never regret since..
Its of what you wanna become, then [b]study for it.. and excel in it..
by saying of study.. I mean study, learning...
its NOT for the cert, recognised or not.. Private or government..
Its definitely for the knowledge!
=)
and btw, you are not silly.. you are one of the few that have break free..
Do update us..
Cheers..[/b]
yes, they will be closing their application this end of june.Originally posted by shade343:I think they started their June intake class liao right?
what are the things that you're suffering from?Originally posted by yeswing:i am a year one student in poly... ever since i started modules, i keep thinking i have made a wrong choice, which is choosing that course... i am suffering now, struggling to complete given assignments all that... i dun feel like i am enjoying the course, except for one or two modules out of the entire modules... i was thinking of quitting the course but then i didn't, due to many issues (u should know what issues i am referring to)... well... i guess i will continue to stick to the course... maybe i will get used to it... i have a feeling that i will regret staying on but also have a feeling that is as strong as the first feeling that i will regret quitting...
anyway, weijian, i wish u all the best in whatever you do... Go Go ~
yes, i willOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:Just be sure the private diploma you take is valid. I have come across private schools offering degrees from even reputable foreign Unis but the quality of teaching sucks. As an employer, I won't employ their graduates even if they have a paper. As least I know the standard of our local poly grads..
i cant seem to catch up with the module, and also the things i am learning now are not really what i enjoy, unlike my other friends... it is really tough for me to catch up, although i really tried to... erm.. at first i wanted to quit the course but my family and friends ask me not to give up as maybe i am juz not used to the course... and also financial issue... it is very expensive... i have completed semester one already and it is really a sense of relief for me... but i really struggled to complete it...(but i dunno whether i will pass the modules for semester one or not)... hope i can carry on...Originally posted by weijian:what are the things that you're suffering from?
what issues do you have??
if you have the feeling that you're gonna regret your decision to stay, then why not leave??
i think your situation is more serious then mine, need any help ma?
your right on the part that only you yourself can help you yourself.Originally posted by yeswing:i cant seem to catch up with the module, and also the things i am learning now are not really what i enjoy, unlike my other friends... it is really tough for me to catch up, although i really tried to... erm.. at first i wanted to quit the course but my family and friends ask me not to give up as maybe i am juz not used to the course... and also financial issue... it is very expensive... i have completed semester one already and it is really a sense of relief for me... but i really struggled to complete it...(but i dunno whether i will pass the modules for semester one or not)... hope i can carry on...
actually i juz wanna pour out my troubles to someone... that's why i am here... i think i am the only one who can really help myself...
thanks weijian ^_^
Actually hor, why not take a loan from your relatives? COnvince your relatives to "invest" in you. Offer them a 5% return and free wealth management service after you graduate.Originally posted by weijian:yes, they will be closing their application this end of june.
i would like to apply for the course, but again..money problems..so i can't..
there may be kind souls out there, but who will be generous enough to part with 7k to loan to a stranger?
no such thing ma...